We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Furze Bush Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitized menus
  • Contactless payment
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Furze Bush Inn
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Traditional English Country Pub and Hotel, with extensive gardens and large restaurant.
PRICE RANGE
$13 - $26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Table Service, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
71
57
27
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
71
57
27
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck stir fry side salad steak and ale pie scampi ciabatta puds starters and mains cake sunday roast potatoes bread the pub stayed here highclere castle clean plates lovely meal car park
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here last night after spending the day at my brothers 40th what a gorgeous little pub ..great breakfast and a lovely host

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
julesr2014, General Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed February 10, 2020 via mobile

Very pleasant pub grub lunch. Food very hot and stayed hot. Sirloin steak cooked to perfection, chips crisp. All good. Might ask for slightly smaller portions next time - couldn't finish it all so didn't have puds. Olives, hummus, oil and bread as a starter...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
julesr2014, General Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed January 26, 2020 via mobile

Four school friends met up on a Saturday night. Surprisingly quiet. Food and service excellent . No complaints at all. Moderately priced. Will return in the near future.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
julesr2014, General Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2020

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

The prices here are slightly above what they should be. In fact the food is absolutely scrumptious but like I said the price is quite high. The garden provides a nice place to let your children run around.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
julesr2014, General Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2020

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed January 10, 2020

The food here used to be fab - the chips were amazing - the best in the area but things have sadly changed and our meal was barely mediocre. This is the second time I’ve been disappointed and last time I complained. There won’t be...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 24, 2019

We celebrated my Mum's 80th Birthday at The Furzebush. There were 12 of us for Sunday Lunch. I took a cake in the morning and arranged for prosecco on arrival. Everything was perfect. The food was very good, we all had something different and it...More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Jules R, Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2019

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed October 29, 2019

We checked that the pub was dog friendly before we set off for lunch and settled down in the bar with the menu. We were hastily told by a woman, presumably the manager, that dogs were not allowed in the bar and showed us a...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?7  
Reviewed October 10, 2019 via mobile

My new wife and I stayed here last weekend and loved it. Jewels, our host, was magic and we clicked. We do not have beautiful old inns like this in Canada thus we were in awe of the establishments age. Cuisine and cocktails were fabulous...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Jules R, Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2019

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed October 2, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here recently for work and I was so impressed. The room was good, comfortable, well presented and everything I needed (and the towel size was perfect!) The pub was brilliant. A really good selection of drinks and the food was amazing. I was bowled...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Jules R, Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

I had a few issues and I must admit I am at times a harsh critic but I think my issues have merit. First the breakfast. The coffee carafe was very small and contained very little volume and so after I filled my coffee cup...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Jules R, Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. However I do feel you are being a little unfair. We are a small family-owned business, not a large hotel chain with 100's of guests each night, with this in mind it does not make...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
500 reviews
2.48 miles away
Premier Inn Newbury Town Centre South (A339) hotel
533 reviews
3.39 miles away
Berkshire Rooms
4 reviews
3.39 miles away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
2,531 reviews
3.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Pheasant
10 reviews
2.71 miles away
Honesty Inkpen
31 reviews
2.85 miles away
The Dundas Arms
517 reviews
3.37 miles away
The Red House
979 reviews
2.71 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Yew Tree Inn
45 reviews
2.71 miles away
Kennet Horse Boat Company
109 reviews
3.13 miles away
The Ladywell at Speen
8 reviews
3.63 miles away
Combe Gibbet
60 reviews
3.69 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
L3058ZOjamesr
March 11, 2020|
Answer
Response from johndavidturner | Reviewed this property |
I belive around $12 Canadian. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
Linda P
July 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jules R | Property representative |
Many of our dishes are gluten-free, and others can be adjusted to become gluten-free.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing