We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Swan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 161: English reviews
Folkestone, Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited this recently re-opened pub for an early evening meal, this evening. The pub's décor is new and improved, much lighter inside and makes good use of the garden. There is an early evening offer of 2 courses for £10. We ate from this menu and I enjoyed my meal. There is also a full menu with more choice.The... More 

Thank skippyjo
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

a really nice relaxed pub, the staff are very cheerful and welcoming. An interesting and very varied menu, that changes regularly. The food is first class, and can relax and spend time chatting, as you're not rushed to eat or leave the pub. I can thoroughly recommend it either for lunchor for an evening meal.

Thank Suzanne K
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a pub, which we have frequented for years, but were sad to see it close a while back. Now, that it is a going concern again, we were very pleased with the way our large party was treated on Friday. the food was excellent and the service and welcome was first class. The Helpers thoroughly enjoyed themselves and... More 

Thank Actorsupreme
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Swan. Your group seemed to have a wonderful time and we are pleased that you chose us for this opportunity. We look forward to you all returning in the near future. I have passed on your kind words to all the staff that helped in making your evening a... More 

Kent, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a mid morning drink on a Sundya, with the intention of having lunch. There were 11 of us. Unfortunately the staff were unfriendly and the coffees were literally the worst we've had in years (tasted like powdered cappuccino from a packet in tiny cups), so much so that we left them and went elsewhere for lunch.

3 Thank UKSteph
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I was serving on the morning you arrived and I am deeply concerned that you felt unwelcomed into my Pub. I always feel that I am extremely welcoming, so this has come as a surprise. I know that when you arrived we were just opening... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you for the wonderful buffet you did for us for my father in laws wake... From freshly made sandwich to cream teas ... You made every one welcome and even made us laugh . Once again a big thank you and will see you soon for a different occasion ..

Thank mariecp
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of our Pub. I know that this was a difficult day for you all and I am pleased that we were able to make it less stressful. We are pleased that you will use us for future occasions. I always try to make people feel welcome and have a laugh with them, even... More 

Chatham, Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this pub for lunch as my wife wanted to have a look around Little Chart where her parents had lived for a time after getting married. As it turned out our lunch became the highlight of our day - the pub is an old building full of character in a delightful village setting, we liked the atmosphere of... More 

Thank P.Beaumont
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I remember serving you both myself and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the pub and the food. Also, the temptation of giving into one of our delicious Ice Cream Sundaes. We really hope that you will come and visit us again soon, when in the area. Look forward to seeing you.... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Visited here with family for lunch we love it here and proud to call it our local it's just wonderful the staff are great food is amazing and the garden and flowers well what a lovely setting the interior is delightful too this once again is such a gem well worth a visit you won't be disappointed. Cheese fritters are... More 

Thank Lv54
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your very kind review. I am pleased that you enjoy visiting the pub and that the Cheese Fritters were a must. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Dropped in for a bite and a beer whilst passing by on a hike. Very friendly welcome and plenty on the menu. Nice to sit in the garden by the stream and enjoy our drinks and Spanish Burger. Much improved from our last visit about ten months ago

1 Thank John D
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I apologise it has taken me so long to get back to you. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and that you have noticed the improvements that we have made since we took over in January. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Have been to The Swan Inn today for lunch. Can safely say it was probably one of the best Sunday lunches we've had and very reasonably priced. There was a choice of 3 meats which arrived piping hot with roast potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and gravy. Generous selection of vegetables were served separately and were also lovely and hot and well... More 

1 Thank Sue B
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review as we are so pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us. We have tried to keep our Sunday Lunches as traditional as possible and it is nice that you appreciated this. With regards to the gravy this can be served separately if requested, so please mention this next time you visit.... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

I visited this pub with my Dad, as I had been meaning to take him for a pint somewhere scenic and up market. The atmosphere in the bar was nice, service was friendly, but then I ordered two Moretti lagers. Crikey. I thought my wife could empty my wallet quickly. But nothing prepared me for what happened next. The economy... More 

4 Thank JamesLynsted
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am really surprised by your review. Firstly, I am pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the pub and that the staff were friendly. However, you chose to drink the most expensive lager in our range. Moretti is a premium lager and at £4.50 a pint we are being extremely fair on the price. Many other establishments charge a... More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed


Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $21
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Ashford
  • Phone Number: 441233840011
A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards. We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website. We are now open all day on Monday 12:00pm - 10:30pm (For Drinks Only) We serve food Tuesday - Saturday 12:00pm to 2:00pm & 6:00pm to 9:00pm. On Sundays we provide Roast Dinners & Roast Meat Baguettes, with a selection of Starters & Desserts from 12:00pm to 4:00pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Inn and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?