We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Bistro

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015, 2017 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
Restaurant with stunning Waterfront location serving locally sourced fresh products and fantastic service. Live music in our bar every Sunday from 3pm.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
European, British, International
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
431
132
25
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
431
132
25
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef wellington seafood skewers steak sea bass dauphinoise potatoes chocolate brownie crab bread chicken salad set menu upstairs restaurant two courses cooked to perfection wonderful food sunday evening lovely restaurant
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The most delicious lunch.Imaginative menu.Asparagus and poachef egg cooked to perfection.House salad with sundtief tomatoes,cashew nuts and peppers.Mine was with poached salmon and prawns....A great success.Will be back soon

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Martine W
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon with us. We've just launched our Summer menu so please come back and see us again soon. Kind Regards The Waterfront Bistro

Reviewed 5 days ago

Stopped here for a lunchtime drink and nibbles and liked the look of the menu so booked the restaurant for the evening. Wasn’t disappointed the food was really good and the staff so friendly and efficient. Had fish pie and beef wellington which were so...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Peter C
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for leaving us this review Peter. It was an absolute pleasure having you both with us last week. Hopefully we shall see you soon. Kind Regards The Waterfront Bistro

Reviewed 5 days ago

We had an excellent two course lunch. The food was delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful and very professional. We were so pleased to get a table as every where was so busy because of the Rod Steward concert. We returned there later...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank annette H
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you Annette for this fantastic review. It really does mean so much to hear comments like yours. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and please do come and see us again soon. Kind Regards The Waterfront Bistro

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place gives you a taste of Ipswich, the menu was good. Our party of 5 had 3 different dishes, for starters, main and desert. Everyone loved what they ordered. A place to recommend a nice meal to enjoy.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Carls1971
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much so taking the time to leave us this review. Our menu will be changing from the 25th so please do come and see us again soon! Kind Regards, The Waterfront

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you for fitting us in when every other restaurant said they were full. It was the night of the Rod Stewart concert and we wanted to eat before going in. The food couldn’t be faulted. It was absolutely delicious and served by the friendliest...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Signhappy
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us last week. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to everyone here and please do come and see us again soon. Our summer menu is launching on the 25th of this month and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my second visit. The first was good too. Service friendly and excellent and the food of high standard. Great ambiance with views over the river. Happy to go there again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank StephenB89
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Stephen for your comments! It's great to hear feed back like yours and really does mean a lot to everyone here at The Waterfront. Hopefully we'll see you soon. Kind Regards, The Waterfront Bistro

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was looking for a restaurant so that we could meet relatives half way between us in Gorleston and them in Dartford. Trip Advisor recommended the Waterfront and we were not disappointed.The food was outstanding with an excellent vegetarian choice for me and my son....More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank kazrobin
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this amazing review. I'm so pleased to hear to enjoyed your evening with us. We're currently working on our Summer menu so keep an eye out for that. Hopefully we shall see you back soon. Kind Regards The Waterfront Bistro

Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

Staying overnight in Ipswich, a town I don’t know at all, and this place just round the corner from the hotel on the quayside. Really tasty food. Had the smoked mackerel and fish & chips - the tartare sauce was absolutely delicious. Only here 1...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank TonyAdo1
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tony! Thank you for leaving us this review. Please do come and see us again if you're ever back in Ipswich!. Kind Regards, The Waterfront Bistro

Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

Great place! We had their excellent value 3 courses for £20 menu. The beef cheek starter was melt in your mouth and full of flavour and my steak was cooked to perfection. Lovely custard tart to finish. Faultless service as well. Well worth a visit...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Norwich_Tractor_Boy
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to us! I'm so pleased to hear you how much you enjoyed our menu, our kitchen team really appreciate hearing feedback like yours!. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Waterfront Bistro

Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

We were very lucky to get a table on a very busy Saturday night this weekend. How lucky were we... food was delicious, service exceptional and decor fabulous.. view not bad either 🤗🤗🤣 highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Beaumo6
thewaterfrontbistro1, Owner at The Waterfront Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon!. Kind Regards, The Waterfront Bistro

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
995 reviews
.06 miles away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1,609 reviews
.14 miles away
Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel
1,032 reviews
.22 miles away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
424 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 496 nearby restaurants
Takayama
230 reviews
.15 miles away
92 Noodle Bar
127 reviews
.18 miles away
Mariners 1900 - Ipswich
715 reviews
.08 miles away
Bistro on the Quay
915 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 240 nearby attractions
Ipswich Waterfront
659 reviews
.17 miles away
DanceEast
44 reviews
.11 miles away
The Old Custom House
16 reviews
.07 miles away
Wolsey's Gate
12 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rex I
March 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from cjcl | Reviewed this property |
?? 5 star review as garbage?? I would suggest you have replied to the wrong reviewer.
3
Votes
Willyk
July 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LabrettaMod | Reviewed this property |
Lunch only 12 until 2
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing