We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Eight

$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 Lion Street, Ipswich IP1 1DQ, England
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Thu 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 615: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After being next store at the town hall for my partners graduation it would of been a shame to miss not walking the few yards to Aqua8 ! So happy with the service and level of beautiful food we had last night! We had also our grandparents with us for there first visit and the loved the setting the mood... More 

Thank bingopatb1981
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Aqua Eight has won so many awards and you can see why. The food is absolutely knock out. Service outstanding. What more can you say. It is just my favourite place to eat. It is expensive, but then they always say you get what you pay for.

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I came from Manchester to visit this restaurant on a recommendation from a friend. As a table of six we came to celebrate a birthday and birth of a newborn. When we arrived it took several attempts to order drinks and eventually had to ask many different staff members for drinks ourselves because we waited so long. When it came... More 

4 Thank Stephanie J
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I visited with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday and new baby and was disguested by the service here. Having worked in a restaurant myself, I was shocked that drinks orders took 4 attempts, I told a waitress that the girl the other end of the table wanted to order wine and she just walked off. In addition,... More 

3 Thank Georgie M
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this review

Dear Georgie M Please refer to my response to your friend's review, below. We work on the principle of "the customer always being right", which is why we were happy to serve your group without any comment, even though your party arrived at 10.30 pm instead of 9.15. Frankly, our team were left feeling deeply uncomfortable by continued rudeness from... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The only criticism is that the restaurant is so popular you need to book your table well in advance. The bar is a delight and the food exquisite

Thank francisstreet2016
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came here recently with 5 friends to celebrate two different occasions. I used to come here regularly and have always had a good experience, so I really am shocked at how terrible this outing was. From the minute we arrived it was as if we were an after thought - no one seemed to have been 'assigned' us as... More 

3 Thank Alexandra M
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra M The entire team who served you met this morning to go through your review. We were all very shocked to read it, since it differs so much from our own perspective of events that night. You booked a table for 9.15 pm, for 7 people and 1 baby. The main table was assigned and ready for you,... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Way over rated. Considering the amount of staff they had, you'd expect more attention. Ok food but WAY OVER PRICED for what it is.

2 Thank BettyBumwiggle
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this review

Dear BettyBumwiggle What a shame you didn't feel you were given enough attention! If you'd kindly call our PR lady, Helen, on 07974 502847, we'd love to know quite what happened (or didn't) so that we can put it right for you. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would have given this 5 stars because the food is excellent. However, on our last visit, the ambience had changed and it was so noisy you could barely hear yourself speak. Service is good and staff are friendly. Food is beautifully presented too. But - WAY too noisy! Go in a quiet period.

Thank Gin901
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this review

Dear Gin901 Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, it's always valued and helpful. It sounds as if perhaps you came on a Friday or Saturday evening? If so, yes it can get very busy, so you may wish to come on a Tues - Thurs evening if you'd prefer a more leisurely experience with a quieter... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is outstanding, the food is delicious and would always choose over anywhere else!!!!!

Thank Gibbons123
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this review

Dear Gibbons123 How kind! Thank you for your excellent feedback. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Aqua 8 is one of the few Asian cuisine restaurants which has pulled off a comprehensive variety of menus whilst maintaining a high level of quality and uniqueness. Its easy to criticise Chinese cuisine as it can be really heavy, but that’s not the case at this Pan-Asian eatery. Every plate comes out beautifully presented. Nothing feels greasy or over... More 

Thank Jordan A
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this review

Dear Jordan A So glad you enjoyed the food and found it light and beautifully presented. Your comments about the blinds upstairs have been noted, thank you, and we will certainly look at those carefully. Regarding our pricing, we know we aren't the cheapest in town, but we routinely buy from locally producers and order fresh, organic produce and meat... More 

Travelers who viewed Aqua Eight also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk

Been to Aqua Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$32 - $49
Chinese, Asian, Thai, Fusion
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Lion Street, Ipswich IP1 1DQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: 441473218989

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Aqua Eight and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aqua Eight staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?