We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Swan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
+44 1233 840011
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and 4 friends booked a table for 7.30pm. We arrived a little before time and had placed our orders by 7.40pm. The first disappointment was that there were 12 options which included either meat or fish but just 1 vegetarian option ( risotto) for vegetarians. After some toing and froing the chef agreed to make a mushroom omelette. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank hlindsaysturrock
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

We have been waiting for you to write this review as you made it very clear that you did not enjoy your meal on the evening. After hearing that you did not want the Risotto due to it having mushrooms, you then proceeded to order a mushroom omelette? We do cater for vegetarians and if you had maybe been polite... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch. Brilliant host, lovely atmosphere and the food excellent. Will return on the future, probably for a Sunday lunch and recommend to friends.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that you found us accommodating. We look forward to you returning for a Sunday Roast, it was a real pleasure meeting you both. More 

Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Turned up here on the off-chance. We were surprised to see it so busy on a Wednesday evening. Had a great mid-week dinner. Excellent local ale.

Helpful?
Thank davidashford
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope that you will continue to visit us and we look forward to welcoming again soon. More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drinks and jazz night...impressed friendly..big fire..clearly a good restaurant as packed...yet TO eat there the bar and owners a delight...certainly will be back...

Helpful?
Thank Tertia V
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to our pub. The atmosphere was very good on the Jazz Evening, so much that we are holding another one very soon. We look forward to you visiting us again for something to eat. Thank you once again for your kind comments. More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2016

Four of us were out for a country drive and came across the Swan ,found the staff very welcoming and pleasent.They managed to fit us in for an excellent lunch which we all enjoyed. We will certainly return ,but will phone and book nextime

Helpful?
Thank Vicpout
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to our pub and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and found ourselves welcoming and pleasant. I look forward to the call and see you very soon. More 

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

We called into the pub today for lunch on a walk from Egerton, there were only a few people in the pub as it was a Tuesday lunchtime. We were given a warm welcome and served quickly. There was a good selection of real ales including local brews, we opted to go for the special offer of £10 for 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diprose
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed visiting our establishment and that the food/beer was too your liking. With regards to the 2 for £10 menu, I need to make you aware that this will be ending on the 30th November and starting again in the New Year. We are very pleased that you will... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Proper pub! Good beer, good food. Always a warm welcome. Open fires and not a television in sight. Five star staff.

Helpful?
Thank Colin B
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are pleased that you enjoy coming to the pub. We will never have a television in the pub we are pleased to say, as we really like the fact that we have a wonderful crowd that come to the pub and openly converse, which makes it feel warm with a... More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2016

My wife and I lunch out regularly and we would have go a long way to beat The Swan. It started from the moment I rang to book a table the phone was answered politely and efficiently. When we arrived we were given a very warmly welcome by the lady behind the bar and shown to our table by Roy... More 

Helpful?
Thank leonard b
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoy visiting our establishment. I am also pleased that the pie and fitters were enjoyable. Thank you for your comments about myself and my staff, we always try an provide the best customer service we can. Thank you once again and we... More 

Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2016

We tried there £10.00 meal it was really nice very nicely cooked and plenty of it. We have walked to the pub before and sat in the lovely garden with a river running through it which my dogs love having a dip in. I have booked for this Sunday for lunch as I have heard It's very good.

Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to read that you had a nice experience with us. We certainly look forward to you visiting us on Sunday for a roast. I am glad that you enjoy the beer garden and I can see by your great pic that your dogs love it too! Thank you once again from all the staff at the Swan. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2016

We had Sunday lunch, which is a roast based menu. The service was excellent and, especially as they were fully booked, we were served very promptly. The food was well cooked and the home made deserts in particular were excellent. The roast beef was well cooked, which may have been too much for some, but suited my taste. Certainly worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive W
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review regarding our Sunday Roasts at the Swan Inn. We always try and cook our Beef medium to well, due to customers requests. We certainly hope that you will come and visit us again. Many thanks from all the Staff at the Swan. More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Ashford
  • Phone Number: +44 1233 840011
Description
A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards. We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website. We are now open all day on Monday 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Lunch is served on this day 12:00 - 2:00pm (No evening meals served on a Monday) We serve food Tuesday - Saturday 12:00pm to 2:00pm & 6:00pm to 9:00pm. On Sundays we provide Roast Dinners & Roast Meat Baguettes, with a selection of Starters & Desserts from 12:00pm to 4:00pm (No evening meals served on a Sunday)

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Inn and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?