Nailed It Fish And Chips
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$9.00 – $25.00
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast Food
Meals
Lunch
features
Does this restaurant offer outdoor seating?
About
Nailed It fish and chips is a nice little takeaway Food Truck located at the beautiful town named Höfn. Our address is: Hafnarbraut 34 were we have indoor seating. Nailed It was located at Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon but from now on, we solely operate from Höfn. Nailed It is owned and operated by a local Icelander, a former fisherman, from the town of Höfn. The fish we serve is also local, sustainably caught and produced by one of Icelands most advanced fish producers located at Höfn. Our dish is cooked to order to bring you your fish and chips as fresh as possible.
PRICE RANGE
$9.00 – $25.00
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast Food
Meals
Lunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Family style
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles164 reviews
Excellent
149
Very good
11
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
1
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

geotech522
5312 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019 none
There were not too many places to eat at the Jokulsarion Glacier parking lot and we were running late for our ice cave tour, so we had absolutely no expectations that we would be having any great food to eat. We saw a bit of a line at the Nailed It Fish and Chips food truck and it seemed we didn't have much choice, so we ordered Fish and Chips. Wow, were we blown away. The owner was very nice and the fish and chips were the most tasty we had in Iceland. The chips (fries) were also excellent. The price is not outrageous (for Iceland standards). Advice from the owner: if you pay with credit card, pay in Icelandic Kroner and not USD; you will save a little money.
Written January 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nailed_It_FishnChips
Thank you, thank you, thank you...!!! I am stunned by your awesome review on us and at the same time, very glad to see that your experience with us here at Jökulsárlón was so good. I sure hope to see you again. All my best to you, Karl.
Written February 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Malgorzata
12086 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 none
This was the best meal we’ve had in southern Iceland. The batter is amazingly crispy and the fish is so tasty. It is also very well priced for Iceland and is convenient when you visit a glacial lagoon and a diamond beach. Highly recommendable and the perfect food to relax after visiting the Jokulsarlon. It is so good.
Written April 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karlj_hanng
Thank you dearly for your very kind words and for taking the time to write your review on Nailed It. I truly appreciate that, Karl.
Written July 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JoninaMaria
Reykjavik107 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
Stopped at Jökulsárlón and after a walk, we were feeling hungry. Bought fish and chips and expected nothing special. It turned out to be one of the best Fish and Chips we have had. The fish was so fresh and precisely cooked and the fries also just right. To be recommended.
Written July 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karlj_hanng
Hi JoninaMaria. Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad you liked my fish and chips. You know where to fins me now and may you be welcome any day. My very best to you, Karl.
Written July 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SDReviewed
134 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 none
We came in the quiet season and ordered fish and chips. We were not pleased others were served before us, it's rude. Yes they may be larger groups but I'm not sure why you said you did in order but that wasn't the case since it isn't busy we can see what is going on. My husband even had to show the receipt too to prove we had ordered, so make sure you get a receipt because you are in for a long wait for fish and chips! We have had loads of fish and chips in Iceland the UK this is the longest I've ever waited, I think there were about 10 people who had ordered so not a big amount to cook by any stretch. It was nice but just disappointing how long it took and how rude they were it ruined it.
Written May 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Jóhann G
Hello. Firstly I would like to apologize for not replying sooner, I don't seem to get notices from Tripadvisor about new reviews any more, I have to check the settings? I am truly sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with us here at Nailed It. We try our best to serve every customer of ours in the same manner and try and make everything work as smooth as possible. I am not going to try and make any excuses to why you had to wait for too long for your food and if we came out rude to you. The thing is however, we all are human and mistakes can easily be made. Even when you see only 10 people around our stand and it doesn't look busy, there may be some things going on in the back that are not visible to you as a customer, that may slow things down. I can assure you that if I am cooking for only 10 customers, the longest waiting time is maybe 12 minutes so if the waiting time was any longer than that, we surely had some kind of problems with the fryers or some kind of a mistake was made? For mistakes I apologize, for mechanical problems I will not. Nailed It is a one man operation and as such, things can easily become interesting, especially when busy and things can get washed... Everyone will get a receipt for their business with us and I write your names on my ticket with your order on it, to be able to call out your name when order is ready. Sometimes these tickets get mixed around in the ticket queue or people don't hear when their name is called out my window. Everything else aside, I am truly happy to receive your input and get to know your experience with us at Nailed It, then I can work on improving things at my company. The fact that you took the time to write your thoughts and share with us, I sincerely appreciate. Apparently you liked my fish and chips and I can only hope that you will want to visit us again in the future? May only good things find your way. Sincerely, Karl.
