We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$2 - $6
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Mioborg
0.2 miles from Hallgrimskirkja
Improve this listing
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
113
13
7
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
113
13
7
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak grilled romaine baked potato truffle french fries small potatoes my favorite restaurant amazing food cooked to perfection sides medium snickers tender desert laugavegur
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Ordered from a very limited, almost laughable “steak” menu. Starters arrived with lightning speed and our wine hadn’t arrived so we waited to begin. A fair amount of time passed, trying to catch a waiter’s attention from the ‘gaggle of waiters’ congregated around the kitchen...area. No one came, so my partner got up and we asked for our wine, again. We got an apology and began our starter. As soon as my knife and fork hits the plate upon finishing my starter the main courses we beside us! They couldn’t put the plates down as our starter plates were in the way! We complained at this point and asked to speak to the manager, which they attempted to avert by offering us a free drink. We had barely had any of our wine! After the manager arrived we complained to him, to which he just nodded and smiled and although he offered to cook the meal again for us, the poor experience along with the prices they charge forced our hand into leaving. I decided to give him one last chance and ask how he might resolve this terrible experience, he replied ‘Well how would you resolve this Sir”. I smiled and answered “by getting up and leaving. We are not paying for this meal. Shame really, as it was my birthday. This is the first time we’ve ever walked out of a restaurant, in our lives. Weirdly there were two quite well dressed gentleman sitting diagonally behind us that were there before we had arrived. Their places were set but they weren’t eating or drinking and considering how ridiculously quickly our food arrived, it’s our belief they were just ‘there’. Watching us intensely from the moment we sat down down, we found this quite intimidating and uncomfortable. Avoid.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2022 via mobile

Apparently the whole staff walked out in July. So the staff now is a different one, and the food too. You can't access their menu anywhere anymore on the internet. Their menu design on site is so lousy made that it is almost funny. The...worst designed menu I have seen in my life. They have stopped all the offers so now you always have to pay top price which is just too high. Also the music is ridiculous loud for a restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RVK Meat by Maison, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

Hello and thank you for your feedback. Your facts are a little off but ok. The staff is different and the food too indeed, due to new ownership which is a perfectly normal occurence anywhere in the world. If someone new buys a place, it's...More

Reviewed November 11, 2022 via mobile

We are a group of 7 visiting from NY. We arrived early but we were accommodated. I can say we were very disorganized as to what food or drinks to order but our server, Rodrigo, was very patient. We confused him so much but he...got all our orders right. Him, the other staff, and the manager who approved a modification of the 3 course tasting menu were awesome! The lamb, rib eye, & beef were delicious! Btw, the coffee is one of the best we had. Definitely will recommend this place. Hope to be back soon! More power to this great place!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reykjavík Meat, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2022

Thank you so much for your support guys! Warm regards, RVK Meat by Maison

Reviewed November 2, 2022 via mobile

I went to Reykjavík Meat tonight and had great food and excellent service in a good atmosphere. I am already looking forward to go again soon.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 22, 2022 via mobile

Had a fantastic night with friends amazing food great atmosphere and the staff very friendly. Made the night perfect for us i am coming back for sure. So close to the main shopping road Laugavegur.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reykjavík Meat, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2022

Thank you so much! Best regards, RVK Meat by Maison

Reviewed September 11, 2022

I visited this restaurant a while ago and was very happy. This time it was quite the opposite. From the first moment, we got the feeling we were in the way of the waitress. She never came to our table without us calling for her...and when she came she was very passive. The food was only fairly good. It said on the menu that the meet was dry-aged. I doubt that very much. The only good thing about that evening, was, when her shift ended and the restaurant manager took over the tableMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reykjavík M, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to do a better job next time you visit. Takk

Reviewed September 4, 2022 via mobile

We got recommended this place by our tour guide and we’re glad we took his advice. My husband got the beef tenderloin and really loved it! Out waiter Sol was an absolute gem as well, nothing but excellent service. Will definitely recommend this place to...friends traveling to Iceland!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reykjavík Meat, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2022

Thank you so much for your support! Best regards, RVK Meat by Maison

Reviewed August 30, 2022

stopped in for an early sunday night dinner. approx 1815 hrs. the atmosphere was great. the seating ample. and it smelled great. the initial greeting by our waitress and initial service was very timely. we were the 3rd to be seated. we wanted to embrace...the atmosphere, very pleasant. during the next 45 minutes, the venue filled to about 13 tables. and appropriately, our service diminished. i was never offered another glass of wine. my spouse had to stop the waitress for an additional drink and by this time i was done. the "piss O'meter" began. at one point, we sat for over 20 minutes with no bread or drink. other tables were getting food before us. nobody stopped by for service. 4 other tables received their food before us. these other tables came in after us. did i mention, there was only 1 waiter and 1 waitress, and 1 bus help. the Portuguese waiter saw the disgust on my face and without hesitation as he walked by, exclaimed "you are next". after two more tables, dings, from the kitchen, we were served. The presentation was fantastic. our cuts of meat were all over the place for a med. filet and med. rare rib eye. my wifes' filet was very rare. my rib eye was more medium. only 1 cut piece at med.rare (here they cut your ribeye prior to service) the fancy potatoes were very hot and tasty. the green beans had good color and cooked to just a light crisp snap. after delivery of the food, no one came to our table again to follow up on our satisfaction. disappointing to my experiences. we did enjoy the meat. my rib eye was very tasty and over the top with the added mushrooms and pepper sauce. good job here! i had 2 pieces of fat, i could not chew down to even consume. you can see the fat in the pics below. about 20 minutes later we were finished. the bus help pulled our plates. we waited for a follow service up but no one came. i stopped the waiter as he rushed by and asked for the check. he said just a moment. he had to perform 2 birthday celebrations before he could assist us. about 10 minutes later i got up to leave. i stopped at the front door for one last chance to pay the bill. the waiter noticed i was standing there. he only apologized for the wait. he did not ask anything about the food. he rang up the bill and i paid. in the states i would have been more boisterous of my complaints. I have never wanted to walk out of a restaurant with out paying before this evening. i feel better that i paid. I was in another country and did not want to cause conflict. just a little bitter! we left at 1945 hours.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reykjavík Meat, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2022

Sorry about your experience. We hope we get another chance in the future. Best regards, RVK Meat by Maison

Reviewed August 21, 2022

My girlfrined and I wanted a nice meal in Reyjavik and I love lamb. She does not eat meat, but loves fish. So, we dined there this August (2022) and had a superb meal. The waitstaff was great and super friendly. They even helped us...decide how to plan our Golden Circle route. The food was deliciious. My lamb and her salmon were cooked to perfection. Drinks were excellent and the additonal appetizers and sides were all top notch. We definitely recommend Meat.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RVK Meat by Maison, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

Thank you so much for your feedback! We love compliments on our fish. Best regards, RVK Meat by Maison

Reviewed August 15, 2022

We had dinner there last night. First, it's extremely dark. Second, I did not like the music, perhaps young people would like it, but most customers were over 40. Third, the lamb did not taste lamb: the marinade was too strong, so strong that I...wondered whether the meat was of good quality. Further, it was very salty, and overcooked. How could it taste lamb? The french fries were extremely salty too. Avoid that restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RVK Meat by Maison, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

Hello Jean Pierre. Lights and music are part of our strategy and are part of the experience, little we can do for those not pleased with our approach, but fair enough. The lamb is always icelandic and changes everyweek, sorry you didn't like the marinade....More

Reviewed August 6, 2022 via mobile

Everything about our visit was phenomenal from the service to the food & drinks. I got the 3 course meal (beef capriccio, beef tenderloin, snickers caramel ice cream dessert). It was all so delicious. My husband also got the tenderloin with a side of deluxe...potatoes, which were also delicious! Rahul was our server and he was so kind and professional! Would highly recommend this place!!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reykjavík M, Owner at Reykjavik Meat, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2022

Thank you so much for your comment! Best Regards, The Staff at RVK Meat!

Reviewed August 5, 2022 via mobile

Nice quality meat and friendly staff, but the food was really over salted and that’s all you could taste! Good wine and drink options. Expensive - even by Reykjavík standards - and wasn’t really worth it.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 15, 2022

Been a huge fan for years of this restaurant, ate there and had enjoyable times with friends and family. Haven't been here since christmas time but went tonight and I can see the restaurant is spirallin towards a disaster. Every curtain was drawn away and...every light was turned all the way up. The atmosphere was different but the staff was nice. We enjoyed good deluxe steaks and the side dishes also. But still it felt so cold sitting there in this brightness. But after a good dinner I needed to go to the toilets. When I walked in to the toilet area the smell of piss burned my eyes. I decided that me and my wife should leave the place, and go somewhere else for final drinks and use some other lavatories.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 11, 2022

High expectations. Recommended by a friend from Reykjavik. Overcrowded. We had pre-booked a table but had to wait 20 mins. Small portions. Lamb not as all as tasty as expected. Red wine almost as warm as a cup of coffee! The waitress did her best...and was very nice, but unfortunately the food and wine were not as expected.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 21, 2022

I was hungry after visiting this place. Everything is too small. Small meal. Unsatisfying. If they made it 3 times bigger, I'd think it's cool.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
2,484 reviews
.02 miles away
Vintage Hotel Apartments
501 reviews
.03 miles away
Sand Hotel
804 reviews
.06 miles away
Hotel Von
51 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Braud & Co
2,481 reviews
.09 miles away
Svarta Kaffid
3,359 reviews
.07 miles away
Sandholt Reykjavik
2,279 reviews
.04 miles away
Austur-Indiafjelagid
547 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Laugavegur
2,794 reviews
.05 miles away
Art Gallery 101
14 reviews
.03 miles away
Ob.la.di Ob.la.da
5 reviews
.00 miles away
Myconceptstore
10 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Reykjavik Meat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

REYKJAVIK MEAT - Mioborg - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Reykjavik Meat

Reykjavik Meat is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4