We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hatchet

) #43 of 144 Restaurants in Newbury $ , British,
12 Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
+44 1635 277560
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good49%
  • Average22%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (16 reviews)
“baked beans” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Crap! Ordered garlic bread with the meal which never arrived, complained and it arrived with hardly any garlic butter ☹️More

Thank LinedancerNewbury
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry that you did not the service that you should have done during your meal with us. The issue that you had with the garlic bread not having enough garlic butter on will be discussed with our kitchen team to make sure this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is what it says on the tin as they say.tasty jacket and beans no butter just how i like it.the burger looks pretty tasty .nice coffee

Thank Angie-kittle
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us during your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future, regards Paul.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Typical pub in the centre of newbury. I ate a large mixed grill a cider glass and a dessert. The food is good the service quick the prices not expensive. Good place for a easy dinner with colleagues.

Thank Andrea S
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review of your last visit to us here at the Hatchet. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again in the future, regards Paul.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like Wetherspoons. You know what you're going to get, and are rarely let down. They know how to keep their beer, and the food is always value for money. In an up and down world it's nice to have something that's consistent.

Thank John H
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Delighted that you enjoy visiting Wetherspoons pubs wherever you are, and you are quite right we always try to give great value for money with a consistent product and service. Hope to see you again on your next visit, thanks Paul.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable pub near the market place with good choice of beers. Outdoor seating out the back and facing the market place. Food looked good. Prices not too steep. Comfy chairs in front lounge. A weatherspoons pub

Thank wrightjw1
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our establishment and took advantage of our great selection of real ales which we are proud of. Hope to see you again soon, many thanks Paul.

Reviewed June 22, 2017

We stopped here for a lunch on a Saturday with friends. The place was full but we were invited to take a seat on the one of the few table remained. Very bad decision! We waited for 2 hours and half (we didn't got out...More

Thank DanielaDavide7577
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Please let me apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy your visit to the Hatchet inn. The lunchtime that you visited was extremely busy but that is not an excuse for the quality of food that was served to you. I have checked...More

Reviewed June 12, 2017

would defo come back here if returned to newbury..£2.45 for a 6oz burger and chips that was served quickly and was awesome...staff great..lovely garden..lovely decor so no reason to go elsewhere

Thank mark b
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow another customer taking advantage of one of our daily specials. Glad that you enjoyed it and hope to see you back again soon, regards Paul.

Reviewed June 8, 2017

Popped in here after work for a drink & bite to eat only to find the "Today's Special" board saying £4.95 for a Mixed Grill. It was a little smaller than the usual Mixed Grill, but for £4.95 it was excellent value and very good...More

Thank JaseyB
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What can I say but we are glad that you took advantage and enjoyed our special deal of the day offer during your last visit. At £4.95 for a mixed grill you just can not go wrong. Hope to see you again soon, many thanks...More

Reviewed June 3, 2017

7 of us had breakfast - all great and amazing value. bacon lean and poached eggs perfect. they now have avocado on bagel too just as good but much cheaper than other more upmarket restaurants. and a lovely peaceful patio garden to sit in. i...More

Thank Chrissie M
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We at the Hatchet are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed our great value breakfast deals on your last visit. Hope to see you back here again soon, many thanks Paul.

Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

I haven't visited the Hatchet in numerous occasions and although service was quick a cold (hot) meal came out and no one asked if our meals were okay although this used to be the normal procedure! In hurry so didn't send it back but will...More

Thank Diana A
Paul W, Manager at The Hatchet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us on your last visit to the Hatchet. As for your meal please let me apologize for the fact that it was not up to our usual standards as we should have done a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Sushi Maki
286 reviews
.01 miles away
BooBars Smokehouse Deli
243 reviews
.05 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Newbury
559 reviews
.09 miles away
Bill's Restaurant
515 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Newbury Racecourse
403 reviews
.78 miles away
Shaw House
80 reviews
.82 miles away
West Berkshire Museum
55 reviews
.07 miles away
Corn Exchange
29 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hatchet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 277560
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing