We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Three Houses

$$ - $$$
British, Gastropub, Bar
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
379 Barnsley Road | Sandal, Wakefield WF2 6HW, England
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 181: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Me and the good lady had a lovely meal. We had drinks in the main bar, then moved to the quiet and well appointed restaurant. The menu has a good selection of meals and the portions were generous, particularly for the price paid. Staff were excellent and we will be eating here again soon.

Thank MikeShaw1000
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We come here because of its relaxed atmosphere and high standard of great food. The Sea bass was sublime yet again and all food has been consistent, beautifully tasty and very well presented. It's our favorite place to eat out and I recommend it highly x

Thank mammaclucks
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited the area with a few of my girl friends and liked the look of this place so we decided to try it out. Amazing, delicious food with a great environment and friendly staff. We had such an amazing time I have just joined trip advisor to leave my review :-)

Thank Heva_410
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Tasty food which is well cooked - the best roast potatoes in town and the vegetables are always deliciously al dente. Friendly, professional staff. My only disappointment with the food is the limited choice of vegetarian dishes.

Thank lklk6
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we were disappointed with a meal here some months ago, we decided to give it another 'go' having recently moved to the area. We both really liked the 'feel', and especially the decor of the place, so booked our meal out (Sat 8th Oct). Well, what can I say?.. apart from, what a disappointment again! I was so looking... More 

1 Thank Angel R
MY79, General Manager at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Dear Angel R We are very disappointed to read the review of your visit to us last weekend. When you complained about your lamb it was taken into the kitchen where both myself and the three chefs inspected it in light of your comments that it couldn't be cut. We found this not to be the case and we cut... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were very disappointed by our Sunday roasts. The potatoes were really chewy. The veg was bland, and the Yorkshire pudding tasted cheap. It did not represent a good dish at the price being charged. I could easily have cooked better at home. I should feel encouraged when I eat out that the chef is a professional. It could have... More 

1 Thank Ben K
MY79, General Manager at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Dear Ben K Really sorry you didn't enjoy your Sunday roast. The vegetables are fresh seasonal vegetables and we encourage people to season their own meals to their liking with the many condiments that we offer. Our Yorkshire puddings are home made and are prepared fresh. We have passed on all your comments to the chefs that prepared your meal... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here today and was really dissapointed. Start off with a positive the meat was nice, the roast potatoes were hard (probably been sitting there for a while), yorkshire pudding was like cardboard, hardly any gravy and it was like water, custard tart was burnt. And then we got the bill it was priced higher than the menu, they... More 

2 Thank perryl2
MY79, General Manager at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Hi Perry Thanks for your constructive comments they have been passed on to our kitchen team. The error on your bill was an error on the till on that day and it was rectified at the time of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really wanted to enjoy the meal as this restaurant is on our doorstep. We ordered different starters and different mains, all came and all tasted very bland. Scallop starter, tiny portions lacking any seasoning. Crab linguine, bland over cooked pasta and lacking the taste of crab Mushroom soup, bland and served with more butter than bread which was hard... More 

2 Thank JennieandChris2012
MY79, General Manager at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. We have never before had a table of six people who all said that the six different starters were all bland, then the six different main courses were all bland. This is a mystery to me. Despite your view not one of the six in your party asked for any of the many condiments that... More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopping in a hotel nearby, went for a drive to see if there were anywhere to eat, found this pub. Staff were friendly although somewhat cavalier in attitude. Menu was "interesting" but we made good choices so were pleased with the food. The room we were in was empty although the two we went through to get there were full.... More 

Thank Michael P
MY79, General Manager at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Hi Michael We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you for your review More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to go for a meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary but we were very disappointed. The service was slow but friendly, we didn't mind because we had time to have a natter. I ordered Mushroom soup and it was Tomato when it came but again I wasn't bothered because I like all soup. My main course was duck... More 

2 Thank Hazel R
TheThreeHouses, General Manager at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Dear Hazel R We are sorry your visit wasn't has you would have hoped. Firstly all our soups are made fresh and unfortunately by the time your order was processed the mushroom soup had all been served so we had to serve you the new soup which was tomato and red pepper. The duck unfortunately was rested following cooking and... More 

Travelers who viewed The Three Houses also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Been to The Three Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $31
British, Gastropub, Bar
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 379 Barnsley Road | Sandal, Wakefield WF2 6HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wakefield
  • Phone Number: 441924255642

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Three Houses and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Three Houses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?