We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$19 - $30
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Turkish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
6
5
4
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
6
5
4
6
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 20, 2019

Lack of middle eastern cuisine in Leuven, makes this one a good option. Food is good, made with care, but slow.

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

Manager of the restaurant complained that we ordered too many different things. I took number 62, spicy meat in pastry. While there was nothing spicy about the meat the worst thing was that there was no pastry in the dish. They just replaced the pastry...with an ordinary wrap like you get in Kebab Snackbar. Only difference is that they charged 20,5€ instead of 5€. Dessert “Baklava with icecream” was more like “Ice cream with baklava”. Only one small balklava and two spoons of ice and that for 9,5€. Very disappointing experience.More

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?
Veronique M, Guest Relations Manager at Chef Turquoise, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Very unfortunate that you have had a very bad experience Linus. I hope that you will have a better experience in other locations. It is new for us to read that what we serve is not OK, and we are a bit surprised by it,...More

Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

After almost 1 year, I was back in Belgium, Leuven. I had many things on my program, but of course visiting Chef Turquoise was one of the first things to be done. I saw that many things changed in this restaurant, the look and feel,...the interior, but the same personnel in the restaurant, the girl on the video and live stream. Always nice, smiling, professional, a pleasure to come there and to meet again, she did not forget about me. Let’s not forget also about our cook, Erdo. He found again new recipes and gives now suggestions every week, listed on a board. This means you can eat delicious food at a good price (+/- 25 à 29 euro for 3 courses!!), always seasonal and original. Sometimes I read awful things on this trip advisor page, I do not recognize this AT ALL. Always again, I ate very well, delicious fresh and the service is good. Sometimes, because the cook is alone in the kitchen (or he gets a little help), it takes a little bit longer, but that is really the only point for improvement I can imagine.. Please go on in this way, and pls don’t get discouraged because of some stupid people who think they are the King or the Emperor and who think you have to fall on your knees because they come to your restaurant.. Let them go somewhere else.. that is much better for everyone.    More

Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
Veronique M, Public Relations Manager at Chef Turquoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thanks Ayfer Karacan, you are always welcome in our restaurant.. and take care, because you know what can happen! Because you are always laughing and full of passion... thanks again!

Reviewed October 17, 2017

Very nice and amazing dinner!The atmosphere was very good!I return with friends and it deserves a 5!

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Veronique M, Public Relations Manager at Chef Turquoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thanks a lot Tilly, always welcome in our restaurant with your positive vibes! It was a pleasure!

Reviewed October 2, 2017

We had lunch at this restaurant at a very calm time. The owner Erdo greeted us and gave us full details about the way he would prepare our chosen meals and why he prefers it this way. The menu is extensive and therefore difficult to...choose from. The venue itself is rather cosy. Overall a great experience, would highly recommend checking it out.More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Veronique M, Guest Relations Manager at Chef Turquoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thanks a lot for this nice review, you are always welcome in our restaurant Arjen.

Reviewed February 13, 2017

Turquoise is one of our go-to restaurants as a family. The setting is quiet, cozy and friendly. The host clearly enjoys talking with the diners, and will gladly give more details about the dishes that are served. These are scrumptous! Quality ingredients, lots of flavour,...hearty but not heavy. It is always a delight to spend the evening there. Highly recommended :)More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
Veronique M, Guest Relations Manager at Chef Turquoise, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thanks Sandrine, for this nice review, did you know that we participate at the OXFAM action these days.. so time for a next visit.. have a nice evening, Veronique

Reviewed January 24, 2017

Light kitchen, good for the health, at interesting prices. Veggie is important for the chef. He likes to cook tasty veggie also for himself, he says. Wines at super good prices, other countries than France.. House wine is perfect. They do actions such as TAPAS...ACTION – PASTA ACTION etc.. so better watch their website and blog, you will be kept updated! I will certainly go back!More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
Veronique M, Guest Relations Manager at Chef Turquoise, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thanks Maria, for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon in our restaurant!

Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

The waiter is bizarre. He made a comment on my accent. We couldn't order 3x the same dish. He didn't have enough ingredients. I ordered what he recommended. Then we waited for about 1 hour. Dish was small. Veggies scarce. My wife's meal was cold,...small but she liked the taste in the end. The menu prices are too high for what you get. NOT RECOMMENDED!!!More

Date of visit: November 2016
Helpful?2  
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Yesterday we had dinner at this restaurant. It is an odd place, since the cook runs a one-man-busines. This makes service rather slow. He is a good cook though, presenting us tasteful, colorful and healthy food. Loved the home made bread and the sigara boregi....I could easily eat there regularly, since he offers a variety of vegetarian dishes. A nice gesture is that all vegetarian dishes (entrances, mains, stews) are repeated on a single vegetarian page in the menu, which makes it a lot more pleasant to choose. There are many reviews mentioning that the cook is not very amicable, and this is true. If you want to be pampered, don't go there. I for one didn't find it to hard to get past his initial gruffness, to discover an affable person.More

Date of visit: October 2016
Helpful?
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

It is a shame that some people want to run a restaurant but don't put any effort in an enjoyable evening for their customers. The "boss" came to shout at our table that we were too dumb to understand the menu, when we asked a...simple question, and really put us on the spot in front of the whole restaurant. Then he told us loudly that we probably didn't understand the Dutch menu (we are 3 native Dutch speakers VS the boss who is not). Most offensive experience we ever had, we even got the feeling that it was because we were 3 ladies. There are many nice places in Leuven so don't bother coming to Turquoise!!More

Date of visit: September 2015
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Begijnhof Hotel
397 reviews
.23 miles away
Hotel Professor
80 reviews
.66 miles away
The Fourth - Tafelrond
88 reviews
.72 miles away
Atel Theaterhotel
4 reviews
.77 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Q'Bo
40 reviews
.03 miles away
Wok Dynasty Heverlee
173 reviews
.44 miles away
Mama Wong
65 reviews
.39 miles away
Cum Laude
194 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Groot Begijnhof
1,134 reviews
.26 miles away
Old Market Square
846 reviews
.64 miles away
Sint-Donatuspark
66 reviews
.49 miles away
Pope College
41 reviews
.57 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chef Turquoise staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing