We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Williams Bar & Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hertford Road | Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England (Formerly Tewin Bury Farm)
+44 1438 717793
Website
Today
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 7:00 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We got married at this once beautiful venue 15 years ago so we were very excited to be coming back to celebrate our anniversary with lunch. My goodness, what a huge disappointment. No record of our booking, ignored when we finally got to our table that we had to approach the staff for a drink. Both chose roast beef and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Goodgirl0711
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Goodgirl0711, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Williams' Bar & Restaurant. Please let me offer a sincere apology that when you arrived we had no record of your booking. We make our own horseradish sauce onsite using fresh ingredients. Rather than looking like a more traditional horseradish sauce this is in fact... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

We arrived with big expectations as a party of 6 for afternoon tea. I had previously had lunch in the bar area and it was ok what you would expect for the money nothing to shout home about. We was seated by Raj who was very professional however wasn't very welcoming and came across as arrogant. When asked what tea... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Adam H, Thank you for taking the time to review Williams Bar & Restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our service was up to the high standard that it should have been on this occasion. We feel our afternoon tea portions are generous and therefore we do not offer complimentary top ups of scones... More 

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Tewinbury Farm lunch was a huge disappointment. We waited a while before anyone even acknowledged we were waiting to be seated. To be fair to them, we hadn't booked. They seated us in the bar. We had to prompt them to take our drink order. Angelo's colouring pencils they provided to colour his menu were blunt so he asked for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank angieloz
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Angieloz, I am sorry to hear that your recent visit was not up to the high standard of service that we strive to offer. We welcome all feedback from our guests and use this to identify areas in which we can improve our service. I have passed your feedback onto our Management team who will investigate your comments. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2016

We had a lovely afternoon tea in a large group with children and all had a great time. The service was brilliant, nothing was too much to ask. The food was delicious and we were very impressed with the children's afternoon tea. All great value too. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Katie G, I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us in the Williams Bar & Restaurant. I am pleased the our restaurant team looked after you so well and we hope to see you all again soon. More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2016

Popped in with friends after work sat outside in the seating area just had drinks ,placed our order inside the staff were very pleasant had a bit of a wait for the drinks but the staff apologised for that one cup was sent straight back still had lipstick on it again apologise made replacement arrived bill came to £18.00 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Wendy B, Thank you for visiting Williams' Bar and Restaurant. I am delighted that you enjoyed your drinks on our terrace, but I am sorry to hear that you had a short wait for your drinks. I am pleased to hear that you would visit again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2016

First visit to celebrate family birthday. Found the initial greeting very welcoming from the offset, introduced to a number of different staff. Service was excellent through out and made our young daughter very welcome. Will definately return,

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer B, Thank you for choosing Williams' Bar & Restaurant to celebrate a family birthday with us. I am glad that the service that you received was excellent and that your daughter was made to feel welcome. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2016

My partner and I went to Tewin Bury Farm for our anniversary. We were looked after from the moment we arrived. The staff were amazing and attention to detail. We would highly recommend this establishment to anyone, and we will be returning very soon. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 173philipy
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 173philipy, Thank you for taking the time to review Williams' Bar & Restaurant. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back soon. More 

Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2016

Keep getting asked for a review regarding my stay at Tewin Bury Farm! I've never stayed there so can't comment? Only had afternoon tea which was average had better. Had to find staff for a refil. Slow service.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Alison A
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Alison A, Thank you for taking the time to review William's Bar & Restaurant. I am delighted that you chose to join us for afternoon tea, however I am sorry that you found the service slow. I have made sure that your feedback has been passed to our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager. I hope that you would visit... More 

Herts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2016

A large group of us recently hired out The Granary at Williams' Restaurant to hold a baby shower and we had afternoon tea. I can honestly say it was the best afternoon experience I have had. The sandwiches and cakes were divine and so fresh and the assortment of freshly baked scones were delicious. In addition to that the staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank TrudesHerts
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear TrudesHerts, I am happy to hear that you all enjoyed your afternoon tea in our Granary room. I am delighted to hear that this is the best afternoon tea experience that you have had and I will make sure that I pass on your feedback on to our restaurant team and Executive Head Chef. We hope to see you... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2016

A last minute booking for a family birthday resulted in a lovely afternoon here. The setting was lovely from the start when driving up to the location even though it was a miserable wet day. The signs were good so we found the restaurant quickly and greeting was nice. Walking in to the restaurant I liked the atmosphere and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kekeelee888
Tewin Bury F, Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Kekeelee888, Thank you for choosing Williams’ Bar & Restaurant for your birthday celebrations. I am glad that you enjoyed your afternoon with us and that are staff looked after you all so well. I hope you will visit us again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Williams Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Williams Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$49
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hertford Road | Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England (Formerly Tewin Bury Farm)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 717793

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Williams Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?