We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coachman Inn Restaurant

Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
+44 1723 859231
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“beef” (15 reviews)
“sandwich” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in nearby Ebberston and visited the Coachman early evening. A party of 6 adults and two children. We had pre booked a table, on arrival we were welcomed and well looked after by the very friendly staff. The restaurant itself was very...More

Thank Plod55
Ian R, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to meet you and hope to see you again very soon!!!

Reviewed April 14, 2018

Travelled to North Yorkshire to visit friends who told us that they had booked a table at the Coachman Inn, for Saturday evening. The menu looked promising and 4 of us were expecting a great evening. We started with a drink in the bar whilst...More

1  Thank MotoWoodsey
Ian R, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments to which we are very disappointed first we make no apologies for head chef being in the bar area as we are a traditional pub with dining and pride ourselves in knowing our customers and interacting with them without hiding...More

Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Very strange experience. Good menu but served on cold plates and sent back to the kitchen. Service wasn’t bad but unprofessional. It’s not good when the water reaches across you to retrieve another guests plate. When spending top dollar for food it’s expected you enjoy...More

Thank sunnyScarborough
Ian R, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

I refer to the response given to the review above as you were a table of four not two tables of two as your reviews suggest i suggest that your comments regarding the restaurant being empty on a Saturday night and not popular has no...More

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Visited 3 times for lunch with my husband during our holiday. Having eaten there on our last stay in Snainton we weren't disappointed on our return. Food just as fantastic as before. Menu creative and delicious. Owners and staff friendly and attentive as always. Looking...More

Thank Donna S
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

The meal was beautiful. Lovely home made food. The staff where absolutely lovely. Very chatty and very welcoming. I didn't get their names but there was a young lady with glasses and a gentleman with tattoos. Absolutely Lovely!!! The bar had a huge selection of...More

Thank Danielle B
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

A lovely little Inn and restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff and welcoming locals in the bar and restaurant area. The room was pleasant and clean with a large bathtub and powerful shower. The room was cold on arrival but an extra heater was provided which soon...More

Thank Dean A
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Had a lovely weekend at The Lodge Snainton and decided before some of our party had to return home Sunday lunch would be the perfect way to part. Rang through on Saturday evening to inquire if 12 dining could be accommodated. No problem what soever....More

Thank memps5
Reviewed December 28, 2017

My family of 5 adults and 3 small children had our Christmas lunch at the Coachman and it was absolutely superb. The food was delightful - make sure you taste the special soup! - excellent choices available and everything was delicious! The staff couldn't do...More

Thank sueod1
Reviewed November 13, 2017

My partner and I visited the Coachman Inn to see if the food was as good as we were led to believe. It was better! Freshly cooked, local ingredients very well presented and with friendly service. We intend to return and probably stay over next...More

Thank David B
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

The website looks lovely and at £120 per night you would expect the place to be lovely but it isn't. The car park is muddy. We had to knock on the door to get in as it was locked - this was about 3pm on...More

2  Thank Sarah D
Ian R, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Unfortunately due to our location we embrace all things regarding country including the unrealistic necessity to open 18 hours a day closing at 11.00pm drinks will be provided to any resident during our closed period from 2.00-5.00pm all you had to do was ask!! we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Scarborough
East Ayton Lodge
317 reviews
.73 miles away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
1,781 reviews
3.09 miles away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
685 reviews
3.71 miles away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
485 reviews
4.14 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Denison Arms
274 reviews
.55 miles away
Walkers Fish Restaurant
383 reviews
.47 miles away
Ye Olde Forge Valley Inn
123 reviews
.28 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Moonlight Drive-In Cinema
48 reviews
2.40 miles away
Old Post Office Tavern
24 reviews
2.81 miles away
Wimbleball Lake Country Park
61 reviews
2.84 miles away
Mini Monsterz
106 reviews
3.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
fox1959
August 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from Ian R | Property representative |
Hi Jackie we have a small ramp which allows a wheelchair and/or easy access to the restaurant Regards The Coachman Inn
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 859231
  • E-mail
Description
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local procuce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;