We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

No.3 The Yard Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ironmonger Street, Stamford PE9 1PL, England
+44 1780 756080
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Thu 12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:00 pm - 9:15 pm
Fri - Sun 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 417: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It had been awhile since we had eaten at was called Jims Yard. The aesthetics were the same and staff very welcoming. It wasn't very busy when we went and that does effect the ambiance some what. The tables are on the small side if there are four of you. Food wise things were good and as you would expect... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteBuddha
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the restaurant. It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit again with us and hope to see you in the near future. More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Whenever we go, through a booking or just on spec, we are always guaranteed a marvellous meal and excellent service. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank phil_f2010
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are all glad that your experiences with us are of the highest standard. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had the set meal and it was very good. We really liked the first course and the main, the crumble was very substantial. Yorkshire portion!

Helpful?
Thank Ruth Flecknell F
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the restaurant. We are glad you took advantage of our set menu and hope to see you again soon. More 

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
512 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stopped going to No 3, after a disappointing meal, and no atmosphere...but we went this week, and we felt that it was lovely! We managed to sit outside which is rare these days anywhere..but with the heaters on, it was near perfect. Our starters were all brilliant, especially the crab cakes which my pal and I both had!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank freddy067
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We are very happy that you have returned and enjoyed your time with us this time around. We hope to see yourself again soon and hopefully you can take advantage of our beautiful courtyard again if the weather holds out. More 

Alderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Yard on a Friday evening, just the four of us. The staff where very attentive and friendly. Two of us had the beef carpaccio to start which was extremely delicious. My father and I then had the lobster which was cooked well and tasted good however the lobster itself was tiny and we felt it was bordering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hhutch4
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you all again in the near future. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good friendly service food was good but overpriced,The steak l ordered was cooked to my liking and so was my wifes duck but there tripple cooked chips were not good they were more like wedges too thick hence the middle were not cooked

Helpful?
Thank Thailandsteve
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the review. We are glad you enjoyed the meal with us and have talked to the kitchen over the points you mentioned. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Charming location and a lovely courtyard where you can eat, weather permitting. We ate upstairs in classic loft with exposed beams etc. We ate from the set 3 course menu (22 pounds) which had something for everyone. I had mussels in a light sauce followed by trout which was delicious and beautifully cooked. My dessert was "Eton Mess" and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I have passed the comment to the chef as we take all comments, whether complimentary or not, seriously. However we are gad you enjoyed the set menu food and hope to see you again soon. More 

durham, NC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ate dinner here recently and had a very creamy but rather tasteless seafood chowder and fish and chips with batter that was not fully cooked and hence mushy. Rather unpleasant. The restaurant is in the middle of town, with a pleasant appearance, and service was OK. Still, given the poor quality of the food I was served, I would not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bryan c
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time and giving your feedback and observations; we are all genuinely sorry you did not enjoy your food at our restaurant and we will treat all comments as constructive. More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Saturday last minute lunch. Accomodating and such nice staff. The food was so pleasant. Basic but such a nice selection we had trouble deciding. Kept the poor staff coming back to see if they could help.

Helpful?
Thank Powder P
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the restaurant and taking time to let us know about your visit. If you want to make certain booking a table please feel free to call us on 01780 756080 and the staff will be happy to help. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

The service is among the best I have experienced. Pleasant attentive staff anticipating your needs. The food matches the service and the Fixed Price menu is a steal

Helpful?
Thank dp191244
simon m, Owner at No.3 The Yard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We will pass the comments on to the staff who will be happy to hear that the hard work that they put in is recognised. We are also glad you enjoyed the food with our ever popular set menu maintaining the high standards at a very reasonable price. More 

Travelers who viewed No.3 The Yard Restaurant also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to No.3 The Yard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, British
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:00 pm - 9:15 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:00 pm - 9:15 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:00 pm - 9:15 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ironmonger Street, Stamford PE9 1PL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Stamford
  • Phone Number: +44 1780 756080
Description
No.3 The Yard sits in a quiet courtyard just off Ironmonger Street in the centre of Stamford's magnificent town centre. Under the ownership of Simon McEnery and Chef Tim Luff, the restaurant offers lunchtime and evening services Tuesday through to Saturday and now a Sunday lunchtime service too.
Choose from our set menus or a la carte option and dine in our lovely conservatory, first floor dining rooms or weather permitting, our secluded courtyard.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of No.3 The Yard Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
6 months ago
6 months ago
Northwood, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from No.3 The Yard Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?