We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Cafe, European, Scandinavian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
73
31
10
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
73
31
10
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger macaroons pastry salad favorite coffee hot chocolate beer salty
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today via mobile

nice interior, coffee and sandwiches very good but expensive. Sticky tables, service unfriendly and careless. Computer use limited to a few places. There are friendlier alternatives in Reykjavik.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've lived in Vesturbær for a few years and visited this only cafe available in the evenings. Nice decor and place, but the staff is rolling-their-eyes grumpy. I'm a pretty polite person usually but it's getting to me. How about hiring helpful staff? Or at...least seemingly nice persons? Example from this evening: Me: id like a beer thank you. Staff: But there are only two minutes left of the opening time. Me: But then you are still open to sell a beer? Staff: puts up an offended face. Having been busily cleaning tables to get off work asap for half an hour. Me: So I'm not buying anything. Which i recommend, really. These types of conversations have happened soooo often at Vest. Go downtown! Happily!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place looks really nice and has good variety of coffee and food, well, when the food you want is actually available. I've been there before 9 in the morning and the breakfast was all out, and no apology from the staff. Unfortunately the staff...in general don't have any hospitaly and this has been going on for years, if the service was improved I would give it 5 stars!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 9, 2022 via mobile

The hot chocolate was really good, it came in a mug, the cruller was good, there are many desserts, like cake slices, macarons, soft cookies, Sara, a type of pastry, There is whole list full of coffee types! (That includes tea and water) And the...chips came in a bowl, the chips where perfectly salted, theres also lots of sauce, enough to finish all the chips. You seriously need to try the food here, It was amazing, this is my 2nd time visiting this cafe here in vesturbær! I was full after all this good food! (The Sara tasted kind of butter-y, still tasted good though.)More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 4, 2021 via mobile

The menu looks good but when we tried to order it turned out half of it was not available. Ended up ordering the burger which was a great disappoinent. Not recommemded.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 22, 2021

We visited for breakfast and had two omeletes with salad, both delcious. The staff were really helfpul with translating the menu, and pointed out a promotion running that day which meant we got our coffees for free. It's a great space and there are a...lot of locals there.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 17, 2021

I discovered the place last week and I have been there now several times. It has a great atmosphere with very friendly staff. The food I had eaten was always great. Love their marzipan cookies. So if you went out of the pool next door...don't hesitate to go there.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 15, 2021 via mobile

I live in the neighborhood and have visited Kaffi Vest a handful of times. The interior is this perfect shabby-chic — which many of my favorite coffee shops have in common — and the food is always fairly decent. This should be a recipe for...a cozy, regular hangout. But enter poor service and poor quality coffee — both equal measures of bitter. The espresso is borderline drinkable, too acidic, lacks crema (sometimes happens when espresso machines aren’t cleaned regularly) and the staff ranges from annoyed to hostile. Today I was literally snapped at by a barista when asking if a seat was available. I finished what I ordered and left uncomfortably. From now on I’m directing my business to great places who are doing this right: Mikki Refur, Kaktus Kaffi and Reykjavik Roasters.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 22, 2020

Without any doubt, this place has nice decor. It also has easy parking nearby. The coffee was OK, but nothing remarkable. However, their service is genuinely awful, practically hostile. I watched two people walk out because the till guy was chatting to his friend for...ages, with a queue of seven people (well, then six, then five - as people walked out) gradually bunching up behind. So much for COVID safe. You can see from my photo that social distancing wasn't possible because the tables don't leave enough space for people to queue and maintain 2m from diners. Only one other person was sat at a table in there. I went to sit on the other side of the cafe, to keep a COVID safe distance. The staff then told me to move next to the other person who was sat there. That space was also less than 1m from the take out queue, so they deliberately ensured I couldn't socially distance. I accept they were probably more incompetent and thoughtless rather than intentionally putting me at risk, but the result was identical. I tried to point this out, but the staff member wasn't listening and told me, "that if I did it, everybody would be at it". Somewhat oddly, I was told breakfast starts at 1130; perhaps they meant brunch? As I sat there, two niche British Comedies came to my mind. The first was Fawlty Towers; the second was Little Britain. I strongly recommend going elsewhere.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2020

During my stay in Reykjavik in July I vistited my local cafe and without disappointment I have to say. The food, drink and atmosphere was perfect after a swim in the local pool. SErivce was personal and great. Some renovations have been made that I...love. Thanks!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 23, 2020

Waited for half an hour. There seemed to be no restrictions on number of people due to covid, except for the lack off staff which was then rude when I asked for a refundMore

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GisliB4, Owner at Kaffihus Vesturbaejar, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that Brian! Can I ask when you were at our place and what you were waiting for so we can put things right? There certainly are restrictions on the number of people at our place now. Max 20 people....More

Reviewed April 19, 2020

Coffee and cakes are good and interior looks nice. They should rethink their working ethics. There were way over 20 people in Covid - 19 gathering ban. Staff/owners showed an unfriendly attitude. They seem to only care about making money...More

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GisliB4, Owner at Kaffihus Vesturbaejar, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2020

Hello Ósk. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This small bistro is a community project and very much not about making money. The owners and operators all live within 2 minutes walking distance from this place, we all volunteer there and the...More

Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

Excellent lamb shanks with roasted vegetables including beetroot which I love. Good burgers for the kids. Slight delay with my lamb which was absolutely no problem as my nice red wine was kept topped up until & after it arrived.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

This charming bakery and restaurant was 3 blocks from our hotel. fantastic cappucino! People started arriving by bicycle at opening 0800 am!

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Good place for breakfast, but they need more consistency in how they present the food! Very good chia pudding!

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Hilda
249 reviews
.57 miles away
Grandi by Center Hotels
222 reviews
.61 miles away
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
2,389 reviews
.61 miles away
Blue Arctic Hotel Sudurgata
5 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fish&Co
297 reviews
.62 miles away
Forrettabarinn
1,460 reviews
.65 miles away
Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
3,623 reviews
.63 miles away
Tapas Barinn
1,955 reviews
.65 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Art Travel - Day Tours
27 reviews
.45 miles away
The Settlement Exhibition
3,051 reviews
.61 miles away
National Museum of Iceland
3,868 reviews
.43 miles away
Cemetery Holavallagardur
208 reviews
.47 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kaffihus Vesturbaejar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kaffihus Vesturbaejar

Yes, Kaffihus Vesturbaejar offers takeout services.

Kaffihus Vesturbaejar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4