Written May 26, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LHA
Vancouver51 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 none
I tried a few fish and chips places in Iceland and this one was our favourite. For some reason, the tendency was to batter the fish in a 'chicken nugget style' type of batter at most places. This was the only place that we tried that battered it 'UK- style', the way that we are used to eating it. The fish was delicious and moist and flaky. The batter was light and airy and crispy. The fish was battered fresh right before frying. The person who served us was taking the order, money, and also making the food. Appreciate you :) thanks for the good food. The only con was the portion size. One piece of fish and chips for about 2000 ISK. Typical Icelandic price, but I got a lot more fish at those other places in Iceland that I tried. I guess that's what I get for buying fish and chips in Jokulsarlon (touristy AF).
Written June 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Jóhann G
Hi there. I highly appreciate your review on Nailed It, my lovely little food truck, and my fish and chips. The person serving you when you visited us is a really hard working guy and he puts his heart into his work. Many thanks for your very nice comment on him and his work. It makes me very happy to see that you liked my fish and chips. It is very different from fish and chips fryers in Iceland. My batter is my own recipe, based on my late fathers recipe and it is Icelandic from scratch. Glad you liked it. I am bit disappointed to see that you experienced Jökulsárlón and my food truck as touristy AF, sincerely I am. All of us working at the companies at Jökulsárlón try our best to make our visitors experience as positive as possible. My portion size is more than competitive to all the other places that offer fish and chips, believe you me, I surely checked and I want people to get a decent meal for a reasonable price. For simplicity I serve only one piece per regular portion because when operating with only one staff, more pieces a portion take more handling time and the fryers have to be a lot larger for making that possible. There is a good reason for things being like they are at Nailed It but I am not going to explain that here. Feel free to give me a call about that if you like? I hope you understand? A regular portion at Nailed It is very close to weighing a pound of food. The thing is with prices here in Iceland these days, our food has to cost but if you think about it, my price hasn't changed a bit for quite a while and is a lot lower than even the restaurants and food trucks around the country. That is something that is not be expected at a food truck in the middle of nowhere. Hopefully you appreciate my explanation of things? The bottom line is that I am happy about your review and I appreciate you taking the time write your thoughts. Please be welcome back any time. Sincerely, Karl.
Written July 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tammy
Red Bank57 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 family
After seeing the long line and the great reviews we decided we needed to see what the fish and chips did truck was all about. It was a long wait but worth it. My husband waited down at the lagoon and my son and daughter waited with me to order the food. It really is a one man operation with the same nice man taking your order as cooking the food and calling out your name when it is ready. perhaps not so efficient but I imagine there is a good reason for it to run this way and we were on vacation and not in a rush! When it was ready we ate down at the lagoon sitting on a bench watching the amazing water and seals.
Written June 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Jóhann G
Hi Tammy. Please accept my apologies for a late reply? Thank you dearly for your high five and your kind words. I am so glad to see that you all liked my fish and chips. You know it, there is a reason for this being a one man operation at the moment. It is what it is and I try and do my best to accommodate my customers and hope that people are happy with what they get at Nailed It? May you always have the finest of days. Sincerely, Karl.
Written July 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Corina Y
Singapore3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 none
After our trip to the ice cave, we order Nailed it Fish & Chips for lunch. The fish was delicious, crispy and perfectly done. The chips were also very tasty. Karl was very patient and cheerful, and he offered great customer service as well. We bumped into him at a petrol station in Hofn the next day,, and we were so pleasantly surprised that he recognised my husband and even remembered his name (a Chinese surname) despite it being a day after and all the customers he had served over the 2 days. Such good memory! We were inspired to try fish and chips at various restaurants/cafes as we drove along the ring road, but Karl's Nailed It Fish & Chips was still the best we had. We wished we had another chance to have our lunch at Nailed it, but it was no longer along our journey. The next time we are in Iceland, we will certainly have Nailed it Fish & Chips again. Highly recommended!
Written November 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kiks
Los Angeles40 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 friends
OMG!! Eating here was a last minute thought after spending the afternoon strolling diamond beach and watching glacier ice float & break in the lagoon. Best decision I’ve made in Iceland!! The fish is so fresh, tender, flavorful and flaky!! The batter crisp and light, the French Fries crispy & hot with your choice of regular salt or magic dust. Go for the magic dust!! I’ve eaten fish & chips in England, Scotland, Malibu, Seattle and this was by far the BEST Fish & Chips I’ve ever had!! Don’t miss this!! Amazing!!
Written June 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Jóhann G
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I deeply appreciate it. It sure was fun meeting you and your friends at Jökulsárlón. My best to you, Karl.
Written June 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sofia
Reykjavik84 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 family
Today we have arrived Jökulsárlón in beautiful Weather and have tried out one of the best fish and chips in the world. Crispy outside, juicy and tender tasty fresh fish inside. Highly recommended!
Written July 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karlj_hanng
Hi Sofia. Well you said it... the fish is good :-) I am happy that you liked my fish so well but I hope you will also find some outstanding fish and chips closer to your home? My best to you, Karl.
