We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1,434 of 2,690 Portuguese in Lisbon
#2,028 of 4,501 Restaurants in Lisbon
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Portuguese
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Live Music
View all details
features, about
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
14
15
3
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
14
15
3
8
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 13, 2019 via mobile

Lovely dinner (recommend the cod and the chicken). Beautiful fado singing with a total of 4 performances. The gaps in between the acts were slightly too long but the singers were diverse and all extremely talented.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

Really very bad experience in Lisbon. Menu only like the stuff wants very expensive and commercial. Avoid this restaurant

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Litteraly a tourist trap. Food was so expensive and the quality was terrible. Worst food we have ever had. Waiters are unfriendly and disrespectful. Service is so slow.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 17, 2019

This is a fado restaurant with long tradition. Fado is great, food could be improved. Fado is a sad, melancholic music. Do not expect "uplifting, peppy music". In general you will not be disappointed as this restaurant provides a good combination of tradition, fado and...food. You probably need a reservation.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

We went as a group on a Friday. The fish was ok but the steak was tough and very well done. Wine was good. Setting was very nice and elegant, and the FADO was exceptional. This evening, four singers rotated through doing several songs (two...or 3 at a time) before an encore that included all four. Worth it for the exceptional music.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear Sir / Madam, This is Fado House, also with a fine restaurant, presenting Portuguese Gastronomy. Our show is, by definition, excellent! Thank you for visiting Adega Machado, kind regards,

Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Through the help of my Monograms vacation host, I was able discover Fado music. The dinner was nice and service was good. It was a set menu. It would have been nice to however, to pick the dessert as opposed to the one that was...on your selection. Otherwise, it was an entertaining evening and the singers sang with a lot of passion. I had a very enjoyable evening.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed August 9, 2018

When in Lisbon... go listen to fado. We found this restaurant on the internet. It restaurant offered very nice food and a good service, at prices that were significantly higher than elsewhere in Portugal (let's say three to four times more than what you would...pay elsewhere). However, this was compensated by the excellent and very professional fado concert we saw and that we enjoyed a lot. The electricity broke down at some point (which can happen) and payment by card, after having had to wait for it, turned out to be impossible in the end. Probably this could have been dealt with better - at least offering some water during the waiting without airconditioning...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear Customer, That´s it, Fado is really something one should in Lisboa. Please bear in mind that you have payed for two services, Fado & Food. Hope we will welcome you again in Adega Machado, thanks for this visit, best regards.

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

On a trip to Portugal, we were encouraged to make this destination a priority. Glad we did. First, the service is first class from being seated, served and having to say good night at the end of the evening. The food was amazing. Period. The...musicians and singers were wonderful. You could have great conversation, eat a delicious meal and be entertained sporadically without feeling rushed or interrupted. It was all beautifully planned. If in Lisbon, give yourself a treatMore

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, For choosing Adega Machado and your statements that sound so assertive and honest we thank you very much. Looking foward to welcome you again in this special place with more tan 8 decades of existence, best wishes!

Reviewed July 1, 2018

On my last night in Lisbon, I decided to stop here for dimmer and a fado show. The music was delightful and very professional. The food was WAY overpriced. My grilled cod dinner was 33euros, bread was 3 euros, butter was 2 euros, water was...7 euros. A glass of rose was less than water. . I never asked for bread and butter, but was charged anyway. When it was time to pay (around 11 PM), I discovered that I had been a victim of pick-pocketing. Management was not helpful or sympathetic; in fact, they were angry. Owner/manager Flávio wanted me to leave my phone and watch as collateral, return to my room 2 metro stops away to retrieve a different credit card, or return the next day. They didn't seem to care that I had no way back to my hotel because everything on my person had been stolen. He threatened to call the police and have me spend the next 24 hours behind bars. He didn't care that I had a flight back to the U.S. the next morning. Two of my family members gave their credit card information by phone, none which would go through his credit card system. He told me I had been very rude with him and his staff, and they were unwilling to help. He said people always try to get free meals by saying they have been pickpocketed. Reluctantly, at 12:45 AM, he drove me back to my hotel where I paid my bill with a back-up credit card. He also asked to see my passport. The card was processed immediately through his electronic device.I was treated like a criminal up to that moment. As a result of this fiasco, I ended up missing my flight back to the states. I will never recommend this place to anyone who wants to be treated with respect and consideration.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Unfortunately, according to several witnesses, what you report does not entirely correspond to the truth. Anyway, we apologize and thank you for your visit. .

Reviewed June 5, 2018

Extremely expensive. There is no space between tables compromising the privacy. The food is scarce and not so great. The only thing that compensate the night was the show. Great songs performed by wonderful singers.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, Due your description, that night should have been a bit crowded. We understand your willing of privacy. You have payed for the quality of Fado, Food and the attentive service. Best Wishes, looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lumiares
425 reviews
.11 miles away
Hotel Anjo Azul
204 reviews
.11 miles away
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
473 reviews
.13 miles away
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
1,243 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pop Cereal Cafe
361 reviews
.03 miles away
Cervejaria do Bairro
1,223 reviews
.02 miles away
Grapes & Bites
1,811 reviews
.01 miles away
The Old Pharmacy
863 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Adega Machado
428 reviews
.00 miles away
Fado Inside the Box
76 reviews
.00 miles away
NovaTertulia
9 reviews
.02 miles away
Paginas Tantas
134 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dolores W
February 9, 2020|
Answer
Response from 628nunof | Property representative |
Dear Dolores, You can watch the show without dinner every night from 22:30 onwards. Best Regards
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing