We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Horse

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $25
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveler rating
616
99
23
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
616
99
23
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb pie pigs head homemade bread scotch egg sticky toffee pudding fish and chips soup sunday roast kings sutton the pub the set lunch menu little touches two courses lovely village birthday lunch attentive service front of house
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The White Horse never disappoints - it’s always great. The food is delicious and the staff are absolutely brilliant. Our go to place for taking friends and family - as well as our favourite for Sunday lunch!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Crazymayo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Marvellous. friendly local hostery that serves the most fantastic food as proved by the ever increasing in worth cusine and hospitality awards. Always full. so book ahead.. A real treasure in the heart of oxfordshire

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Kevin G
HendrikD302, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are all proud of our achievements here and always appreciate kind comments and reviews. Thank you once again and hope to see you soon. Hendrik and Julie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So my husband and I were at an auction on Saturday and were making our way home early afternoon when we decided that despite having been on a diet for the last 8 weeks we would treat ourselves to lunch all be it early dinner....More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Rosiemhc9xt
HendrikD302, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for your review. Pleased to read it was worth breaking your diet for! We all really appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. Hope to see you again soon Hendrik and Julie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Aunt and I went for a lunchtime deal that this place does Tuesday to Fridays for only £6,50for 2 courses plus either tea or coffee. A pub meal but very nice.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank chrisBanbury
HendrikD302, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for your review but I think it may have been 'posted to wrong location'. We do have a lunch deal but its priced slightly higher and does not come with a tea or coffee. We contact TripAdvisor Hendrik and Julie

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for a father's day meal on Saturday night. Staff are all very friendly, food is excellent and great value. Somehow two hours passed and we all left very happy. Head and shoulders above other pubs in this area - a must visit

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Rumbalagrinner
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended the White Horse by a friend so decided to take my mother their for a birthday dinner and I have to say, the place did not disappoint! The service was very good and the food was outstanding! The menu was not the...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank darrenah
Reviewed June 10, 2019

This place used to be our local for a short year back in 2016, had a chance to pop in and is just as good as we remember. Food and setting is amazing

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank TTHok
HendrikD302, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review a return visit to us. Glad to read we are still as good as you remember. Thank you once again and hope to see you again the next time your in the area. Hendrik and Julie

Reviewed June 10, 2019

We had the set lunch here last Saturday. It began with a little deeply flavoursome amuse bouche of mushroom soup. We had the shoulder of lamb beautifully presented with a pea puree . The service was excellent and a good wine list.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Templar2015
HendrikD302, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your review. Brilliant to read you enjoyed your lunch with us. Hope to see you again soon. Hendrik and Julie

Reviewed June 5, 2019

Since we had a rather large party, we stopped at the bar first. Our waitress was able to get us a table for lunch at this very popular restaurant with only a little bit of fiddling. We had a sumptuous lunch, everyone was full and...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank J B
HendrikDutson, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Hello, Thank you for your review. Pleased to read we could accommodate you for lunch and that you left full and happy! Hope to see you again soon Hendrik and Julie

Reviewed June 5, 2019

The atmosphere on arrival was good , we had the set meal which i think at £16.50 a head was good value for for money , the service quick and efficient, deserves all the accolades that were displayed on the wall. The Chef is top...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank newton69
HendrikDutson, Owner at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Hello Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your lunch with us. Brilliant to read you feel it is good value for money. Julie and I know we are the cheapest place around to eat but we...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Red Lion Hotel
509 reviews
1.52 miles away
Cartwright Hotel
596 reviews
2.02 miles away
The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel
75 reviews
3.32 miles away
Deddington Arms Hotel
640 reviews
3.35 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 232 nearby restaurants
The Coach & Horses
93 reviews
1.60 miles away
The Rose and Crown, Charlton
190 reviews
1.80 miles away
Great Western Arms Aynho
610 reviews
2.33 miles away
Spice Room
142 reviews
2.61 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 69 nearby attractions
The Retreat Spa 7
10 reviews
2.09 miles away
Banbury Antiques Centre
17 reviews
2.84 miles away
Himalaya Salt Cave
7 reviews
3.36 miles away
Deddington Farmers' Market
52 reviews
3.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
852ianf
October 9, 2017|
Answer
Response from essexjohn1962 | Reviewed this property |
I believe they are open.... probably fully booked, but I think they run a reserve list for cancellations.
0
Votes
BerylH412
January 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Queenpeafrog | Reviewed this property |
I am so sorry to have only just seen your message. It is not my home. I live in London. The staff in the pub there were very all so very friendly. It might be an idea to ring them and ask if they know of anywhere you might... More
0
Votes
carol b
November 12, 2016|
Answer
Response from Hendrik D | Property representative |
Hi Carol I hope you got my email reply? We do sell vouchers to any amount you would like. Please call the pub and we can assist. Thanks Julie
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing