We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Café Central Ponta Delgada

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Cafe, European, Healthy, Portuguese
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
49
66
24
16
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
49
66
24
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fries burger ice cream sweet bread outside seating prices are very reasonable during our stay strawberry portuguese
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The terrace has a very good spot in the city center. Nevertheless is the service very unprofessional and you can tell the waiters don’t have much experience in the business. Half of the menu is not available and you will have to wait quite a...long time to order something in the first place. Way to go!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi! Your review is important. We are sorry that you did not have the best experience with us. We will forward your review to our team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall, staff is not very nice and friendly. Today we waited almost 10 minutes to get an expresso. After 5 minutes we asked a waitress about the coffee and instead of her go to the balcony and ask for it , she just went outside...and carried on her work. She finally decided to ask for our coffee on the balcony after another 5 minutes. Disappointed!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We regret this failure.

Reviewed May 29, 2022

This is the cutest cafe in the best location with tons of outside seating. They have everything from breakfast to ice cream to drinks and dinner! My family, friends and I all had great experiences on the multiple occasions we've been here during our stay...on the island. We got the strawberry and raspberry sorbet, and it was delicious! The prices are low, and the staff is friendly. We're hoping to squeeze in one last banana split before we leave!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! We are waiting for you and your family and friends to try our banana split!

Reviewed May 28, 2022

Great place to sit outside and have a drink and food. The location is perfect to people watch and enjoy the day. It sits right across from a beautiful church, and it's so relaxing to sit on the square and listen to the bells ring...each hour at the church. The sweet bread was excellent, as well as the burgers. The prices are very reasonable, as we noticed for most places on the island.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thanks for sharing this amazing review! Enjoy the island and come back to visit us!

Reviewed April 14, 2022

I was reading many reviews on this Cafe and so decided to go by and have a chat and coffee with the family. Everything was fine until we went up to pay and they opened the receipts box to refill the role of paper and...inside there was cockroaches yes baby cockroaches. I felt like throwing up right there on the spot. the person working the counter was trying to be discreet but I caught the whole thing. This place should be closed down for inspection. We're really happy we just decided to have a coffee. Needless to say we will not be returning back here on our next visit to this island. We walked by the next day and it was still open. I feel really bad for the people eating there.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would like to point out that we have several cleaning schedules per day and that they are strictly adhered to. Unfortunately, the city of Ponta Delgada is going through a period of cockroach infestation. We are...More

Reviewed February 21, 2022 via mobile

This review is based on my experience. I loved this cafe so much, it’s so relaxing, amazing food, good beer and super value for money. This place for my point of view it doesn’t have anything to complaint! I can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2022

Thanks for sharing your photos and this amazing review with us! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed September 16, 2021

Great experience to people watch and enjoy the views of town, but fantastic service and warmth from young server Carlos. Tour guide and great server combined. He was on his way to a big local soccer (football) game with the two big teams, but stayed...close and made time to explain everything to us and even help me learn some Portuguese, and how to pronounce better! We came back to find out how the game went for him and for more amazing drinks and good. We will forever recommend to friends and family, and come back. Thank you Carlos & team!!!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2022

Thanks for the awesome review, Lindsay. We work hard to meet expectations like yours and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon. Cheers!

Reviewed September 13, 2021 via mobile

Great Place for late Dinner. Loved the Burger and was friendly service. Also good for having a beer or some ice cream! Absolutely perfect when you arrive late after your flight to PDL.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed August 5, 2021

Centrally located. It has a nice outdoor seating. Good for a bite/drink. The burger although big enough with fries lacked a bit of taste.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2022

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us!

Reviewed July 6, 2021 via mobile

The place was ok, some things great, some not so good. I had a burger which was pretty tasty, also good sauce. The fries were soaked with oil, soft and not at all crunchy and not so good. Partner had a breakfast deal - I...think "Natur" . It was ok, but definitely not worth 8,5€. Donut he had for dessert was also bland and lacking taste. Service was ok, but we waited a long time for the check and they also messed up our order a bit. So - medium.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize for what happened and will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Reviewed January 9, 2021 via mobile

Fish soup unmissable. Place with friendly atmosphere and low prices with quality food. I recommend a visit, even if it is just for a coffee and “queijada of Vila Franca do Campo”!

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2022

Hi Ana! Thank you for taking the time to share this positive rating and we hope to see you soon!

Reviewed November 11, 2020

Nice Cafe well located in the center of ponta delgada. We have a nice 'couvert' and rice soup. Very taste! The fries could improve definitely!! I would like to highlight the friendly and cheerful young waiter! He recommended us some local places to visit and...food to try!! Thanks for your service!(last Sunday 8/11/2020)More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrupoAnjos, Marketing at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2020

Thank you so much.

Reviewed October 5, 2020

The garçon was pretty welcoming and available. We chatted about families, backgrounds and some must-sees in the islands. Food was quickly prepared and seemed fresh. Very nice stop from an exhausting day

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share this positive rating. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed September 25, 2020

We only need 20 minutes to have our main dishes on the table after entrances - super fast either in collecting our order or in processing our request. The waiter was nice and always ready to help us and guide us through the menu. Finally...the food was delicious either in breakfast and lunch. I highly recommend the cheese toast and “Prego central” (order with the Portuguese menu)More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grupo Anjos, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2022

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us!

Reviewed September 17, 2020

Nice service, fantastic food. We stayed for 1 week in Açores and we went to Cafe Central for 4 times to lunch. Nice food for small prices

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrupoAnjos, Marketing at Cafe Central Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2020

Thank you so much!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Matriz
72 reviews
.12 miles away
Hotel do Colegio
501 reviews
.16 miles away
Neat Hotel Avenida
150 reviews
.17 miles away
Hotel Talisman
924 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Intz48 Coffee Roasters, Pizza, Gelato & Pastry
230 reviews
.07 miles away
Otaka
449 reviews
.02 miles away
Reserva Bar
649 reviews
.08 miles away
Azores Forever - Snack Bar and takeaway
84 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Igreja Matriz de Sao Sebastiao
304 reviews
.02 miles away
Portas da Cidade
1,203 reviews
.04 miles away
Raiz Club
23 reviews
.03 miles away
La Bamba
5 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe Central Ponta Delgada staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Café Central Ponta Delgada

Yes, Café Central Ponta Delgada offers takeout services.

Yes, Café Central Ponta Delgada is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Café Central Ponta Delgada is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3.5