Written July 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gabriela B
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
I traveled to Iceland with my boyfriend in October 2019 (couldn't input the correct date, it was too long ago). Rivaled by the amazing landscapes and the fabulous time we had exploring, I still think the fish and chips at this place was the best part of our trip! We had it the first time by accident, we were just looking for a place to eat. IT WAS THE MOST AMAZING SURPRISE. So so so completely delicious and fresh. We traveled back a few days later (8hr commute total) just to experience this food again. The second time was just as great. Safe to say, a year and half later I still think about this place late at night lol. My boyfriend and I still talk about this place often and decided to look it up. Im not surprised with all the amazing reviews. The second time we came around the owner recognized us, it was the sweetest thing. He even let us take a picture with him, 'cause we were fawning over his food and trying to take pictures with his truck. We already knew this was a place we wanted to remember. He was so sweet and so excited we traveled so far just to have his food again. Let me tell ya', what an amazing experience. Hope we get to go back to him someday!
Written May 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Jóhann G
Aaahhhh... there you are...! Hi...! It is interesting and kind of surprising to hear from you now because I was just talking about you the other day to a friend of mine about you driving all this way for your fish and chips. I am not sure he believed me, I almost didn't myself, but hey... here you are...! Unforgettable. Thank you oh so much for your very very generous and kind words. I am happy and grateful for your review and to see that your Icelandic experience was this great. Hopefully you will be able to make it back and see and experience some more nice things and places in Iceland? If you come back, make sure to tap on my shoulder as a reminder, I might be busy when you come, it will be fun to see you again :-) Things have been very quiet here at Jökulsárlón since August 2020 because of something... but we are optimistic about this summer and hoping to see lots of people visiting our beautiful area. There are a few nice places to grab a bite but you know where to get one of the best fish and chips around ;-) My best to you both and thank you again, Karl.
Written May 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tom J
London1698 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 couples
This little fish and chip van is located at jokulsarlon glacial lagoon just near the main car park. The fish was very fresh and coated in a lovely batter. The chips were thin and crispy and you can choose the sauce that you would like and add some magic salt which is great. Prices do seem to have increased slightly each portion cost 2,500isk each but it is worth it and it’s located at a main attraction. Seating is limited so may be tricky to find a seat people are more than happy to share a bench though. It’s open from about 11am til around 4pm currently. Worth a visit if your in the area
Written August 4, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Spencer W
Carmel55 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 couples
My Trip Advisor research led me here, as there are very few options for a mid-day meal if seeing Jokulsarlon as a day trip from Vik. Not to worry, Nailed It Fish and Chips was really delicious. The guys running the food truck were happily serving people and are true entrepreneurs that know how to provide a tasty lunch. Highly recommended.
Written July 22, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Derek
Broadstairs1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 family
These fish and chips are honestly some of the best I have ever tasted! And as I have English background that is saying something. The surrounding of the lake is great but of course a cold experience , so nothing better to round it off with some hot fish and chips. Great batter, not greasy, chips just right. Very friendly cook or better said host! Felt myself very welcomed.
Written August 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Jóhann G
Hi. Thank you so very much for your generous review and kind words to me. I am happy to see that you felt welcomed at my stand. As you may have seen when you came, it can be very busy at the stand and I don't always have the time I would like to attend better to you and my other customers. But all those short moments and discussions we get to have, really make my day and hopefully yours too? My so very simple presentation of my fish and chips basket is what it is but it sure tastes good. I really enjoy seeing you and all the other happy people having a nice snack at Jökulsárlón, such a wonderful place. It must be good experience for you to come and visit us here and hopefully my fish and chips add somewhat positiveness to it? My best to you and I hope good things come your way? Karl.
Written August 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jay Rice
Boston134 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 none
Stumbled upon this food truck and did not have high hopes at $15 USD/each. Let me tell you - the fried fish is incredible! The chips are slightly above average, nothing to write home about - it's the fried cod that is amazing and I have a place on Cape Cod so I know a good fish and chips. Just try it. So good.
Written November 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Jóhann G
Hi Jay. Thank you very much for your high five...! I think I remember our chat at the food truck? Talking about lobster I believe? Anyway, I truly appreciate you writing these lines, very welcomed. My best to you at Cape Cod. May I ask you to send me an e-mail or a pm on FB with information about your place? I would like to visit when I make my trip to the US. See'ya, Karl.
Written December 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SDJA
San Francisco144 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 family
Can’t really go wrong when the fresh cod in Iceland is so good. I am assuming that the fish was cod. Fish was excellent. Batter was very good too. Not too much. Not too little. Good flavor. Fries were good too. We felt it was the best dish for the price you can get within a 30 km radius of Glacier Lagoon in Jokuksarlon. The entrees at Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon are also excellent, but the food is 3X the price and not open for lunch (at least not in the winter). Otherwise, you’ll have to drive to Hofn or Vik. The other two food trucks are (crepes and langoustine) also good. But we thought this was the best of the three.
Written January 13, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 134
Best nearby
We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

NAILED IT FISH AND CHIPS, Hofn - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars