We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hatchet

12 Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
+44 1635 277560
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good49%
  • Average22%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“baked beans” (3 reviews)
“mixed grill” (4 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

An early Saturday evening. Beer excellent and prices excellent, but the diet coke for my daughter was flat - I had to ask for it to be changed and so another 10-minute wait at the bar. I got chips with my meal when I ordered...More

Thank chanrakthai
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a family lunch - celebrating a birthday. Our needs were accommodated without any fuss (despite a disabled guest in our group). Service was efficient with dishes from a diverse menu. Reasonable pub atmosphere.

Thank JSM_Travel
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your family lunch with us and that our staff looked after you well. Hope to see you again in the future, many thanks Paul.

Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Have visited this pub many times over the last 5 years for a good quick breakfast, and can honestly say I’ve never felt let down. The service is friendly and efficient, great value for money and portions that would rival most competitors. A full English...More

Thank Andre C
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Firstly I would like to thank you for being a loyal customer over the past 5 years which is something we are delighted to hear. We pride ourselves on offering great customer service with prices to match, As you said a full English breakfast for...More

Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Been there few times. Great daily offers. Big pub, cheap and ok food. Friendly stuff as well but since it's "order at the bar pub" there is lack of interaction with them. Great stop for food for sure.More

Thank Marko R
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Thanks for your kind review of our pub during your frequent visits to us here at the Hatchet. I noticed your comments about the lack of interaction when ordering at the bar. Did you know that we now have an order and pay app that...More

Reviewed September 29, 2017

It is a typical Wetherspoons with good prices and fairly good food. The atmosphere is almost always lively.

Thank Gabriel S
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoy visiting us and hope to see you again soon. Regards Paul.

Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

Had breakfast here with my partner lovely service by carol and food was piping hot and lovely lovely experience all round. And will defo be returning when im in the area again thanks for a lovely experience. .....

Thank Marion W
Reviewed August 16, 2017

The staff were very friendly and polite and the food was delicious. They conveniently arrived all at the same time and was of fantastic standard. The drinks were very refreshing and the facilities were very clean and tidy. Trooper Beer was great and the tap...More

Thank wrightjw1
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thanks for your great review of our premises during your recent visit. I am pleased that everything was to your satisfaction from the food and drink to the service that you were given from our staff. We hope to see you again in the near...More

Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Arrived just after 5 p.m. With 5 friends , not busy so found nice table in corner ( pushed two together ). Ordered meal and took drinks , meals came excellent portion size, hot, well presented within about 15 mins . All staff were helpful...More

1  Thank Paul H
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to review our establishment during your recent visit for an evening meal with us. We are delighted that you loved your meal and our staff looked after you well. Hope to see you again in the near future, regards...More

Reviewed August 15, 2017

Staying in the area so went for a day's shopping therapy in Newbury. I have no complaints against the quality/ quantity of the lunches my companion and I ordered.They were good value,plentiful and tasty. However it appeared staffing levels were low in a very busy...More

Thank SouthCoastBelle
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our establishment during you recent lunchtime visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you thought is was good value which is what we like to provide for our...More

Reviewed August 9, 2017

We were hungry and wanted a good-value sit-down lunch. We chose from the Tuesday steak deals menu, and for well under £30 we had a steak and a mixed grill and a drink each. The food was decent, very generous portions and cooked well, the...More

1  Thank Thomas P
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

I would like to thank you for your lovely review of our premises. I must admit you can not go wrong with the great value of our steak deal menu which must be the best value around for the price. We look forward to seeing...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Sushi Maki
324 reviews
.01 miles away
Bill's Restaurant
555 reviews
.01 miles away
Arigato
114 reviews
.07 miles away
The Catherine Wheel
109 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Newbury Racecourse
440 reviews
.76 miles away
Shaw House
82 reviews
.82 miles away
West Berkshire Museum
57 reviews
.08 miles away
Corn Exchange
31 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hatchet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 277560
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing