We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa do Leao

#762 of 3,426 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Neighborhood:
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Castelo de Sao Jorge | Castelo de Sao Jorge, Lisbon 1100-129, Portugal
+351 21 887 5962
Website
Today
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

What an amazing experience to be able to wander around the Castle terraces at night with the most stunning views. A real treat. The restaurant was really good to. Nice menu choices and very good quality. There was a big party on whilst we were eating, but we still had outstanding service and food. Great for a special evening.

Helpful?
Thank LynnePeak
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your Staff performance evaluation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

green soup completely without taste. Raw meet, old poteatoes. Awful experience. Good red wine though

Helpful?
Thank Rune B
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Dear Customer We deeply regret that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced, but the problem was not the food quality or the service at the restaurant. The meat was raw because you demanded so. As the first meat dish is served you refused and told that... More 

Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely dinner for our daughter's birthday at Casa do Leão, our second visit in a year. The location, the setting, and the view are simply magnificent. Excellent service too.

Helpful?
Thank Rosaria A
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your Staff performance evaluation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2016

After a long and very pleasant visit to Castelo do Jorge on a bright hot sunny day, we were tired and hungry and not in the mood to look forever for a place to eat. So we simply decided to have lunch at Casa do Leao, located along the esplanade just beside the castle, overlooking the city, thinking this will... More 

Helpful?
Thank worldcatlover
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your Staff performance evaluation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
240 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2016

After arriving in Lisbon for the first time, we ventured to the Castle and had lunch here. Since we made prior reservations for lunch, we were able to get a 2 Euro discount on the admission price to get in the castle. We sat outside (b/c who wants to sit inside on such a beautiful day?) and the view is... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenniferLynn
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing Casa do Leão Restaurantl and for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your staff & restaurant evaluation. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience which this situation may have caused. We hope to be able to welcome you again... More 

San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
594 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2016

We stopped by the Casa de Leao just after our castle visit since it's on the castle grounds. I got a beer and a coke inside. The line was long (perhaps 25 people in front of me), and it took maybe 15 minutes to reach the cash register. Once outside, we luckily found an empty table to sit down to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank for your review but unfortunately you wrote in the wrong place because Casa do Leão is a restaurant and the place you describe is the Café do Castelo. They are completely different places and different kinds of service as the name itself can tell. You should try to tell Tripadvisor (we already did but there was no... More 

cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

The worst service I've ever experienced. Waited at a table. ...and waited....and waited. They weren't even particularly busy. Eventually got a menu but nobody returned to take an order. ...and waited...and waited. One (the head waiter?) happened to be looking at me on one of the occasions when I waved but shook his head. Another simply turned away, waving to... More 

Helpful?
Thank vistareel
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We deeply regret that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced. We will take the necessary steps to improve the quality of our services. We hope you can choose again Casa do Leão. Best Regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Good restaurant, the food was really nice, the wine was good, service was very pleasant, the views are amazing. I would recommend this place to friends that visit lisbon.

Helpful?
Thank patrick s
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing Casa do Leão Restaurant and for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your evaluation. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future! Best wishes More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2016

Not as cheap as most places in Lisbon, but still cheaper than most restaurants in the States, and with an amazing view of the old city from atop one of the highest points. Dinner at sunset is indescribable. The atmosphere is quaint, classy, and service oriented.

Helpful?
Thank Derrin_Mass
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your Staff performance evaluation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2016

We began our evening an hour early on the castle patio, overlooking Lisbon. We watched the sunset and then went in the restaurant for our dinner. What a wonderful way to begin the evening. Our server Flávio was fabulous and told us he would take care of all of our friends and family and anyone else for us in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichCLChrisL
Manager_CLeao, Gerente geral at Casa do Leao, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Thank you very much for the positive review on the staff and restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes! More 

Travelers who viewed Casa do Leao also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Casa do Leao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Castelo de Sao Jorge | Castelo de Sao Jorge, Lisbon 1100-129, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Central Portugal  >  Lisbon District  >  Lisbon>  > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
  • Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
  • Phone Number: +351 21 887 5962

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Casa do Leao and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Blackburn, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Casa do Leao staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria

Neighborhood Profile
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Explore narrow streets and alleyways, small cafes and, of course, the internationally acclaimed Fado music. The earth-shattering Great Earthquake of 1755 destroyed most of the city but the contiguous neighborhoods of Mouraria, Castelo and Alfama remained standing to this day. These neighborhoods represent Lisbon at its historical best. The cool breeze of the Tagus river will take you up the hills to the sound of Fado, where you'll discover the best "tascas," eat delicious fresh fish and drink great wines. Discover hidden viewpoints and ancient traces of other civilizational ruins in the heart of the Portuguese capital. These are centuries-old neighborhoods that will welcome you to the very best of old Lisbon culture.
Explore this neighborhood