We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricketers Arms

Berwick Village, Eastbourne BN26 6SP, England
+44 1323 870469
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“salad” (30 reviews)
“pie” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Berwick Village, Eastbourne BN26 6SP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 318 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Father’s Day. Just had the most disgusting meal I have ever had at the cricketers in Berwick. Took forty minutes for the food to arrive and when it did arrive it wasn’t worth the wait. There were no roasts on the menu which is odd...More

Thank Normalpersonage
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a lunch on the Bank Holiday end of May, just as well as pub very popular. Lovely garden toeat out in but the usual problem not all tables had an umbrella to shade from the hot sun. Menu not extensive and the kitchen closed...More

Thank philm803
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for visiting the Cricketers, I’m sure our brewery will supply us with more umbrellas. We stopped food at 2pm to catch up on outstanding tickets but then restarted shortly after.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came for a lunch with my partner and our baby. We ordered hummus for the starter and then crab salad and scampi. After waiting 40min my partner went to the bar and asked for out started. They brought it immediately, but together with our main...More

1  Thank NOM7
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Sorry to read your comments. We try to rectify any issues but haven’t had any other negative comments regarding the homemade hummus. The crabs are extremely popular and we purposely leave them in their natural state as they are so fresh.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I placed my order at the bar which had suddenly become very busy. There was suddenly a long line of people waiting and only one person at the bar. I ordered their burger after debating over their limited menu. I waited patiently and finally after...More

1  Thank mikeyc2605
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we can’t control the volume of people who visit us, that alone speaks volumes for the popularity of the pub. As a listed building we cannot extend our small kitchen and the menu we offer is obviously agreeable with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Pub runs a very unusual system. We booked a table, but when we arrived we had to then queue for 20 minutes to order drinks and food. We were then told we would have to wait for an hour before food would be served....More

1  Thank peterpage
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We have never run table service or given preferential treatment to tables booked in advance. Booking a table is simply securing one and we are still only a pub and not a restaurant. Our problem is that we are so...More

Reviewed May 4, 2018

Great to see a new Chef in the Kitchen and even better that both Chefs seem to be working with each other. It's easy to tell because the food leaving the kitchen has vastly improved during the past few weeks. I'm a fairly regular visitor...More

Thank Iain M
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

Lovely garden and pub in a beautiful setting, but for me the food was very bland Ordered the vegetarian platter - homous was very tasteless, the whole meal was very poor it was supposed to include feta cheese but there wasn’t any on the plate...More

2  Thank Taryn M
Reviewed April 21, 2018

This is surely the archetypal country pub – cosy bars and a garden with plenty of outside seating – and updated to suit a twenty-first-century clientele. That means, in practice, providing an enticing menu with personable and efficient service – which is just what we...More

Thank Listergate
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed April 1, 2018

Expensive and poor quality food, cold and draughty room. I had the sirloin steak which was so tough I couldn't eat it. The peppercorn sauce wasn't great as too many peppercorns which dominated the steak. The chips were tasteless. A very lack lustre menu. The...More

3  Thank ArtemisHunter
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Sorry you were disappointed with your meal, if you had brought the matter to our attention we would have replaced the steak without question. Regarding the menu, we are always introducing new dishes as we move towards the summer season.

Reviewed March 17, 2018

Have been several times previously and food has been lovely. Mother's Day food for 4 people arrived 5 mins after ordering. Veg and chips undercooked. Butterfly chicken shnitzel sounded nice but was like eating cardboard. (Took it home for my dog). I think the food...More

4  Thank mofleckney
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We always do three sittings on Mothers Day and up to this point have not received any negative feedback. If there’s a problem we like to rectify immediately and make sure our customers are happy. Obviously on this occasion you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Eastbourne
The Star at Alfriston
258 reviews
1.33 miles away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
718 reviews
1.50 miles away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
600 reviews
3.52 miles away
The Avondale
102 reviews
4.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Flint Barn Restaurant
79 reviews
.76 miles away
The Berwick Inn
366 reviews
1.00 miles away
Rose Cottage Inn
225 reviews
.84 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Drusillas Park
1,622 reviews
.36 miles away
Alfriston Clergy House
226 reviews
1.39 miles away
The Long Man of Wilmington
64 reviews
1.65 miles away
South Downs Hang Gliding
6 reviews
3.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
singleladyguest
March 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from brown5 | Property representative |
Hi there Being a country pub we are very dog friendly, all we ask is that dogs are kept on a lead. Many thanks
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Berwick Village, Eastbourne BN26 6SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Eastbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 870469
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;