We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$19 - $42
CUISINES
European, Scandinavian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
71
71
23
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
71
71
23
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ravioli steak small point excellent restaurant main dish nice ambience traditional lappish reindeer waiter ways cuisine
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 20, 2022 via mobile

Traditional lappish cuisine, elegantly served, good service and very delicious. Nice and very pleasant traditional atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed March 16, 2022

This restaurant was fancy for my standards but every penny was worth it. We wanted to try the local reindeer meat. They offered many preparations with reindeer meat, and the ones we tried were excellent. The ambience is very good, its definitely a nice place...for small celebrations.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed February 9, 2022 via mobile

We visited for dinner on a Sunday night (easily reserved online upfront). Atmosphere of the restaurant is very welcoming and cosy. The restaurant became pretty busy that night but we arrived a little ahead of the hotel guest and thus could place our order swiftly....We shared a Pasta as a starter and then went for reindeer steak and the reindeer cooked two ways. Everything was very tasty and prepared to the point. The beans with bacon (as a side dish) spent a bit too much time in the pan and thus were a bit overcooked. When we told the waiter he apologised and we were compensated with a „free“ coffee after ours mains. Overall a Very nice evening with great food and good wines. Only small point of criticism being the relatively tight arrangement of the tables in the mid part of the restaurant where we sat. But indeed only a minor point.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed December 27, 2021

We reserved in advance for our first night there. We had a great corner table and the Finnish waiter gave us some advice to try new things like deer meat etc... The meal was very good. I totally recommend.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 14, 2021

We went for an early dinner without a reservation and were lucky to get one of the two tall tables near the entrance. The service was quick and the food we tried was very good - reindeer as an appetizer and main dish and cream...soup with crab meat. The place looked very cosy and with nice ambience, so definitely can recommend it.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed November 29, 2021

The food was great and the service was amazing. The steak was delicious and our waiter knew the menu very well.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed October 10, 2021 via mobile

It’s a cosy place with good food. The ravioli with the reindeer meat was exceptional. Some of the deserts were also very tasty. we had a good time during our dinner here.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 7, 2021

I have to say, that everything was beyond amazing. I was eating alone and sometimes that makes things flow differently than eating with a partner or friend. This time I felt special like any other costumer and not the "one who eats alone." Which is...unfortunately very common in Finland. But here... I would say the service was same for everyone, and still at amazing level! The waiter was very attentive and social... (= this was a first restaurant in Finland where I have been and filling water to the glass really works! And I also mentioned that to waiter who maybe looked little surprised :D ) also he was very warm and caring. He asked many times how the food tastes and do I need something more or else. Took very good care of me! Service was perfect. Waiter was able to recommend wines and foods, also took note on everything I said. (like my sensitivity for tannin.) Food was great! I ate salmon soup for starter, steak for main dish and blueberry cake for dessert. Salmon soup was very good tasting, soft and gentle for a good starter. Not too heavy which was also good! Steak was amazing and the dessert!!! Oh wow... I had to eat it with my eyes closed and that's not even a joke! :D it was that great! Overall... 10++ ratings for me to this restaurant! If you´re eating alone do not hesitate to go there! Atmosphere and decor was calm, and kinda romantic. I will visit again! Thank you! Kiitos kovasti! En jaksa kääntää samaa suomeksi, mutta aivan ihana kokemus! Tulen uudelleen, kun vierailen rovaniemellä!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed September 4, 2021

Went to monte rosa to celebrate my sisters birthday. We booked a reservation (20pm) before and right when we went in a waitress guided us to our table. Waitress told us to sit and wait while she brings us the menus. We had noticed that...the restaurant had a big reservation (though finishing customers) on and almost all the tables full, so we understand if it takes time. We waited for 20 minutes till another waitress came to ask us how we are doing assuming we have ordered already. We told her that we havent even seen the menus yet and she went right away to pick them for us. After getting the menus, me and my sister we notified our allergies. Waitress took it well and went to kitchen to ask about it and told us to start thinking about what we'd like to order. After a while the waitress came back with no information about the allergens. We agreed to order and afterwards she would go and ask about it. She also took our drink order and quickly we got 2x wines and 2x beers. After over 1 hour we got our starters. Some of them were nice my salad "natural" was basically salad, 4 cherry tomatoes and 2 THIN SLICES of bell pepper. How disappointing. The main disappointment was the disaster of the main dishes. After waiting 30minutes more, two waitresses came with our main dishes. Clearly calling by the name of the dishes, they served the plates nicely infront of us. Told to enjoy and went away. I ordered reindeer in two ways, but the dish looked different than i imagined. I started to turn "the roasted potatoes" which turned out to be something with cream (my partner without allergies tasted it). After calling a waiter, the same waitress came who took our order and knew the allergies. I asked her what is the potatoe-thing and does it include cream etc. Waitress told me that she asked the kitchen and made sure that the raindeer in two ways didnt include anything that could make me sick. She was looking at the dish and recognized it as "reindeer in two ways". She took the plate and went to kitchen. Right away the same waitress came back with the plate and another waitress. They told us that two dishes switched places and my sisters partner had mine and i had his (wild boar, the dish includes ingredients that i am allergic to). The other waitress asked us what we wanted to do about it like it was our place to do their job. My sisters partner had ate over half of my dish, so clearly i was not about to eat the leftovers. With waitresses we agreed to leave the dish to sisters partner and unfortunately i had to wait to get a new dish. Others starter to eat their food, i had to wait. After 30mins i got my own dish. Waitress told us that they cannot compensate my dish because my sisters partner had ate it (they never gave us any other options) but she can give us desserts for free! Well we had no idea what desserts there were and she never offered us the menus to take a look. She just told us that they have coffee and icecream to make us happy, but she had to go check the flavors. After waiting for 15mins, she never came back so we decided to ask to go (it was past 10pm already). After all they compensated approx 10% (one starter) and were sorry and hoped for us to come visit again. After going home my sister got sick from the stomach. We spent over 2 hours and 200 euros for this disaster birthday dinner and it was clear that we were not highly prioritized and appreciated customers.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
joelkristjank, General Manager at Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2021

Hello maiju026 Thank you for your valuable review. I am terribly sorry on behalf of myself and our whole team that your dinner with us did not go as planned. I have discussed with the wating staff about Satrudays dinner service to make sure this...More

Reviewed March 16, 2020 via mobile

Whilst in Rovaniemi we had our anniversary dinner at Monte Rosa. Being greeted with a Glas of bubbly we instantly felt welcome and taken care off. Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout and the food was very tasty. Portions are quite big ;)

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a delicious diner at Monte Rosa in Rovaniemi. My wife chose the sauteed reindeer and I enjoyed the Lapland menu which was a 3-course menu with all local and Lappish specialities. The food was perfect, the setting was cozy and...the service was excellent! Worth to visit!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

It’s not a bad restaurant in Rovaniemi. We went there based on a recommendation from our tour guide. The service is excellent and the food was good.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
joelkristjank, Johtaja at Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hello 490lul Thank you for your valuable and nice review. I am happy to hear that your visit to Restaurant Monte Rosa was a nice one. I hope that you had also a lovely time in Rovaniemi. With best regards, Joel Karron, Manager.

Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Good service, very tasty dishes, nice atmosphere. Good location in the center. But for broken dishes I give 4 stars.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
joelkristjank, Johtaja at Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hello gurnevych Thank you for your valuable and important review. Despite the broken dishes (which never should end up to be served to our customers) I am happy to hear that your visit to Restaurant Monte Rosa was a nice one. I hope that you...More

Reviewed December 31, 2019

A lovely restaurant where you dine by candlelight, we went for a special Christmas Eve dinner. Everything from the appetizer to the dessert was really excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
joelkristjank, Johtaja at Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hello papillon2020 Thank you for your valuable and nice review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinner at Restaurant Monte Rosa. I hope that you had also a lovely time in Rovaniemi. With best regards, Joel Karron, Manager.

Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Place found thank to TripAdvisor. Food excellent: reindeer is a must when in the country and we found an extremely good one here!! We were cuddled by the team. Price not negligible but not even prohibitive; at the end of the day if you want...quality, you should be ready to pay for it! RecommendedMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
joelkristjank, Johtaja at Monte Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hello massimooo76 Thank you for your valuable and nice review. I am happy to hear that your visit to Restaurant Monte Rosa was a nice one. I hope that you had also a lovely time in Rovaniemi. With best regards, Joel Karron, Manager.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Arctic City Hotel
753 reviews
.01 miles away
Scandic Polar
35 reviews
.10 miles away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
766 reviews
.11 miles away
Arctic Light Hotel
727 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe & Bar 21
656 reviews
.07 miles away
Yuca
155 reviews
.08 miles away
Bull Bar And Grill
255 reviews
.00 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lapland Welcome Inari - Saariselka
25 reviews
.06 miles away
Lordi's Square
301 reviews
.05 miles away
Sampokeskus Shopping Centre
16 reviews
.06 miles away
Rovaniemi Running Tours
6 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kelvint922
April 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from joelkristjank | Property representative |
Hello Kelvin T Starters cost from 9 to 14 euros and main courses cost from 18 to 40 euros. Our menu can be found on our website. Best regards, Joel, manager
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monte Rosa

Monte Rosa is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4