We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Gandhi

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Indian, Asian, Balti
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Roman Bank, Skegness PE25 2SN, England
+44 1754 765855
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

2 days in skeggy last weekend and looking for a good indian meal.THE GANDHI WAS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Off we went and true to form the meal was excellent, the staff were very sociable. Couldn,t fault a thing. WELL DONE THE GANDHI WE WILL BE COMING BACK.

Helpful?
Thank sueellen7
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this restaurant on the recommendation of the B&B we were staying at. It was a quiet thursday night off peak season so we were the only customers actually eating in the restaurant (although take a away was busy). This is one of the nicest indian meals we have ever had. Authentic dishes and all really well cooked and tasty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank welovetravel2013
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed The Ghandi. Frequent visitor to Skeggy and decided to stop over rather than travel home. Glad I did as I would not have found this place. Not very busy but a little gem. Will come again.

Helpful?
Thank jwright270
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Five of us including my grandson called on the off chance of there being a table. Very busy but they accommodated us . Pleasant Restraurant . Clean place and staff were friendly . Popadoms were were good . Especially the lime pickle . All the meals were enjoyed . I can recommend the veg & chicken madras ! Steve b

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Ingoldmells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2016

We usually go a couple of times a year. Don't do the set meals any more, but have a good choice menu. Good food for a good price, friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank swhite6124
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Poor service bad food and just plain rudeness, hardly ate any of the meal as it was so poor and when asked if it was OK we were honest and it was plain to see we hadn't enjoyed it there was no apology or discussion just a grunt....rude!

Helpful?
Thank Becki0908
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

You ordered the Korma and the Chicken Tikka Masala and complained of it being sweet and not like what you're used to at your regular. The Korma and Tikka masala is served sweet at our restaurant and is clearly stated on the menu. Every Indian restaurant is different and we understand that you may be used to it cooked differently.... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Had a great meal. The service is very fast and business like. A great range of dishes to choose from. We found the staff very efficient. Asked them to get us a taxi and it was done straight away. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We try our best and reviews like your makes our efforts worthwhile. More 

Huttoft, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

10 of us went tonight normally 3 or 4 still the same excellent service and food friendly staff and nothing is too much trouble why would anyone want to go anywhere else for a good Indian

Helpful?
Thank AxeNcleaver
boston uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

Went for a family meal tonight and was totally astounded by they poor service, no interaction with with waiting staff just like they DONT care want your order and move to the next table, when food was served and was thrown across table to reach other party members sat the furthest away rather than waiter walking around to serve only... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachel m
Miah79, Owner at The Gandhi, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your experience. We were exceptionally busy on Saturday and our waiter who served your food was under a lot of pressure. However, this does not excuse him from not interacting or serving in an abrupt manner. We will surely have a word and resolve the issue. We hope that you can revisit so that... More 

Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016

It wouldn't matter if it is your first visit, or if, like us, it is a favourite Indian Restaurant. The Gandhi has been in the town for many years, and its reputation and quality of food is second to none. The menu is wide and varied with many options - Tandoori, Korma, Vindaloo, Balti, Madras etc. etc. etc. It always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Always great to hear from our regular customers. Thank you for the great review. More 

Travelers who viewed The Gandhi also viewed

 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$15 - $25
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Roman Bank, Skegness PE25 2SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Skegness
  • Phone Number: +44 1754 765855
Description
The first and most established Indian restaurant in Skegness. We first opened in 1986 and have since become one of the most well known Indian restaurants in Lincolnshire. We serve authentic Indian cuisine cooked with fresh authentic spices. Our extensive menu provides options for everyone and we are always more than willing to help you choose a dish that suits you. Come an dine in our elegant and comfortable restaurant. Relax and indulge in the true flavours of the East. We also offer a takeaway service with 10% discount on collected orders. Free delivery service on takeaways over £12 within 2 mile radius. Charges apply to distances beyond 2 miles.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Gandhi and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
leicester,england
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Gandhi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?