We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Three Houses

$$ - $$$
British, Gastropub, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
379 Barnsley Road | Sandal, Wakefield WF2 6HW, England
+44 1924 255642
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 209: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Called in on xmas eve afternoon. We were told that they were fully booked but would check with chef to see if he could squeeze us in as there was only 2 of us and had travelled a few miles to the pub. We were told if we didn't mind being in the snug rather than the restaurant it would... More 

Helpful?
Thank brett c
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fair to say we would not return if it was the last place on earth! Appalling service, food, and management. No team work, the guy who dealt with us said his staff were 'rubbish' and acted in an aggressive and disrespectful way! I would not recommend this place, we left hungry and disappointed to say the least!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The service was absolutely rubbish ! Service was horrendous!!! The waitress clearly did not know what we were asking for with regards to the menu or wine! We arrived at 7pm and still food had arrived at 9pm! Food was horrendous service was horrendous!!! The only helpful person was the assistant manager but the owner over for rid her! Ended... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shellbell8383
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eaten here many times as we live local and gradually getting more disappointing. We came for Sunday lunch around Christmas, service was VERY slow we had to ask how long each course would be. We waited an hour for our starters (soup) and send our desserts back. overall the food was average for what you pay and service was shocking!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hlucy21
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Probably our most regularly visited eatery this pub is very popular with locals. It has an excellent menu offering well prepared and presented meals. The staff are always pleasant and even when no table has been booked will do their utmost to find you a table.

Helpful?
Thank John S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Regularly visit for lunch or supper and it can be 'hit or miss' - usually 'hit' but Boxing Day experience was dreadful. Service very poor, waiter shaking (with fear?) and steaks inedible. Staff forgot vegetables, starter looked and tasted like prawns floating in dishwater. Obv chef given day off and inexperienced staff left to try and cope which is not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
TheThreeHouses, Owner at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Dear customers, I know that throughout the Christmas period we have been extremely busy and from time to time our service times have been longer than we would have hoped for and we do apologise for this. However throughout all this period we have had been receiving excellent feedback on the quality of our freshly prepared food. However this particular... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit and both have been a similar experience. Friendly staff, decent menus and good food.

Helpful?
Thank A K
TheThreeHouses, Manager at The Three Houses, responded to this review

Dear AK Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the three houses as a last minute decision as couldn't get I the the restaurant we wanted,it's beautiful inside we were seated as soon as we arrived and were told the fish of the day and the soup of the day and given the menu I had the chicken liver pate with pistachio granola the page was lovely and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kristy2304
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Three Houses is a lovely place to visit for lunch, dinner, snacks or just drinks. The decor is really comfortable and the range of drinks on offer is comprehensive, you can even treat yourself to a glass of champagne or a prosecco cocktail. We had dinner this visit and the food was delicious. The staff were lovely and we thoroughly... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueMalcKirst
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2016

After having a pre-dinner drink in the cosy bar area, we went to dine. A wonderful section of choices, including vegetarian for my daughter. The plates were impressive and looked amazing, the food was excellent. I would recommend a visit. The cost was reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Weazil2016

Travelers who viewed The Three Houses also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Three Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $30
Cuisine
British, Gastropub, Bar
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 379 Barnsley Road | Sandal, Wakefield WF2 6HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wakefield
  • Phone Number: +44 1924 255642

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Three Houses and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Three Houses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?