We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swan Inn

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Newtown | rg20 9 Bh, Newbury RG20 9BH, England (Formerly Swan Inn)
+44 1635 40313
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 297: English reviews
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here while travelling having done so before. Last time we struggled to get a table, this time there were loads. We taken to a table which was draughty and cold. We were moved to the next table - just the other side of the draughty doorway. I had chicken pie which was very tasty, but clearly mass produced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its interesting to read that other customers in recent weeks have either loved the Swan or had experience similar to ourselves. We have been Swan customers for a number of years now and last visited earlier in the year when the menu was tasty, staff friendly and helpful. We called in for dinner this week and were a tad disappointed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 21stCPragmatist
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were driving passed and decided to go for lunch as we hadn't been for at least a year. Outside looked smarter than we had remembered and on going inside we were met with a warm welcome. The interior had been redone since our last visit and the place had a really friendly atmosphere. Staff super nice and we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RaquelBelvoir
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dropped in for lunch on the off chance and were very pleasantly surprised - staff were attentive and very polite - menu looked great and could have chosen more or less anything from it (even the veggie options sounded delicious!!) Food arrived quickly, was very freshly prepared - The battered fish was probably one of the nicest pieces of fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank BenBarribal
Wickham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the Swan on numerous occasions over periods of time for Sunday and evening meals and always enjoyed our meal, sadly Sunday's visit was surprisingly disappointing. The bar staff and our waitress were pleasant and helpful, but it was the quality and presentation of our order that left us disappointed, having ordered the chicken pate for starters at £6:95... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick H
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice drinks, nice location, nice food and good value. The staff were very kind and helpful and it was brilliant for the whole family.

Helpful?
Thank RupertS123
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2017

£12.55 for a pint of Peroni and a pint of Badgers best. We will not be coming back. Front garden on a really busy road too.

Helpful?
Thank HN27HB
Mike E, Owner at Swan Inn, responded to this review

If you would like to call us to discuss your comments re: prices, as Badgers Best is only £3.65 so it appears there may have been some confusion,we would be delighted to talk to you. We also have extensive gardens to the rear of our pub away from the road should you prefer a quieter spot. Thanks Mike More 

Torpoint
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

Quaint old fashion pub, nice setting with nice garden and a stream running through it. Dropped in for lunch and wasn't disappointed, standard varied menu and the food was very good. Stone floors and rustic tables and chairs make it a very welcoming pub. No complaints from me and will go again

Helpful?
Thank David S
Mike E, Owner at Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we look forward to welcoming you back soon Mike & Karen More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Popped in last Sunday, restaurant was not even half full so did not expect to wait nearly an hour for food. Waitress seemed grumpy, dinner came with no gravy so we asked for some!! Then was handed a egg cup full to share! Naturally we asked for more! Chicken was cold, beef very fatty, stuffing seemed like it was microwaved... More 

Helpful?
Thank ameliats2017
Mike E, Owner at Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your disappointing visit, if you would like to discuss in person please call me on 01635 40313 or send a contact number to kamtaverns@btinternet.com and I will call you Thanks Mike More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

We came here for Sunday lunch and the staff were lovely and welcoming. Food was excellent, would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Alice E
Mike E, Owner at Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments we look forward to welcoming you back soon Thanks Mike & Karen More 

Travelers who viewed Swan Inn also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$13 - $32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newtown | rg20 9 Bh, Newbury RG20 9BH, England (Formerly Swan Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 40313

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?