We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adega Machado

Claimed
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

#1,977 of 4,576 Restaurants in Lisbon
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Table Service
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
14
14
3
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
14
14
3
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fado music great fado songs instrumentalists portugal
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Litteraly a tourist trap. Food was so expensive and the quality was terrible. Worst food we have ever had. Waiters are unfriendly and disrespectful. Service is so slow.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ErkamMizrak
Reviewed May 17, 2019

This is a fado restaurant with long tradition. Fado is great, food could be improved. Fado is a sad, melancholic music. Do not expect "uplifting, peppy music". In general you will not be disappointed as this restaurant provides a good combination of tradition, fado and...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank NoveZamky
Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

We went as a group on a Friday. The fish was ok but the steak was tough and very well done. Wine was good. Setting was very nice and elegant, and the FADO was exceptional. This evening, four singers rotated through doing several songs (two...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MeanderingMike1
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear Sir / Madam, This is Fado House, also with a fine restaurant, presenting Portuguese Gastronomy. Our show is, by definition, excellent! Thank you for visiting Adega Machado, kind regards,

Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Through the help of my Monograms vacation host, I was able discover Fado music. The dinner was nice and service was good. It was a set menu. It would have been nice to however, to pick the dessert as opposed to the one that was...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Aireen O
Reviewed August 9, 2018

When in Lisbon... go listen to fado. We found this restaurant on the internet. It restaurant offered very nice food and a good service, at prices that were significantly higher than elsewhere in Portugal (let's say three to four times more than what you would...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tombevers
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear Customer, That´s it, Fado is really something one should in Lisboa. Please bear in mind that you have payed for two services, Fado & Food. Hope we will welcome you again in Adega Machado, thanks for this visit, best regards.

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

On a trip to Portugal, we were encouraged to make this destination a priority. Glad we did. First, the service is first class from being seated, served and having to say good night at the end of the evening. The food was amazing. Period. The...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank bbaker5555
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, For choosing Adega Machado and your statements that sound so assertive and honest we thank you very much. Looking foward to welcome you again in this special place with more tan 8 decades of existence, best wishes!

Reviewed July 1, 2018

On my last night in Lisbon, I decided to stop here for dimmer and a fado show. The music was delightful and very professional. The food was WAY overpriced. My grilled cod dinner was 33euros, bread was 3 euros, butter was 2 euros, water was...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Katherine D
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Unfortunately, according to several witnesses, what you report does not entirely correspond to the truth. Anyway, we apologize and thank you for your visit. .

Reviewed June 5, 2018

Extremely expensive. There is no space between tables compromising the privacy. The food is scarce and not so great. The only thing that compensate the night was the show. Great songs performed by wonderful singers.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank RBFagundes
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, Due your description, that night should have been a bit crowded. We understand your willing of privacy. You have payed for the quality of Fado, Food and the attentive service. Best Wishes, looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to...More

Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

Mediocre food at extremely high prices. They charged us €5 for bread & butter - something we never ordered and something that’s complementary almost around the world. Upon my protest they reversed the charge and that’s the only reason I’m not giving them 1 Star....More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank AnmolVirk
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, Yours statements are extrmely severe, we believe we don´t deserve. Anyway, we try to respect your point of view but absolute not agree, as the majority of our Clients. Fortunely we agree about Fado.

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

The fado performances were top class. Superb instrumentalists and a great variety of singers with distinctive, haunting voices. Service was pleasant and efficient and the wine and room good. Unfortunately the food was poorly prepared, the vegetarian menu was really not edible and the chef...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MattSt
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Adega Machado, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your visit. On your next visit to Adega Machado our Chef will have a special chalenge: to surprise and please you. Best Regards

View more reviews
Nearby
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Enjoy a cocktail, discover a jazz club, hit the dance
floor or simply grab a beer and catch up with your
friends in the street: Bairro Alto, Bica and Cais do
Sodré are the core of it all. Amazing rooftops,
restaurants, cafes, bars, art galleries, museums and
theaters abound. Start off by admiring the river from
the Santa Catarina belvedere, have a cocktail at
PARK's rooftop bar, try a typical Portuguese steak, or
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 281 nearby hotels
9 Hotel Mercy
1,232 reviews
.04 miles away
Solar dos Poetas
2 reviews
.10 miles away
The Lumiares
284 reviews
.11 miles away
Hotel Anjo Azul
173 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5,523 nearby restaurants
Pop Cereal Cafe
347 reviews
.03 miles away
Grapes & Bites
1,741 reviews
.01 miles away
The Old Pharmacy
818 reviews
.02 miles away
Cervejaria do Bairro
1,047 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2,312 nearby attractions
Adega Machado
399 reviews
.00 miles away
Fado Inside the Box
24 reviews
.00 miles away
NovaTertulia
9 reviews
.02 miles away
Paginas Tantas
125 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Adega Machado staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing