We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hungry Horse The Anchor

397 Goldington Road, Bedford MK41 0DS, England
+44 1234 353606
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good22%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible25%
Travelers talk about
“curry” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
397 Goldington Road, Bedford MK41 0DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Good food it does get very busy recommend booking if you dont mind noisy children running about its ok .Beer is good with some real ales staff are very good and helpful

Thank 141paul
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Paul Thank you for your lovely feedback, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 5 days ago

It was not to busy as we arrived, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The menu was the usual Hungry Horse type, but it was hot, fresh and tasty, except for my partner who had the Fish that seemed as if it had been...More

Thank William R
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi William Thank you for your lovely feedback, we apologise for the fish batter hopefully you raised this with a member of the team who would have gladly swapped the meal for a fresh one. We hope to see you again soon Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here several times, never had a bad meal. Most people we have taken have returned. Vast menu and decent portion sizes and certainly value for money

Thank Louise P
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Louise Thank you for your lovely feedback and for brining new people with you, we look forward to seeing you again soon Regards

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There were lots of noisy children and their parents, who allowed them to run around willy nilly. We chose rack of ribs with barbecue sauce and chips. The “rack” of ribs looked totally unnappetising and it was mainly bits of cartilege with a couple of...More

Thank Gillian C
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gillian Thank you for your feedback we are sorry you did not enjoy your visit, we do ask parents to stop their children from running around however this sometimes falls on deaf ears. Hopefully you raised your issues with one of our team who...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

got seated straight away and food was very nice, good portions and food was hot. no issues at all. will be visiting again next time we visit bedford

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank tailby26
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you very much for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your visit, look forward to seeing you next time you come to Bedford

Reviewed August 16, 2018

We went the staff said the kitchen was a mess and food took well over 30mins poor is good way to discover itMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Mrburgerkib
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back, it would be a lot more helpful if you could be more specific in order for us to make it better. We can sometimes have a wait on food which we advise our customers at the till before they...More

Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

We have eaten at The Anchor many times in the past and were hopeful of getting a table for Sunday lunch. But when we arrived at 2.30pm the restaurant appeared empty and there were only a few in the bar. The service was so bad...More

Thank peadar o
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Hi Thank you for your review, however so we can understand what the issues were could you be a little more detailed please. We do like to ensure we give great service, when we don't then we also like to know what went wrong? Thank...More

Reviewed July 28, 2018

We have not been here for a few years but was pleasantly surprised by the new restaurant layout. Staff were very welcoming and our food was very nice. We were checked up on by waitress to make sure we were happy and if we wanted...More

Thank Liane H
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Hi Liane Thank you for taking the time to give us your lovely feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will see you again very soon Team Anchor

Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Fairly quiet Thursday night visit, ordered quickly. Mains arrived but jumbo scampi appeared as jumbo cod and chips. Waitress accused me of it being my fault despite correctly ordering. Receipt that I was given wasn't itemised, I knew I was right. Disappeared to discuss with...More

Thank Michael T
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hi Michael We are sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit, this is not the level of service we aim to provide at the Anchor. I have spoken with the team who were working at the time of your visit and they have asked...More

Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Popped in for an unplanned lunch on Saturday. Two courses for £9 !! Plenty of choice for this very inexpensive meal. Expectations where low but what a surprise great food more than adequate portions and very attentive service. Difficult to find fault, we will certainly...More

Thank ajas
Anchor B, Manager at Hungry Horse The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback we are glad you had a nice time and we look forward to seeing you again soon Team Anchor

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Bedford
Travelodge Bedford Goldington Road
151 reviews
.05 miles away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
517 reviews
.83 miles away
The Barns Hotel
989 reviews
1.20 miles away
Embankment Hotel
358 reviews
1.49 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Toby Carvery Goldington
468 reviews
.03 miles away
The White Horse Pub
96 reviews
.75 miles away
Beefeater Priory Marina
528 reviews
.85 miles away
The Orchard Harvester
430 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bedford Park
189 reviews
1.60 miles away
Priory Country Park
306 reviews
.76 miles away
Panacea Museum
105 reviews
1.57 miles away
The Higgins Bedford
144 reviews
1.66 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hungry Horse The Anchor staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $16
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 397 Goldington Road, Bedford MK41 0DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bedford
  • Phone Number: +44 1234 353606
  • E-mail
Description
Brilliant local community Pub serving classic pub food and home of The Big Plate Specials. Excellent customer service and place to enjoy, relax & unwind.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing