We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mermaid

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$13 - $19
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveler rating
264
230
135
92
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
264
230
135
92
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stuffing roast dinner pudding cake pork fish and chips great carvery the pub selection of vegetables car park family meal carveries medium
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Ipswich to meet old friends. Upon checking into our room we found we had been booked into a room with a toilet for a disabled/elderly person which I was rather disappointed with. I spoke to Michael behind the bar who I would...More

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Jthornton10
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and this issue was dealt with straight away. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm never disappointed when I come to this pub I only ever choose a carvery because it's great value for money at 2 medium and plates for £10. Great beers and good service.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank kaz a
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoy our great carvery meals at such a great price

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Haven't been here for a while but never fails to deliver on value and service. friendly place, small carvery just right for a quick bite nice hot food and that's why I will return.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank dylanlane70
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for you review, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mermaid for 2 nights on a visit to Ipswich and we paid extra £27.80 per night to include breakfast. The only good part about the trip was that the rooms were a good size and quiet. Unfortunately, this is outweighed by...More

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Pachdalo2011
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we do devour to meet all guests requests and it seems on this occasion we did not fulfil these needs to which we can only apologise. As for the others matters in...More

Reviewed June 10, 2019

Well worth going here for the carvery as the price is so low, can get busy so pick your time or book ahead.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank SPB55
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Thank you for taking your time to review us here at The Mermaid. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

Went for a birthday celebration. Had a queue if at least 10 people for the bar. Orders wrong and told by barman that we had not asked for it. When having meal - starters brought and had to ask for cutlery. Main meal arrived and...More

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank cleocatra8
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Many thanks for your review, I am saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us at The Mermaid. I am shocked to hear about the service you received.I have personally spoken to all members of staff which were working that evening and...More

Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for three nights and overall we were happy with our room and the service. There was only one problem which was that the housekeeping team forgot to service our room before our last night. Because of the inconvenience the...More

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank RosinaDeveraux237
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of us at the Mermaid. We hope you to stay with us again soon

Reviewed May 27, 2019

The hotel is clean and tidy and rooms nice and big. Cleanliness was good and nice to have tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast was okay, porridge was excellent- would recommend that. The bar we only used once and we all found the staff...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Julian C
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again

Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

We only went to the mermaid as it’s in walking distance and the Orwell bridge was closed meaning traffic is horrendous in town so we went here! Wanting a meal out to celebrate our daughters 17th birthday. The reason we hadn’t been for a long...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank mdsmith0911
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Thank you for your recent review of us at The Mermaid, I'm saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us. So we can deal with the situation further please could you give us a call on- 01473 230278 to discuss this, thanks...More

Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

Visited on Sunday 12th May on our way to play a game of bowls against Ipswich BC in the EBF Durham Centenary Trophy. 16 bowlers booked in for carvery lunch, very welcoming, excellent service, great value and good quality. Well done to all.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank paultI9764OF
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
pentahotel Ipswich
746 reviews
.47 miles away
The Carlton Hotel
128 reviews
.60 miles away
Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
1,038 reviews
.81 miles away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
1,001 reviews
1.03 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 496 nearby restaurants
Ararat Restaurant
170 reviews
.46 miles away
Maharani
787 reviews
.43 miles away
Miller's Fish & Chips
120 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 243 nearby attractions
New Wolsey Theatre
786 reviews
.53 miles away
Red Rose Chain Theatre
62 reviews
.57 miles away
Portman Road Stadium
114 reviews
.48 miles away
Sir John Mills Theatre
31 reviews
.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kmcobb12345
May 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from julie m | Property representative |
unfortunately not, we only have freeview channels
1
Vote
johnell4
May 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from julie m | Property representative |
hi there, we don't take bookings, just turn up and we'll allocate a table on arrival kind regards Mermaid Team
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing