We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Lion

$$ - $$$, British,
9 New Road, Rotherham S81 8JY, England
+44 1709 812575
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“pie” (17 reviews)
“beef” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
9 New Road, Rotherham S81 8JY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

41 - 50 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Not thrilled to go in tonight to find a booking that we made via messenger, which they advertised as a way to book and which we had used before, was viewed on Sunday only for us to discover, when we arrived, that the booking we...More

1  Thank sjansley
Joe H, Owner at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Hi there, We appreciate your frustration, and we did not reply to your booking request, which highlights a failure on this occasion in our process. When you booked the first time using messenger, we replied with an available table, as we do to confirm all...More

Reviewed October 21, 2017

I visited on Thursday evening. I can honestly say we had a terrific time. All the ingredients were there for a great dining experience, friendly welcoming staff, clean comfortable eating areas, nice selection of wines and beers. It was also great to see that the...More

1  Thank Didiya2017
Joe H, Owner at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Hi There, Thank you so much for such a super review! We’re so glad that you enjoyed what we have tried to create at the Black Lion! It’s our mantra that if the atmosphere is there, and the product is good, people will come, and...More

Reviewed October 21, 2017

We are so lucky to have this pub on our door step, and once again thanks to Joe & his team it's a great place to eat and drink. There is so much choice on the menu it was hard to pick, I opted for...More

1  Thank JoBe74
Reviewed October 19, 2017

This beautiful village pub has been brought right up to date with the new Landlord & staff. The food is superb. I had the Fish chips & peas, the fish was pure white and cooked to perfection, the chips were chunky and tasty, the peas...More

4  Thank Carole B
Joe H, Owner at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi Carole, What can we say!? What a lovely review and we are so grateful for it! We are so glad that you enjoyed your food, and we will make sure the menu changes plenty to keep something new on for you to try! It’s...More

Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

Under new ownership, has been open for food less than a week and it’s such a pleasure to have a local with friendly can do staff and excellent food which is value for money. It is nice to see the village community coming together again...More

8  Thank Rose T
Joe H, Owner at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi Rose, Thanks so much for such a complimentary review. We’re glad you and other villagers are enjoying the new Black Lion. We’re certainly enjoying being there!! Kind Regards Joe, Becky, Christina and team!!

Reviewed October 14, 2017

My husband and I visited The Black Lion years ago ( More than 30, before we were married with children who are now adults) We are both food lovers and also enjoy dining out regularly ! The problem we found was finding somewhere within a...More

6  Thank mandybF9033HR
Joe H, Owner at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi Mandy, Thanks so much for such a lovely review. Our kitchen team are passionate about seasonality, and game is a big feature of that. We are glad you enjoyed the flavour combinations! Lovely to see you and will see you again soon no doubt!...More

Reviewed August 3, 2017

Not been here for a while. Decided to go for their `steak night` ( 2 x 8 oz rump steak, tomato, onion rings, chips, salad. 2 for £20 inc a beer or wine ). Beer and wine OK, steak utterly tasteless! Won`t be back.

Thank gibson
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Visited on 30th July 2017 for Sunday lunch. Can't recommend the Sunday lunch enough! It's £8.50 pp so very reasonably priced. You had a choice of meat and we both had the beef which was lovely. The new potatoes are to die for and everything...More

Thank Carlene A
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

What ever yas are dein keep it up cos that chef in back kitchen nars how to cook like. @bunny Fish cakes were toppa. Thank you a will be back

Thank Amirboyo
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Just been for lunch here and unsure of what to expect, but need not have worried. As soon as we walked in, we were warmly greeted and invited to sit where we liked. We ordered our food and chatted to others who were in the...More

Thank peterbB4232AK
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Rotherham
Cherry Park Hall
34 reviews
3.39 miles away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
217 reviews
3.84 miles away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
971 reviews
4.28 miles away
Restover Lodge Hotel
121 reviews
4.60 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Four Seasons
116 reviews
2.51 miles away
Bombay spice
34 reviews
2.57 miles away
Indian Chef
66 reviews
2.62 miles away
Joy To Eat Cakes and Tea Room
11 reviews
2.78 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Langold Country Park
98 reviews
1.76 miles away
The Apothecary Salon
19 reviews
3.39 miles away
The Big Tops Play and Party Centre
309 reviews
3.67 miles away
Hodsock Priory
215 reviews
3.78 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
January 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Alan S | Reviewed this property |
There was a dog (with its own basket!) there when we last dined at 6 to 7 pm.
November 24, 2017|
Response from Joe H | Property representative |
Hi there, starting week commencing 27/11/17 we will be open every day for lunch. It is advisable to book to reduce the chances of you having to wait. Kind regards Joe
September 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from john2501 | Reviewed this property |
12-3.30 for food and until 5 for drinks. Just asked at the bar right now.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$12 - $25
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 New Road, Rotherham S81 8JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Rotherham
  • Phone Number: +44 1709 812575
We are a high quality country inn offering pub classics alongside more refined a la carte menus. Dogs and country folk welcome! See you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing