We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1,506 of 2,573 Portuguese in Lisbon
#2,315 of 4,368 Restaurants in Lisbon
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Portuguese
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Live Music
View all details
features, about
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
14
15
4
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
14
15
4
9
10
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 27, 2023

When we were asked to double confirm our reservation or it would be cancelled..I wish we had cancelled. Walking into a cavernous room with waiting room lighting and not one other table filled, our second hint. The rudeness of the waiter should have been our...third hint, and when the food finally came out a voice in my head said....I tried to warn you. The fish (all 3 dishes) were lukewarm and dry but one of the fish dishes was a cut that I would not feed to ANY ANIMAL. It was ALL BONES. The music starts and (lighting is still sterile, place 75% empty) and I get up and complain and the waiter insists on our staying so we can be further tortured so that he can try to do it all over again.....Finally he takes one of the 3 dishes off the bill and still more than a hundred dollars later we leave feeling ripped off...I LOVE LISBON, this place is an insult to Fado and to the marvelous food of LisbonMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 1, 2023

The music was a 5, but the food and service were a 2. We made reservations, but ended up sitting at the very back of the house where we could barely see the performers - though fortunately we could hear them. Very hard to get...service, the servers were not helpful, and the food was average at best - and quite expensive. Again, though - the music was excellent!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2023

Overpriced. You are paying for the show. Otherwise, food and service are poor. Tour groups get all the attention. Waiter was asked repeatedly to tell us what the food was that he was putting in front of us only to respond "Just try it". I...had to get up and go take a photo of the menu so I knew what it was we were eating. Portions of it were just horrible. The singers were good and should find a different location to perform.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 13, 2019 via mobile

Lovely dinner (recommend the cod and the chicken). Beautiful fado singing with a total of 4 performances. The gaps in between the acts were slightly too long but the singers were diverse and all extremely talented.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

Really very bad experience in Lisbon. Menu only like the stuff wants very expensive and commercial. Avoid this restaurant

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Litteraly a tourist trap. Food was so expensive and the quality was terrible. Worst food we have ever had. Waiters are unfriendly and disrespectful. Service is so slow.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

This is a fado restaurant with long tradition. Fado is great, food could be improved. Fado is a sad, melancholic music. Do not expect "uplifting, peppy music". In general you will not be disappointed as this restaurant provides a good combination of tradition, fado and...food. You probably need a reservation.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

We went as a group on a Friday. The fish was ok but the steak was tough and very well done. Wine was good. Setting was very nice and elegant, and the FADO was exceptional. This evening, four singers rotated through doing several songs (two...or 3 at a time) before an encore that included all four. Worth it for the exceptional music.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear Sir / Madam, This is Fado House, also with a fine restaurant, presenting Portuguese Gastronomy. Our show is, by definition, excellent! Thank you for visiting Adega Machado, kind regards,

Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Through the help of my Monograms vacation host, I was able discover Fado music. The dinner was nice and service was good. It was a set menu. It would have been nice to however, to pick the dessert as opposed to the one that was...on your selection. Otherwise, it was an entertaining evening and the singers sang with a lot of passion. I had a very enjoyable evening.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

When in Lisbon... go listen to fado. We found this restaurant on the internet. It restaurant offered very nice food and a good service, at prices that were significantly higher than elsewhere in Portugal (let's say three to four times more than what you would...pay elsewhere). However, this was compensated by the excellent and very professional fado concert we saw and that we enjoyed a lot. The electricity broke down at some point (which can happen) and payment by card, after having had to wait for it, turned out to be impossible in the end. Probably this could have been dealt with better - at least offering some water during the waiting without airconditioning...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear Customer, That´s it, Fado is really something one should in Lisboa. Please bear in mind that you have payed for two services, Fado & Food. Hope we will welcome you again in Adega Machado, thanks for this visit, best regards.

