We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurante A Muralha

Largo Corpo Santo 2, Funchal, Madeira 9060-075, Portugal
+351 913 171 003
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good36%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“fish” (27 reviews)
“chicken” (20 reviews)
“steak” (23 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Largo Corpo Santo 2, Funchal, Madeira 9060-075, Portugal
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

What an amazing and nice restaurant. Super friendly service and excellent food. The beef on the stone is one of the best we had in the area. Although it’s in the tourist area of Funchal, I can only recommend a visit. Really a great place....More

Thank 919bj_rnv
Reviewed 2 days ago

Good experience all round. Attentive service. Well presented food. The scabbard with banana was divine!

Thank Journey25388013568
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited a number of times recently and enjoyed fantastic food at great prices. Really enjoyed the scabbard fish and prawns and also the seafood rice. Really good value and service.

Thank Jeff J
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for the comment. We ask you to come back :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wish we had found this restaurant at the start of our holiday. Please do not be put of by the price 10 Euros for 3 courses. The food is Very Very Tasty. We went twice being the last 2 days of our time in Madeira....More

Thank sheena123203
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for the comment. We ask you to come back :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent set menu, plenty of choice and one of our favourite meals this holiday and a 3 course for £10. Would definitely recommend and return x

1  Thank Debbie G
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comment. Come back more often :)!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped at this restaurant while wandering around the old town,set price lunch for 10euros, very good lunch soup and melon for starters and we both had steak for main which was cooked just to our taste creme caramel for dessert really nice not massive portions...More

Thank Karen C
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the comment. We look forward to your visit more often. :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The 1st and the 2nd visit i was satisfied with the food and the service. The waiter who usually serves the food (i did not remember his name, but he has the bracelet on his hand) always does his good job with good explanation about...More

Thank Tine07
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The employee who speaks in his comment is called Abreu but on the 23rd, Tuesday, he was not on duty because he was ill. The employee who served him is Livio and is part of the same company. The restaurant on the other side "São...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before you read my review I must tell you I do not like making negative reviews but this restaurant upset us greatly...Why...Poor dishonest service, terrible quality produce, absolutely filthy toilets, poor customer care or care for customer satisfaction. This restaurant is still living on its...More

Thank Janet W
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Madame, in relation to the meat, you have the reason why the first Chef had already warned in the kitchen that that meat could not go out for steaks or mixed meat. The first Chef was on vacation that day and the second Chef...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our worst experience this week, the place looked lovely just outside our hotel Porto Santa Marie, starters were fine then waited a very long time for the main course, we ordered a 4 meat dish for two which had been recommended by the waiter, when...More

Thank ralanengland
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The meat used by the Chef on duty that day, was not the one recommended for mixed beef or steaks. Even with the warning, it was the meat that came out that night for all customers. Management apologizes for your meal having not been good....More

Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

We chose a main dish and the starter and dessert was included in the price of the main dish plus a complimentary Madeira wine at the end of the meal. My wife had the fish kebab and I had the mixed fish of the day...More

Thank Keneng566448865456
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Thank you very much for the comment. Come back every time :)!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 156 hotels in Madeira
Residencial Mariazinha
115 reviews
.04 miles away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
2,189 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel Albergaria Dias
555 reviews
.09 miles away
Travellers Pearl by Storytellers
3 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Taberninha Ze Vitoria
106 reviews
.04 miles away
Bar Ideal
125 reviews
.03 miles away
Le Jardin
599 reviews
.02 miles away
Santa Maria Restaurante
643 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Caravel Art Center
138 reviews
.14 miles away
Zona Velha
172 reviews
.11 miles away
Santa Maria Street
613 reviews
.02 miles away
Madeira Story Centre
771 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
David W
September 1, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from William L | Reviewed this property |
Same as above. A. Mulralha is a restaurant just outside the Porto Santa Maria.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Largo Corpo Santo 2, Funchal, Madeira 9060-075, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Madeira Islands  >  Madeira  >  Funchal
  • Phone Number: +351 913 171 003
  • E-mail
Description
New administration since August 2017. We have a renovated environment, staff and dishes. Fish of the day, black swordfish, tuna, typical meat kebab and much more ... Visit us :)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing