We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pen Mill Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sherborne Road, Yeovil BA21 5DB, England
+44 1935 423081
Website
Today
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I don't think this "pub" can be beaten.....It does wear many hats....a pub for locals, an excellent hotel, a good restaurant and car very........but more than that, the young staff are very friendly and welcoming......No messy tables or empty glasses here.More than that, John and Sarah are wonderful hosts.Keep up the good work.....

Helpful?
Thank Gillian J
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Well, I think I may actually start blushing from all of those wonderful comments. Thank you so much. I have to say, I do agree with every word you say! Lol. Rest assured, we are and will, keep up the hard work, along with our equally hard working team of staff. Thank you once again for your wonderful comments. Kindest... More 

nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A little disappointed. This is basically a pub with rooms. No proper reception you just queue at the bar for the next available person who will get you to fill in the form, give you a key and tell you which door to go through. We were in room no. 1, a twin which we had asked for. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank veedeegee
Yeovil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I had the very hearty carvary. The serving of the meat is very generous and a good choice of veg with yummy roasties. Couldn't fault it. My husband had a steak which again was lovely and of high quality. We have visited the Penn Mill hotel a few times over the last couple of months and haven't been disappointed at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katielouby
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, Thank you so much. I'm so pleased you have become one of our regulars and I'm even more pleased that we keep hitting the high notes, in terms of service and quality for you. I truly look forward welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Owner More 

Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were passing The Pen Mill Hotel, when we said were try a meal here, so after doing our bits and pieces we came back to try a meal.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

What a short but ever so sweet review. Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Onwer More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I visited the Pen Mill hotel yesterday 17/07/2016 for a carvery after reading the positive reviews on here and we were not disappointed. The portion sizes are very generous and the meat was cooked to perfect. The roast potatoes and homemade Yorkshire pudding were delicious. There was a large choice of fresh vegetables. One small improvement I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Excellent carvery, excellent review, thank you. I'm so pleased we appear to have made you a Pen Mill customer. I will pass on you comment on the Cauliflower cheese to the chef, I do appreciate you telling me. When people leave saying they have full, satisfied bellies, it please me greatly. When they say they are going to return, it... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited today with family and had the carvery it was very nice, the larger parsnips needed cooking longer and yorkshires need improving but everything else was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Chubbz2014
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our carvery. I do agree that sometimes the larger parsnips do need a minute or two longer however, other people tell us they like them on the harder side. I'll stick with you on the softer, small ones and we'll leave the bigger harder ones for the others! lol. I did... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to this great place to eat something at late lunch time. A smiley young girl look after me, I ordered a chilly Nachos!!! Woooooooow what a big portion... My eyes wide open so much!! What I gonna manage all this food? Was tasty, full of flavour and well presented! Nice service, amazing food, clean and pretty place! PS.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susana N
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely meal we gave you and what a fantastic review you gave us! Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Pen Mill. I so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back here again soon. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Owner More 

Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called here for a coffee to break a journey. The coffee was delicious and the service was warm and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

For such a small purchase you have given us a huge review. Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Pen Mill and I look forward to welcoming you on your next journey. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Onwer More 

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on the strength of a recommendation by my mother, who was with me at the time. I had a below average lasagne and the same could be said for all the dishes and even my mother apologised for how the place had gone drastically downhill. The prices refelected a far superior experience, consummate with waiter service and top... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kingdon-Ward
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

AGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! Why, why, why did you not say anything at the time? I know 'some people' might call you a coward for walking out of an establishment and jumping straight on your smart phone to write such a scathing review without giving an establishment an opportunity to rectify the situation or even have their say! And so, I will have... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a family meal in a very clean and friendly atmospher. Good food at a good price. All the staff are freindly and helpful. Thank you, we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank normans28
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Great Review, Happy Owner and Great Advert! Reviews like your's are what is helping to make the Pen Mill a great success. So, thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review and I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Onwer More 

Travelers who viewed Pen Mill Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$12 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Gluten Free, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sherborne Road, Yeovil BA21 5DB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil
  • Phone Number: +44 1935 423081
Description
The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the past 13 years under the same family ownership has been fast gaining a reputation for quality food and drink. Using local, independent suppliers wherever possible. In February 2014 we undertook an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms. This has now bought us above the local and indeed national average for quality in hotel rooms. Combine this with our ever popular bar and restaurant and you have a quality establishment that unlike many others has a personality with a family atmosphere!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pen Mill Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?