We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$11 - $39
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Indre By (Inner City)
0.5 miles from Tivoli Gardens
Improve this listing
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
71
57
16
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
71
57
16
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dosa tiffin lamb medium spicy copenhagen central station this place serves food was amazing great ambience recommend this restaurant food quality sambal chettinad chutney cuisine vegan europe
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 15, 2020

I'm a fan of Indian food. It's hard to find the same taste in Europe even there are a lot of Indian restaurants. I thought its the same with this one as well, But the food here reminded me of the exact taste of south...Indian food I had before. The service and environment were wonderful.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
kannathasanp, General Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you for the review. Hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed July 10, 2020 via mobile

Dinner for 2. Remember that this is South indian food. In Norway I think we have most North indian restaurants. The flavours are a bit different, and you don't get nan bread but parotta, a different type. Still the food is good, nice portions and...rich flavours. The service was fine, and very nice papadums. If you don't like it when your clothes smell like food after dining this is the right indian restaurant to go to. A bit more pictures on the walls, som work with lighting ++ would help to give the place more personality and make it more cosy.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
kannathasanp, General Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you for reviewing us! We will be happy to welcome you in our restaurant again.

Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

First of all you do not recognized the main door, because it is located in a first floor without any sign in the street. It do not deserve to take so much time with this restaurant. Food low cost but not the bill. Only one...waiter to attend the whole restaurant, it means how many customers they have. I set 1 point just because the waiter was kind. There should be better Indians restaurants quite better in the area. Suggestion: Do not waste your time and save your money.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
kannathasanp, General Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you for the review. We have added more professional staff now and the necessary improvements have been done as well. We will be happy to see you again in our restaurant and give us a chance make your experience better one.

Reviewed December 17, 2019

This was our first experience with South Indian food. We had Prawn Masala in Chettinad sauce with rice, mango ice cream for dessert. The spice in the main course was different from what we have eaten before, hot, but good. We tried a South Indian...Classic beer together with the meal, but have had better beer than this before. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. Average plus. Look for more reviews by MulleEllum.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
kannathasanp, General Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you for reviewing us! We will be happy to see you again in our restaurant. If you have any further feedback, please write to us at eat@southindian.dk

Reviewed December 12, 2019

To be honest we were skeptical in the beginning but were so pleasantly surprised. Awesome South Indian food 👍🏻

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
kannathasanp, General Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2020

Thank you for reviewing us! We will be happy to see you again in our restaurant.

Reviewed November 30, 2019 via mobile

I’m a British Indian and I would never go here again. OMG where to start... awful looking place, inability for basic customer service, inflexibility in changing for example a rice to naan or more than one sauce for popadom. Main course was less than average.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
kannathasanp, Gæsteansvarlig at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2019

Thank you for reviewing us. We try to service each of our customer to the best of our ability and customer feedback is the greatest tool for us to better ourselves. Please write to us on eat@southindian.dk in case you want to let us know...More

Reviewed November 16, 2019 via mobile

We are here for dinner this evening and frankly the food was amazing - we had the tiffin combo which is basically a serving of 2 vadas, 2 idlis and a dosa of your choice. On top, we also had the chicken chettinad 65. Also...had the filter coffee. All the food was absolutely fab, great flavours and quality. The big letdown was the extremely, painfully slow service. We went at 5.15 and there was one lady at the counter who was pretty intent on counting coins by the sound of it and looking non stop at her screen like a coder despite knowing she had two guests in an empty restaurant ready to place an order! We then asked for water thrice before getting a bottle, food took forever to come and no point in asking for more as the lady wasn’t willing to look up from her screen, make eye contact or frankly want us to be there. The food was faultless so I would recommend going back, just hope the restaurant addresses its staffing quickly as you probably do need more than one person running it! We paid £60 for the meal which isn’t cheap by any standards, so they’re really need to pick up their service standardsMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
kannathasanp, Gæsteansvarlig at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2019

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. It is rather unfortunate that you had to face such an experience at our outlet. This matter shall be communicated to the concerned management and we shall ensure that the service in our restaurant is not compromised in...More

Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

Good South Indian food!! We visited there last week! We had authentic South Indian food after long time!

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Kannathasan P, Guest Relations Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Thank you for reviewing. Hope to see you soon again!!

Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

The food in this place was bad. My main course was so salty I couldn’t eat it and over €20 for a bowl of rice and lentils? AvoidMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Kannathasan P, Guest Relations Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Hi Alison, We are very sorry for not being able to give you a good experience. We would request you to write to us on eat@southindian.dk mentioning whether you had mentioned to our staff about the salt in the food. As a rule, if a...More

Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

We went there for dinner. We ordered light tiffin option and food taste was really good. They willing refill sambhar and chutney but to begin with the quantity is very less. Prices are on very high side for quality and quantity served and one thing...that really bothered me was there was charge for water and they wouldn’t serve tap water but would serve filtered watered as mineral water and charge you for that. This is insane. I have traveled a lot and have eaten at all class of restaurants, no one ever charge you for water, they all give you choices. Here this is the only thing and obviously people need water with food so they are forced to buy. I would not recommend this restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Kannathasan P, Guest Relations Manager at The South Indian Vesterbro, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Thank you for the review. We are very glad that you liked the food. Regarding the sambar and chutney, we would like you gto know that we serve lesser at the first go since it has been our experience that it creates a lot of...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its
blend of charming old buildings and bold new
architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well
as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner
city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which
consists of three buildings, two of which are new and
situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and
venues of the inner city and its surrounding
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Savoy Hotel
1,152 reviews
.02 miles away
Coco Hotel
23 reviews
.02 miles away
Hotel Viktoria
135 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel Loeven
280 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Wokshop
9 reviews
.03 miles away
Bowl Market Copenhagen
138 reviews
.03 miles away
Baresso Coffee
178 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Copenhagen Tourist Point
20 reviews
.20 miles away
IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium
420 reviews
.17 miles away
Eliaskirken
9 reviews
.05 miles away
Zeppelin Rock Bar
23 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The South Indian Vesterbro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing