We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holmes Place

15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
+44 1492 874235
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible25%
Travelers talk about
“chips peas” (4 reviews)
“steep stairs” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Cafe, British
15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

41 - 50 of 236 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2017

We were here with our dogs last Sep/Oct and we popped in recently (without the dogs this time). I actually feel quite sorry for the staff as on both visits, they've been lovely to my husband and I and on both occasions the food has...More

Thank desmondsdoll
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for the kind words. And I am glad you enjoyed both visits, hopefully see you again in the future ☺

Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I had the fish and chips special. The fish was supposed to be cod, but certainly wasn't. Frozen chips and a taste that took me back to my poverty ridden youth....... tinned processed peas. The establishment (we only noticed the sign as...More

1  Thank kildonan0_1
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

The fish is definitely cod. Always has been in the 11 years I have been at the cafe. But yes, sadly it is frozen chips and marrow fat peas. After 13 years of ownership, yes the cafe is up for sale. Not because of the...More

Reviewed March 13, 2017

*DISGUSTING* We visited this café on visit to Llandudno, right near the seaside expecting a good fish & chip restaurant. On arrival, the place was empty and looked miserable - this being 12pm dinner time on a Sunday. We actually nearly thought about leaving but...More

1  Thank Liz W
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

You may have noticed the weather outside was not brilliant, which unfortunately means there is not much foot traffic heading to/from the pier which is what we rely on. Hence why the cafe was quite empty. Outside the window you were sat in front of...More

Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

Arrived in Llandudno at lunch time and wanted a snack so thought we would pop in Holmes place. On entering the premises the lady owner was sitting in the dining area when saying hello we were completely ignored by her The food was below average...More

1  Thank JanineFelton
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Hello, the manageress (she does not own the cafe) did not hear you when you said hello, apologies. Sorry you did not enjoy your visit.

Reviewed January 22, 2017

This pleasant fish and chip restaurant is ideally situated a short walk from the promenade. The premises offer a warm and welcoming environment and although not one of the more modern establishments presents as clean and tidy with nice decoration. It has a varied menu,...More

Thank catseyeshc
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

I think you may have misread as the highlighted words read variations of "please note:we do use frozen chips"! Probably could have worded it better to avoid confusion, lesson learned! We are hoping the new owners will update many things once the sale goes through....More

Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

I'm a regular here. Have been 5 years now. I don't understand the negative about the fish and chips. Yea it advertises fish and chips, that doesn't make it a chippy. Yes it does a takeout service, still doesn't make it a chippy, it's nice...More

1  Thank Mickey_Mowza
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Thank you! It also states on every single menu that we do use frozen chips! See you soon!

Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

This place was not even worth the single star, went into order food and was met with we don't have any cod!! Not sit down were out of cod but have other food available.... Also without any warmth or feeling, just abrupt and basically unfriendly....More

1  Thank Steve C
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Running out of cod is quite stressful to us as it is our main seller so we do try to inform people before they sit down, to avoid the awkwardness of them (mostly) then leaving to find cod elsewhere. If you had read the sign...More

Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

Excellent location, think you are getting fresh fish and chips and then boom it is frozen chips which I could have had in a pub at premium prices this place could have everything going for it although it is Shocking and really bad while we...More

1  Thank cupcake2012_12
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

It states on every single menu, be it take out or sit in, that our chips are frozen in bold black writing. On the take out menu it is actually written Five times! I apologise for you not noticing that. I can assure you that...More

Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Where to start with this place. Not real fish and chips! Ordered mushy peas and got marrowfat peas! When we asked why mushy peas hadn't arrived, the waitress said "we don't sell them, just use your fork and mash them up yourself" This place is...More

2  Thank Edgy1235
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

The cafe is NOT a chippy. It never has been and does not claim to be in the slightest. We just happen to serve fish and chips. The chips are frozen (which is stated on every menu) but the fish is fresh. You may not...More

Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

Bring so close the the Llandudno pier and with the words "Fish & Chips" sprawled across it's front, my family and I were excited and starving ready to experience the ultimate seaside delicacy from Holmes Place. However we were extremely disappointed. As we ordered our...More

3  Thank Hannah C
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

Sorry you did not enjoy your visit. Yes the chips are frozen but definitely not oven cooked as that would take forever! We are not a fish and chip shop, we are just a cafe that happens to serve fish and chips. We are only...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 60 hotels in Llandudno
Wilton Hotel
361 reviews
.01 miles away
Milverton House
518 reviews
.02 miles away
Baytree Hotel
279 reviews
.04 miles away
Lauriston Court Hotel
1,508 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Looking Glass Ice Cream Parlour
635 reviews
.03 miles away
Johnny Dough's Wood-Fired Pizza
607 reviews
.04 miles away
The LC Drink & Dine
143 reviews
.05 miles away
Orient Express Cafe & Restaurant
655 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
3,215 reviews
.07 miles away
Llandudno Pier
3,848 reviews
.07 miles away
Bonkerz Fun Centre
153 reviews
.13 miles away
Llandudno Town Hall
73 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Holmes Place staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Conwy County  >  Llandudno
  • Phone Number: +44 1492 874235
The cafe is located right near the beach and Llandudno pier. We have an ice cream kiosk outside and offer a take out menu (which can be subject to waiting times during busy periods). Our most popular dish is fish and chips, a seaside classic! The staff are a close knit bunch with many of us returning year after year! We are a friendly bunch and there is a real family atmosphere amongst the staff. A few of the staff are even actually related! We have a fantastic health rating of 5 stars and many of our senior staff have a collection of health and safety certificates which can be seen on the wall downstairs. We have plenty of space with 16 tables inside, 3 outside and even space downstairs! There are two kitchens, the fish and chips are cooked separately downstairs. They are that popular we need an extra kitchen to cook them in! The main downfall is that the bathrooms are downstairs but we always offer assistance navigating the stairs or directions to the nearest ground floor bathroom!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing