We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
43
26
6
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
43
26
6
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tagliatelle pizza short waiting time service was great take away visited twice food was amazing paceville alla spicy malta joint chef
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 28, 2020

In the middle of Paceville best nightlife plan in Malta. Hugo's pizza and Past is the best choice to enjoy your meal while enjoying the sound of Music in the surroundingMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
seanbD4527RE, General Manager at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Hi FatenA60, thank you so much for being so gracious with your comments and also for your custom. We highly look forward to seeing you again in the near future and if should you ever require any assistance, please don’t hesitate to ask for me....More

Reviewed August 15, 2020

Pizza was very good, toppings tasted fresh. Server was nice and helpful. Yet one big problem eclipsed all the good stuff...poor hygiene. Tables and chairs were not sanitized, not even wiped clean actually. I had to wipe our chairs myself, from the stains of dried...sauce and other accumulated dirt. Staff serving us wore masks, but kitchen staff had masks worn as necklaces or no masks at all. The place needs a good scrubbing and a change of attitude where hygiene is concerned, now more than ever.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
seanbD4527RE, General Manager at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Hi chris227896, thank you so much for your review. At Hugo's Pizza & Pasta We are renowned for our commitment to providing a high level of food & drink and premium service. Thus, we are deeply concerned by such comments and will treat your complaint...More

Reviewed July 20, 2020

I really enjoyed the atmosphere, food and especially the service. All the workers there were really polite and nice to talk to.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
christiancW6304DX, General Manager at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2020

Hi andreagalea16, We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. Regards Venue Manager Christian C

Reviewed March 5, 2020 via mobile

I have visited here several times over the last 3-4 years and on a recent trip visited twice and on first visit was happy however the second visit on a Saturday night was left feeling let down. I had the Tagliatelle Alla Chef and found...it over powered with garlic and just didn’t enjoy it. Given we had a bad experience the previous night at a Valentines meal this left all 4 of the group disillusioned with Hugo’s Group. The Matre Di from previous disaster of a night was running Hugo’s Pizza and Pasta and I cant help but think he was in over his head. The restaurant was half full and we saw several walk ins turned away claiming the restaurant was too busy. We were there for a good hour and half and it never got any busier. There was a table near to us that clearly had friends of staff just sat there drinking and getting attention. Really felt they did not want any extra work so kept turning walk ins away. I guess the best tip is to make sure you book a table. My real gripe is that the menu has not changed in the 3-4 years I have been visiting. Yes it’s all good (see my previous review) but come on guys! Variety is the spice of life and your menu needs refreshing with some new dishes. One final thought, it seems since Hugo has passed on (I had the pleasure of meeting him several times in his various restaurants and Hotels) the attitude behind Hugo’s Group has changed but not in a positive way. Instead of being wowed by Hugo’s on several times this trip we felt unimpressed and generally disappointed. To the point where I don’t feel I want to return to Paceville Malta again in near future. Shame as I have had many a great night there.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
christiancW6304DX, Owner at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2020

Hi NitroNick Thank you for your review.Apologies that you have had bad experience with us here.   We are quite proud of our selection of food and to please all sorts of tastes by offering different variety of food dishes at the same time. Nice to...More

Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

If somewhere is called “Pizza and Pasta” then that what I want - not all this fusion food which made up over half the menu! However, the food I did have was nice - the bruschetta starter is lovely and fresh and easily for 2...people! My prawn risotto was lovely, full of prawns and again tasted very fresh. My wife had the bolognaise - shame it wasn’t served with spaghetti but some other tubed pasta instead - again, we just wanted simple Italian! Probably wouldn’t return as other nearby restaurants serve more authentic Italian food.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
christiancW6304DX, Owner at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2020

Hi Tony Rogerson Thank you for your time in giving us a review, it's much appreciated. Glad to know your visit with us went well in general and sorry to hear that not all the food was up to your liking although we do know...More

Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

I had the prawn risotto. It was solidified rice with prawns in the top that looked like a bizzare claw like arrangement. 2 of us had starters so they brought those at the same as the other twos mains... terrible service, terrible food. Awful.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
christiancW6304DX, Owner at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020

Hello Andrea S Thank you for your feedback. Firstly, I am very sorry that you have had such a negative experience with us. However, I shall say that we take reviews very seriously here at Hugo`s Pizza Pasta and really value your message. We try...More

Reviewed January 28, 2020 via mobile

We had dinner and drinks in this restaurant which to begin with was great, the wine was good, food was amazing (even though a friend asked for no truffle in her pasta- okay he forgot but it’s okay!! Mistakes happen!) and to start, the service...was good. When it came to paying was the issue. We wanted to split the bill (which surely a lot of people do here) and we’d worked out how much each to even make it easier (which a lot of people don’t do). We asked to split the bill and the waiter make a big deal out of it. Stormed over to the bar, slammed the card machine down and got his colleague to take the payment. I asked her what the problem was. She said because it was”busy” (6 tables, 2 people working.. not overly busy in my opinion) it was an effort to split the bill. We planned on going again because of the food but were shocked on the service. It should never be an issue for people to split the bill, it happens, and if you were nicer about it you may have even got a nice tip it’s a shame the great food was ruined by the waiter who had a strop over a split bill.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Christian C, General Manager at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2020

Hello Hwallissaus Thank you for your feedback. Firstly, I am very sorry that you have had such a negative experience with us. However, I shall say that we take reviews very seriously here at Hugo`s Pizza Pasta and really value your message.I will personal closely...More

Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

We took a take away as we were in a hotel close by so this was our option for a quick snack Luckily not busy so we only waited 10 minutes.... We has bacon avo feta and all was great .. A must try.. Enjoy......More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Christian C, General Manager at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2020

Dear RichardW5702 Thanks for visiting Hugo`s Pub and finding time to leave us a review.It makes our day to hear that your visit was a memorable one! Great to hear that our Management team have been good hosts and that you've enjoyed the food. Look...More

Reviewed November 23, 2019

Hugo bought a run down bar in Malta in 80's ad since bought a few places and turned them in lovely eateries. Would recommend the Pizza and Pasta joint as food and service was great and good value for money

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Christian C, General Manager at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2020

HI ZippyLongStokings Thanks for visiting Hugo`s Pub and finding time to leave us a review.Glad that overall your experience here was a good one. Hope to see you back again soon Regards Christian C

Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

Apart from not having all the ingredients mentioned on the menu. The Luke's pizza is bland and highly overly priced. I highly do not suggest it as Malta has an endless variety of pizza's places with cheaper price.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Christian C, General Manager at Hugo's Pizza & Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Hi Foodcookinglovetaste, Many thanks for the review and firstly apologies. I am sorry to hear that it was not up to our usual standards as it has been a real focus on price and quality. That is by no means our usual standard and will...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hugo's Boutique Hotel
434 reviews
.01 miles away
H Hotel
91 reviews
.02 miles away
Gorgianis Hotel
101 reviews
.02 miles away
Holiday Inn Express - Malta
342 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Storie & Sapori
1,889 reviews
.04 miles away
Waterbiscuit
1,044 reviews
.05 miles away
eeetwell
288 reviews
.05 miles away
Hard Rock Cafe
3,444 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Casino Malta by Olympic Casino
176 reviews
.04 miles away
St. George's Bay
1,391 reviews
.10 miles away
Paceville
2,568 reviews
.02 miles away
Bay Street Shopping Centre
278 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hugo's Pizza & Pasta staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing