We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ice Cave Bistro

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
36
21
22
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
36
21
22
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb soup hamburger soups bread glacier lagoon type place large restaurant rest stop south coast the black sand beach cafeteria style quick stop quick dinner nice view tasty food tour buses quick service
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would I call it a bistro? No. This isn't even really what you'd think of as a restaurant. This is an extremely casual type place on the side of the road. Think of it as a highway rest stop, but the food is actually pretty...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Smacpats
Reviewed July 2, 2019

More interesting fare than regular tourist oriented spots in Vik. Decent beer selection. Ambience is OK with good window views.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Kukulcandve
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Fast and friendly service. Very tasty food. Interior pleasing to the eye. Wonderful neighborhood!!!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Hanna Ł
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

The bar food was trash. BBQ chicken was cold. Noodles were far from fried. Rice was undercooked. Vegetarian Salad was “bland” to say the least...also watery. Utter disappointment. 0/10 WOULD NOT RECOMMEND. GO NEXT DOOR AND GET A HOT DOG THOSE ARE 10/10

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank L6363BUjacobb
Reviewed June 24, 2019

Went in for a quick lunch. Soup of the day (sweet potato, ISK 1500) was good. Fried noodles with vegetables and egg (ISK 1450) consisted of almost cold noodles, peppers, onions, very little courgette and - no egg. I asked for some egg, after a...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Frank M
Reviewed June 23, 2019

This is like a cafeteria! The food was very good and large portions! Would recommend it! I got the fish and it came with rice and salad. Excellent.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank boymomdfw
Reviewed June 16, 2019

The sandwich I had was decent the pastry was supposed to be cheese filled but there was little to none to be found. Not the best place ive eaten while travelling but Vik is rather small and your choices are rather limited. If you're in...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank DonC3735
IwonaZ635, Owner at Ice Cave Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and other travelers on TripAdvisor. I have noted your comment about the pastry and I will personally follow up on this matter and perform a quality check of this product to ensure we offer only products...More

Reviewed June 13, 2019

Had expected better food based on feedback, but new, nice and clean place. The other food might have been better but the fish & chips can be found better in many of the street food cars for around icelandMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank HGMADSEN
IwonaZ635, Owner at Ice Cave Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Thank you for your visit and for posting your valuable feedback of your recent experience. While we regret to hear about your dissatisfaction, we highly appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and we thank you for your transparency and support in helping us...More

Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

We ate here after our ice cave tour. It is in a complex with a grocery, outdoor store and wool shop. There are plenty of public restrooms. The food was good. My party had broiled charr, a hamburger and lamb stew. Get the stew it...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 383dj
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

We had burgers and they were overcooked and almost nothing on them. Some at the table had chicken curry and the lamb meat soup- both had a very small amount of meat. We were not happy with our meal and how much we spent on...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Eva Lind S
IwonaZ635, Owner at Ice Cave Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Your opinion and feelings are of course valid, although your comments are not comments that we receive often. We are saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your visit at our bistro. We strive to serve...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
547 reviews
.16 miles away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
1,267 reviews
.16 miles away
Hotel Kria
382 reviews
.21 miles away
Puffin Hotel Vik
223 reviews
.42 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
Smidjan Brugghus
344 reviews
.33 miles away
The Soup Company
354 reviews
.33 miles away
Sudur Vik
1,542 reviews
.47 miles away
Halldorskaffi
1,378 reviews
.43 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 28 nearby attractions
Black Sand Beach
3,798 reviews
.32 miles away
Voyages Friendship Statue
22 reviews
.06 miles away
Vik Swimming Pool
16 reviews
.27 miles away
Katlatrack Adventure Tours
386 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ice Cave Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing