We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Stanwix Tandoori

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11a Scotland Road, Carlisle, England
+44 1228 531495
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went here on the recommendation of my B&B hosts and I'm glad I did. They seemed pleased to have me visit, served me politely and efficiently, and the food was all I could have hoped for. It was a traditional Indian menu, well prepared and served. As a solo traveller I am particularly keen on prompt service and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank TeeWeight
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Menu is good, the restaurant is good, always made to feel welcome, do take away to collect aswell, good reasonablr prices.

Helpful?
Thank Brady211187
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were stopping over in Carlisle and the hotel restaurant had an hours wait for food. Decided to go for an Indian. We stumbled across the Stanwix Tandoori and had a wonderful family meal. The food was excellent, great portion sizes and full of flavour.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very good restaurant with excellent food. Three of us enjoyed our meal there after 66 miles along the Hadrians Wall.

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
Langholm
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

I had not been to this tandoori for years. Its clean and staff are welcoming. Food is ok but far from authentic. Sauce is watery and not the best. Had what I can only describe as ice bit in my rice. Informed waiter who stated rice was freshly prepared my question where did ice bit come from. No response! Starters... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alec M
The_Stanwix_Tandoori, Owner at Stanwix Tandoori, responded to this review

Alec M, Many thanks for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to leave us a review. It’s always disheartening to learn that our guests have had a bad experience in our restaurant. I would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment of your evening. We always aim to provide the best food and service to our customers at... More 

Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

To start with the positives service good waiters welcoming. Price average meat was tender but that's the end of the good things. What was poor. Food was so bland and tasteless mix platter starter shish kebab so dry chicken and lamb tender but really tasteless Mains we as above but I think I can help the chefs. I would like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve O
The_Stanwix_Tandoori, Owner at Stanwix Tandoori, responded to this review

Many thanks for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our customer service. We take pride in looking after our guests. Our loyal following provide testament to that! We are always keen to learn and find out about our guest’s experiences and welcome your feedback. I’m sorry... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

How this place has got over 4* rating is beyond me.... Service was ok but the food was so bland, we make better curries at home!!

Helpful?
Thank Jakki O
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

The sauces were ok, watery but the flavour was ok. Is there a need for the sauce to be thin? The meat was ok, well cooked and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank John M
The_Stanwix_Tandoori, Owner at Stanwix Tandoori, responded to this review

Many thanks for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the quality of our meats. We try to ensure good quality produce for our guests. We are always keen to learn and find out about our guest’s experiences and welcome your feedback. I’m sorry to learn about... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Food slow to come and uninteresting when it did. Chicken dahnsak with a bland lentil sauce and little chicken. Nan breads were however good. Service average with staff verging on offhand. Lot of money for average food. Asda ready meal curries are better!!

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
The_Stanwix_Tandoori, Owner at Stanwix Tandoori, responded to this review

Dave H, Many thanks for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always keen to learn and find out about our guest’s experiences and welcome your feedback. I’m sorry to learn about the disappointment you had with the quality of the dishes you had, as well as the price and the staff!... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

We ordered chicken tikka massala it was awful got 4 bits of chicken in a sauce that was very watery had no taste to it at all apart from water ordered a portion of chips only got about 10 each and that was £2.20 a portion the 2 meals cost us over £25 which should of been a monthly takeaway... More 

Helpful?
Thank shanice86
The_Stanwix_Tandoori, Owner at Stanwix Tandoori, responded to this review

Shanice86, Many thanks for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to leave us a review. As discussed in our email conversation, we offer sincere apologies that the takeaway you ordered didn’t live up to your expectations. We always aim to provide the best food and service to our customers at the Stanwix Tandoori - values we've held since... More 

Travelers who viewed Stanwix Tandoori also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Stanwix Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$13 - $33
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11a Scotland Road, Carlisle, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Carlisle
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 531495

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stanwix Tandoori staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?