We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Footprints Cafe Bistro

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $15
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 10/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Footprints Cafe Bistro
Updated 10/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
334
40
13
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
334
40
13
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast pudding salad cakes burger coffee and cake
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I live round the corner from here but have never actually been for lunch so my 5 year old and I went for a meal on a bank holiday Monday. I had the salad with a burger, and it was tasty, fresh and surprisingly filling...and my son had a pizza from the kids menu which was actually made on site and met his seal of approval (which is not always easy to get as he's an incredibly fussy eater!!!). The cakes for desert were also good, and it was very pleasant to be sat outside in enjoying the nice garden they have there. Will definitely return!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Tom A, Trustee at Footprints Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi James, Thank you very much for your kind words! We are always pleased to see people that live so close but have never visited us before discover all that the Centre and the cafe has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent home made food, great choice good serving size. Great remote setting. Staff very friendly and helpful. You can eat inside and outside. Would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Tom A, Trustee at Footprints Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks David! We are extremely proud of our team at the centre and the cafe in particular who take pride in every dish that comes out of the kitchen. We are certainly lucky to have such a wonderful setting to offer.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very difficult to pay deposit for Sunday lunch .They don't take payments on the phone .Bank transfer does not verify. So had to go in with cash. I went in person to pay cash . I was asking the lady I had spoken to on...the phone. Why they can't take card on the phone. And why the bank transfer from my bank will not verify. I phoned the bank and they said you take the risk if you pay unverified. The manager just gatecrashed the conversation and said "I am the general manager and I implemented the deposit rule. It will not change ! He said I am happy to sit down and discuss this with you. I replied I was not asking for it to change but ...... he did not let me finish he just walked away and went and sat at a table with a customer. SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Tom A, Trustee at Footprints Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately, the above is not entirely accurate. Having spoken to the team, and our centre manager in particular who is one of our greatest assets, and probably the least rude person I have ever met (a sentiment shared by our customers), it seems that the...More

Reviewed April 6, 2022 via mobile

I came here for lunch with a couple of friends as a 50th birthday celebration. The staff were so helpful and kind and really made our lunch enjoyable. The food was also delicious , would definitely recommend, thank you for looking after us so well...xxxMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed November 28, 2021

We were a family group (3 generations) including grandchild who is gluten free, which we made clear when booking. They made sure there was a portion of broccoli and cauliflower without cheese sauce and gluten free gravy; and were happy to discuss with her which...puddings were suitable. Portions are generous and I think this is the best value for money, quality Sunday Lunch we've found. We've also eaten here for weekday lunches and enjoyed good food and service then too! ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Tom A, Trustee at Footprints Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2021

Many thanks indeed for your kind words! I’m glad the team and the food met your expectations and I will make sure your comments are fed back to the team. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed September 22, 2021

Footprints is bright and airy - too airy but that’s probably due to Covid. You have to order at a counter reminiscent of a self service canteen, which would be ok if the welcome was warmer. We were told to sit at a small table...against a wall in the middle of two open doors but the one thing Footprints has going for it is the large windows and some nice views. I asked if we could sit at a window table and was grudging told by the tall man taking our order that we could. This was at around 11.00 am and only one other table inside was occupied! The coffee wasn’t great and we had a long wait for our bacon rolls, but when they came out - served by a lovely blonde lady - they were tasty! Unfortunately we had finished our small cup of coffee by then and were reluctant to order more. To add to the lack of atmosphere during our visit, there was a tinny radio blaring out hideous pop songs which was sat atop a freezer and pointing towards us; I found this so unnecessary as it prevented us from hearing each other without saying “pardon”, “sorry, what was that”? In addition a man was strimming the grass opposite us through the wide open doors, which I know has to be done but I would have preferred to hear birds singing. The place isn’t cheap but the food, cakes etc looked good and they are very big on using local, organic produce where possible, so that’s a plus. I wouldn’t return however as I prefer to go somewhere more comfortable.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed September 16, 2021

Really fantastic food prepared to order on set. Great Table service & great value. No wonder the Sunday roast needs booking in advance. You are lucky I am writing this as I may just have made the place so busy I can't get in.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?4  
Reviewed August 25, 2021

we were really disappointed with the service received here today, especially since we had read the reviews and were looking forward to a great day out. There were benches where you could sit outside and a sign that said it was available until 12.45 as...it had been reserved which means you can sit there until the time is up, when we went to sit there the large scruffy waiter in black t shirt told us we could not sit there as it was reserved, even though it was clear we could sit there as it was only 11.00am and he was very abrupt and rude about it, further.more when he was wiping ( I use the word lightly) the tables, instead of gathering the crumbs he dropped them on the floor and did not even bother to sweep up! So much for being hygenic in this climate, need less to say we shall not be going back, it doesn't cost a lot to be polite to customersMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Tom A, Other at Footprints Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2021

Dear Ania, I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service upon your last visit. I wish you had asked for me at the time as I'm sure I could have resolved the matter for you and made your experience an overall...More

Reviewed October 14, 2020 via mobile

Frequent visitor to this lovely place. Excellent lunch and coffee and cake. Children’s menu is “proper” food and a great selection of delicious food. Friendly service, thank you

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 12, 2020 via mobile

Beautiful full English breakfast again today. Hot and well cooked as well as being clean and feeling safe. Thanks to all at Footprints.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed August 23, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic food, friendly staff and under current conditions they’ve made great efforts to make things as safe as possible for everyone. I would encourage anyone who hasn’t tried their Sunday roast to go and do so. Ashford needs more places like this, it really is...a fantastic enterprise.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?4  
Reviewed August 1, 2020 via mobile

Full English Breakfast for two this morning, beautifully cooked and served in a COVID safe way. Recommend for anyone who is fearing going out to eat. It’s safe and clean and the food standard as good as it ever was.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
TomA566, Trustee at Footprints Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2020

Hey Claire, thanks very much indeed for leaving us such a glowing review! We're very pleased that we managed to reach the standards you expected, especially at the moment with Covid going on. We look forward to seeingy you again soon!

Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

Lovely breakfast. Lovely walks for the kids. Went here for breakfast on a Saturday morning. What a treat it was. Breakfast was cooked fresh, none of this kept warm stuff. The sausage are extremely good, definitely not your bog standard ones, full of flavour and...meaty. Eggs perfectly cook and the mushrooms and bacon were fantastic too. Their coffee is also extremely good sod much so I had 2 large lattes 😊 The staff are very attentive and polite. Their hand hygiene is spot on. Hands washed after each customer is served and after they attended tables. Lovely atmosphere, plenty of room. Toys for the kids Well done guys. We’ll be back.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Went here for the Sunday car very on the recommendation of a friend. Wasn't disappointed. Lovely fresh locally sourced ingredients. , well cooked. Good friendly service. Desserts to die for.. all quite reasonably priced. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Delicious and great range of vegan options :), even non-vegans enjoyed their foods as we consisted of meat-eaters, gluten-free people, two vegetarians trying Veganuary and a vegan. I had a lovely vegan cheese and tomato toastie. Only disappointment was no vegan cakes 😮. This would...add to the options and enable people trying Veganuary to have more options as well.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton by Hilton Ashford International
39 reviews
1.63 miles away
Travelodge Ashford
987 reviews
2.37 miles away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, an IHG hotel
835 reviews
2.48 miles away
Conningbrook Hotel
468 reviews
3.28 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Swan and Dog
409 reviews
.76 miles away
Singleton Barn
160 reviews
.41 miles away
Fish Inn
50 reviews
.80 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Battlezone Laser Tag Ashford
42 reviews
.83 miles away
The Curious Brewery
218 reviews
1.65 miles away
Ashford Designer Outlet
1,342 reviews
1.68 miles away
Singleton Environment Centre
12 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Brenda R
December 1, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LaurenRing4444 | Reviewed this property |
Restaurants do not pay trio advisor...so Firstly get your facts straight. Secondly I highly Enjoy lunch and cake at this place. The cafe if anything have had 3 or 4 fake terrible reviews that you can tell are... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Footprints Cafe Bistro

Yes, Footprints Cafe Bistro is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Footprints Cafe Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5