We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Forge Toby Carvery

London Road, Stevenage GL2 8DE, England
+44 1452 521191
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good26%
  • Average21%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible22%
Travelers talk about
“carvery meal” (5 reviews)
“your plate” (5 reviews)
“all you can eat” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road, Stevenage GL2 8DE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 80 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2017

Had a carvery on Friday 11th August. Although the food was lovely, staff were polite too but the chefs nails were dirty....he's slicing the meat and handling the plates!! The plates, well are they actually washed? They are disgusting, feel the bottom of your plate,...More

Thank m a
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Hi M A, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed August 11, 2017

Although we managed to get a table straight away for 8 of us and staff were friendly the whole place was grubby dirty knives and forks very soiled hard chairs and several flies in the seating area and around the carvery. The server/chef was on...More

Thank Jan V
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Hello, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

Brilliant to see an old kitchen manger back Ricky Godfrey. Food was fantastic today and the service. Me and partner will be coming back more often. 5 star to you all.

Thank house30
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed August 6, 2017

Very busy on a Sunday so best to book. A typical Carvery that is much of a muchness but the food is OK. The meat was especially good. However we were given a table near a fire door. Not an issue except the staff propped...More

1  Thank Peter F
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Peter F, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. Peter F, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great.

Reviewed August 2, 2017

Came here for a midweek carvery today and really enjoyed our meal. Friendly, polite and helpful staff. The four different meats were exceptionally good . All the food was piping hot with lots of vegetables to choose from. My only gripe is that the yorkshire...More

Thank Philip S
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Philip, thank you so much for the positive review! We will pass your feedback on to the team in regards to the car park and Yorkshire Puddings. Our Yorkshire Puddings are cooked freshly on site, therefore, if you aren't happy with them please let a...More

Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I travel from Potters Bar to this Toby Carvery when there are 2 or 3 closer as we think it has the freshest, nicest food and good service. Unfortunately the other day we felt very let down. We arrived about 1pm on...More

Thank Courtzmelv
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Hi Courtzmelv, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We share all feedback with the team on duty and this doesn't sound like our...More

Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Having travelled down from Manchester we decided to go for an all you can eat carvery... much to our disappointment! All the meats were dry along with the vegetables.... even the gravy couldn't handle this much dryness! The selection of vegetables on offer wasn't brilliant...More

Thank sdwardle
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Sdwardle, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory.

Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Amazing carvery Great puds Our waiter was on the ball, polite and very helpful. Super value and the kids loved it! Big thumbs up!!!

Thank Wayneeeee
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Hi Wayne, Thank you for feedback hope to see you soon Wayne!

Reviewed July 31, 2017

Came on Sunday 30th July and although not regulars we do come about once a month. Food is nice meat is how it should be and the roast potato's nice considering the quantity. Lots of options mash potato is nice and all the veg plus...More

Thank TheStath
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Hi TheStath, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that we didn't exceed your expectations upon your last visit. Sunday's are our single busiest day of the week and we do staff them accordingly. Unfortunately due to circumstances out of the Restaurants...More

Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Went on a Monday night very busy but good service and great food would recommend as great value and choice

Thank keith t
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Hi Keith T, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Old Forge. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Stevenage
The Roebuck Inn
117 reviews
.09 miles away
Novotel Stevenage
821 reviews
.66 miles away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
700 reviews
1.16 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
599 reviews
1.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Four seasons
70 reviews
.22 miles away
Nirvana Restaurant
76 reviews
.10 miles away
Old Red Lion
151 reviews
.85 miles away
The Cornish Pantry Shop
27 reviews
.89 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Fairlands Valley Park
223 reviews
1.10 miles away
Knebworth House
356 reviews
1.31 miles away
Mardleybury Gallery
40 reviews
2.35 miles away
Partyman World Of Play
201 reviews
.67 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Baggiebred
August 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BerniOHertfordshire | Reviewed this property |
Just checked their website and found this offer: Two delicious courses – just £6.75 Here at Toby Carvery Old Forge you can enjoy two courses for just £6.75 until 27 August (Monday to Saturday). They have others on their... More
1
Vote
frank h
July 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Katherine N | Reviewed this property |
£6.49
0
Votes
linda f
November 12, 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Ian J | Reviewed this property |
Thanks for your email I would advise to call really early as soon as after 9am they are really busy as from 11am each day mind they should pick up the phone
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 AM
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
11:45 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
11:45 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
11:45 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
11:45 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
11:45 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
11:45 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Stevenage GL2 8DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Stevenage
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 521191
Description
Welcome to the Old Forge Toby Carvery. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Stevenage’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;