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

On a trip to Portugal, we were encouraged to make this destination a priority. Glad we did. First, the service is first class from being seated, served and having to say good night at the end of the evening. The food was amazing. Period. The...musicians and singers were wonderful. You could have great conversation, eat a delicious meal and be entertained sporadically without feeling rushed or interrupted. It was all beautifully planned. If in Lisbon, give yourself a treatMore

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, For choosing Adega Machado and your statements that sound so assertive and honest we thank you very much. Looking foward to welcome you again in this special place with more tan 8 decades of existence, best wishes!

Reviewed July 1, 2018

On my last night in Lisbon, I decided to stop here for dimmer and a fado show. The music was delightful and very professional. The food was WAY overpriced. My grilled cod dinner was 33euros, bread was 3 euros, butter was 2 euros, water was...7 euros. A glass of rose was less than water. . I never asked for bread and butter, but was charged anyway. When it was time to pay (around 11 PM), I discovered that I had been a victim of pick-pocketing. Management was not helpful or sympathetic; in fact, they were angry. Owner/manager Flávio wanted me to leave my phone and watch as collateral, return to my room 2 metro stops away to retrieve a different credit card, or return the next day. They didn't seem to care that I had no way back to my hotel because everything on my person had been stolen. He threatened to call the police and have me spend the next 24 hours behind bars. He didn't care that I had a flight back to the U.S. the next morning. Two of my family members gave their credit card information by phone, none which would go through his credit card system. He told me I had been very rude with him and his staff, and they were unwilling to help. He said people always try to get free meals by saying they have been pickpocketed. Reluctantly, at 12:45 AM, he drove me back to my hotel where I paid my bill with a back-up credit card. He also asked to see my passport. The card was processed immediately through his electronic device.I was treated like a criminal up to that moment. As a result of this fiasco, I ended up missing my flight back to the states. I will never recommend this place to anyone who wants to be treated with respect and consideration.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Unfortunately, according to several witnesses, what you report does not entirely correspond to the truth. Anyway, we apologize and thank you for your visit. .

Reviewed June 5, 2018

Extremely expensive. There is no space between tables compromising the privacy. The food is scarce and not so great. The only thing that compensate the night was the show. Great songs performed by wonderful singers.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, Due your description, that night should have been a bit crowded. We understand your willing of privacy. You have payed for the quality of Fado, Food and the attentive service. Best Wishes, looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to...More

Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

Mediocre food at extremely high prices. They charged us €5 for bread & butter - something we never ordered and something that’s complementary almost around the world. Upon my protest they reversed the charge and that’s the only reason I’m not giving them 1 Star....Only saving grace the FADO music but still not worth itMore

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, Yours statements are extrmely severe, we believe we don´t deserve. Anyway, we try to respect your point of view but absolute not agree, as the majority of our Clients. Fortunely we agree about Fado.

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

The fado performances were top class. Superb instrumentalists and a great variety of singers with distinctive, haunting voices. Service was pleasant and efficient and the wine and room good. Unfortunately the food was poorly prepared, the vegetarian menu was really not edible and the chef...also managed to make a poor job of grilled sea bass with vegetables - which is pretty hard to do. This place needs to get a new chef. I rarely give bad reviews, but based on our experience, the cooking is incompetent which badly lets down an otherwise good night.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your visit. On your next visit to Adega Machado our Chef will have a special chalenge: to surprise and please you. Best Regards

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
9 Hotel Mercy
1,532 reviews
.04 miles away
The Lumiares
864 reviews
.11 miles away
Hotel Anjo Azul
228 reviews
.11 miles away
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
645 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pop Cereal Cafe
381 reviews
.03 miles away
Grapes & Bites
1,974 reviews
.01 miles away
The Old Pharmacy
916 reviews
.02 miles away
Cervejaria do Bairro
1,235 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Adega Machado
437 reviews
.00 miles away
Fado Inside the Box
81 reviews
.00 miles away
A'WAY TOURS PORTUGAL
12 reviews
.02 miles away
Free Tour Portugal
17 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dolores W
February 9, 2020|
Answer
Response from 628nunof | Property representative |
Dear Dolores, You can watch the show without dinner every night from 22:30 onwards. Best Regards
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ADEGA MACHADO, Lisbon - Encarnacao - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Adega Machado

Adega Machado is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4