We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Brook Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
+44 1473 730531
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
888 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Three of us had dinner at this pub and we found the service to be friendly and efficient. All of us opted to have the salmon which was really delicious, and the desserts were equally good. The only slight criticism is that there were some unruly children on a nearby table, but that is not the fault of the pub,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mjc404
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi there - thanks for taking time to write your review...sorry about the unruly kids but hopefully they won't be visiting next time you come! Cheers Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Stopped by for a light lunch. My friend had a tuna and baked potato which was ok. I had a tomato penne pasta dish with cheese which was more than 'al dente' As my friend was paying I decided not to complain . The young man serving was very pleasant and helpful. Sadly will not be returning as nothing special... More 

Helpful?
Thank mary S
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mary - sorry to read that you were very disappointed with your visit to our community-owned pub. Also disappointed that you weren't able to raise your complaint at the time as that is always the best opportunity to highlight a problem, rather than after the event. We try and learn from the negatives as well as the positives and... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

One of the best pub Sunday lunches for a long time. Plenty of good roast beef, nice roast potatoes and good selection of veg. Great family pub with friendly staff

Helpful?
1 Thank Dogdancer007
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write your review - you're very much welcome every Sunday! Ian Evans More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Was a bit worried as the menu was a little basic. However when the food arrived it was amazing. Had the tempura prawns and best I have ever tasted hubby had the gammon not over cooked and not salty, was also good that there was not a mountain of chips. Also nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Thanks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Happy belated birthday Helen and we're pleased you enjoyed your big day meal at the Brook Inn - do come again soon, Ian Evans More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Eat here at least twice a week love Monday and Tuesday night food is awesome also enjoy the food when we eat on other nights great little pub dog friendly in the bar and great staff

Helpful?
3 Thank Sue F
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to write this review - do come again soon...maybe three times a week?!? Ian Evans More 

Brighton, Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

I was told this Inn served good food - I did not find this the case. The menu was a little bland, serving up the usual, unexciting fayre. I went for the home made steak pie, it was OK, but not particularly tasty. The veg that came with it was well cooked, nicely "Al dente". Unfortunately, there was insufficient gravy... More 

Helpful?
Thank curzonsparks
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write about us. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the pub - being a community-owned pub is no excuse for your disappointment. As a director I'm interested to know how the staff/manager dealt with your complaints on the night? Did they bring more gravy when you brought it... More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

We visited because of the gluten free food, I was looking forward to having fish and chips. The evening we went there were only 5 other diners, The food arrived the fish was overcooked the batter was verging on burnt, the thick part of the fish was ok but the thinner side part was dried out, the chips were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank josiewoodbridge
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hello Josie and thanks for your posting on TripAdvisor - we welcome all comments, good or bad. I'm also disappointed to learn of your experience at the Brook Inn, especially as the vast majority of reviews we get are positive. I will be speaking to the manager about your complaints and query why the fish and chips were served to... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Went for a meal this evening and had a wonderful meal. Have been lots in the past as they specialise in gluten free meals, but this time was pleasantly surprised at the large choice of gluten free desserts. The chicken, mushroom, cheese bake was amazing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie B
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Chrissie - do come again soon, Ian Evans More 

Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

As we were in the area we decided to pop in this venue again we had previously visited about a month ago. It is very good value for money and does two meals for £10 which looked a very good portion. We had beef in black beAn sauce and king prawn nasi goring with egg fried rice it was delicious... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Anne R
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Anne - pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Brook Inn. Do come again soon, Ian Evans More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Just passing through last Sunday - very hungry so called in. What a beautiful place, staff, décor etc, and the roast was second to none. Will definitely visit again. Thank you so much to all concerned

Helpful?
2 Thank Bernice W
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review Bernice - come again soon, Ian Evans More 

Travelers who viewed The Brook Inn also viewed

 
Tuddenham, Ipswich
 

Been to The Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$12 - $18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730531
Description
Community-owned pub serving British and foreign food, specialising in gluten-free meals. Recently renovated, the free house has an extensive menu, wine and real ales with garden space, free parking and dog-friendly environment. Surrounded by beautiful Suffolk countryside and accessible to main roads

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brook Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?