We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Swan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
441233840011
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 155: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with family for lunch we love it here and proud to call it our local it's just wonderful the staff are great food is amazing and the garden and flowers well what a lovely setting the interior is delightful too this once again is such a gem well worth a visit you won't be disappointed. Cheese fritters are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lv54
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your very kind review. I am pleased that you enjoy visiting the pub and that the Cheese Fritters were a must. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Dropped in for a bite and a beer whilst passing by on a hike. Very friendly welcome and plenty on the menu. Nice to sit in the garden by the stream and enjoy our drinks and Spanish Burger. Much improved from our last visit about ten months ago

Helpful?
1 Thank John D
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I apologise it has taken me so long to get back to you. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and that you have noticed the improvements that we have made since we took over in January. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Have been to The Swan Inn today for lunch. Can safely say it was probably one of the best Sunday lunches we've had and very reasonably priced. There was a choice of 3 meats which arrived piping hot with roast potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and gravy. Generous selection of vegetables were served separately and were also lovely and hot and well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review as we are so pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us. We have tried to keep our Sunday Lunches as traditional as possible and it is nice that you appreciated this. With regards to the gravy this can be served separately if requested, so please mention this next time you visit.... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

I visited this pub with my Dad, as I had been meaning to take him for a pint somewhere scenic and up market. The atmosphere in the bar was nice, service was friendly, but then I ordered two Moretti lagers. Crikey. I thought my wife could empty my wallet quickly. But nothing prepared me for what happened next. The economy... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank JamesLynsted
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am really surprised by your review. Firstly, I am pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the pub and that the staff were friendly. However, you chose to drink the most expensive lager in our range. Moretti is a premium lager and at £4.50 a pint we are being extremely fair on the price. Many other establishments charge a... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

We went for a drive in the Kent countryside and decided to stop here for a drink. We would recommend and will be visiting again to sample the menu. There is a nice garden outside which would be lovely on a Summer evening.

Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our pub and we certainly look forward to you coming back for a meal and hopefully enjoy the garden, once the weather improves. Many thanks from the staff at the Swan. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We stumbled across this charming old English pub on our ramble through the country and were so glad we decided to go in for Sunday lunch! The pub itself is a beautiful historic building and boats a lovely beer garden with an idyllic river flowing through it, a perfect setting for us to enjoy lunch and a fruity cider in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lundy89
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am pleased that you came across our pub and that you enjoyed your visit. To read that the setting was perfect to enjoy a drink and some food is always good to hear and I hope that you will come and visit us again soon. More 

Pluckley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We called in for Sunday lunch, seven people in our group. Between us we sampled the beef, pork & lamb, all were lovely, vegetables cooked to perfection and beautiful mint source. The desert list did not disappoint either, large servings and all delicious! The swan is now out preferred pub when it comes to eating out locally.

Helpful?
Thank warrenlisa2016
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I just wanted to say thank you so much for your review. I understand that you have been to us for Sunday lunch a couple of times now and we are pleased that you come back time and time again. Also to learn that you enjoy all of the three meats that we provide and I know the Chef does... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

This was my first time eating at the Swan, and the weather was so lovely that we could sit outside for lunch in the sunshine. I was there with a group of walking friends and we pre-ordered before we set off earlier in the morning. The staff were really friendly and welcoming, both when we called in at the start... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your really kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. The weather was certainly on your side and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Many thanks from all of the staff at The Swan. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

I will be honest we came across this pub by mistake. I had the in laws down and had planned to go somewhere else (I won't say where) but when I showed my mother in law the menu she didn't like it so I looked on Tripadvisor and saw this pub. The reviews were good and I had heard it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bucklands
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you came across our pub by mistake and that you enjoyed the food. I will be sure to pass your appreciation on to all of the staff. We are pleased to hear that you will be returning. With regards to the menu this does change regularly and we are looking... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

It is most unfortunate that I have to rate this pub so low, because when the new owners first opened we had a lovely evening meal with some friends and on that basis we booked a lunch with more friends just last week and we were bitterly disappointed. We didn't make any fuss because we didn't want to embarrass our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tessahales
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I was deeply concerned when I first read your review, but after reading it a second time I am actually more disappointed that you did not have the decency to inform us on the day that you were dissatisfied with the food you received. Also, that you feel the need to write a review of this occasion and not the... More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $21
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Ashford
  • Phone Number: 441233840011
Description
A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards. We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website. We are now open all day on Monday 12:00pm - 10:30pm (For Drinks Only) We serve food Tuesday - Saturday 12:00pm to 2:00pm & 6:00pm to 9:00pm. On Sundays we provide Roast Dinners & Roast Meat Baguettes, with a selection of Starters & Desserts from 12:00pm to 4:00pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Inn and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?