We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Du Progres

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
French, Belgian, Dutch, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Korenmarkt 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
+32 9 225 17 16
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Tue - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
Reston
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am generally leary about eating at any restaurant on a ‘main’ (grand) square in European cities – typically I feel most are over priced tourist traps. However, I had asked the lady at the Mustard shop about Waterzooi and she recommended the ‘dark façade’ restaurant in the square – she couldn’t remember the name. We went there for lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank VATLC23
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting Ghent on a (mostly) sunny Saturday, we have selected Du Progres for a family lunch, attracted by high Tripadvisor rating. What can I say? the rating is totally justified, food was delicious, staff was super friendly and servings were generous. The waterzooi -- one of the best I have ever tried, Flemish stew -- mouthwatering, kids loved the chicken... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryba1967
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review

Dear Mister Ryba 1967, thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and that everything was satisfying. kind regards, Johan De Baets More 

Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
243 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ay in Gent, headed to this restaurant, with the hope of getting a table. Unfortunately they were full, but whilst we were outside discussing where to try next, a waitress came rushing out to say a table would be available in a few minutes. They even managed to get my mother and wheelchair in. We had the set lunch of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rawtalent
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review

Dear Rawtalent, thank you for taking he time to review us on trip advisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our food and service and that everything was fine during your stay in our restaurant. Hopefully we can have you and your family again as our guest in the future if you and your family dicidi to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I passed at Du Progres for a lunch while on a business trip in Ghent and I have really enjoyed it. The staff is super friendly and welcoming. I had the Flemish Stew which is of course typical dish from the region and it was very good. Without asking the staff offered a free bowl of soup as a starter.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bram G
Eelde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Du Progres while on a business trip. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the service was great, and the food excellent.

Helpful?
Thank anthonyabsalom
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review
Google Translation

Beste Anthonyabsalom, Hartelijk dank dat u de tijd genomen heeft om ons te reviewen op trip advisor. Het doet ons... More 

Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for a great place to eat with an authentic vibe, service like the good old days and price/quality... look no further! You've found it! As a Ghentian in heart and kidneys (it's a Flemish saying) I truly recommend this place. The food is amazing (everything on the menu but definetly the stoverij (stew)). The interior has... More 

Helpful?
Thank IzzyBelgium
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review
Google Translation

Beste IzzyBelgium, hartelijk dank dat u de tijd genomen heeft om ons te reviewen op trip advisor. Het doet ons... More 

Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Super food, even better service. The staff were welcoming from the start, didn't expect it. Chicken breast and salmon are highly recommended, as are the creme brûlée and apple pie. Keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank dru989
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review

Dear dru989, thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. we are very happy to read that everything was fine and that you appreciate the effort of our team.Hopefully we can have you as our guest another time in the futur. Kind regards, Johan De Baets More 

Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Five, six years ago, it was very good. Now , the last time we went, it was not good at all. The quality of the food was poor.It's a pity, because the location is outstanding. Maybe it will become good again.

Helpful?
Thank christianbenoitp
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review
Google Translation

Beste christianbenoitp, hartelijk dank dat u de tijd genomen heeft om ons te reviewen op trip advisor. van elke review... More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Although service didn’t start till 6:00, we were in no rush so had a relaxing beer while looking through the menu. The food when it did come was excellent and both our chicken and steaks were served with a huge bowl of chips that the staff insisted on serving us whenever we tried to help ourselves. After the bowl was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhuu65
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review

Dear Rhuu65, thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are very happy te read that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and hopefully we can have you as our guest again in the future. kind regards, Johan De Baets More 

Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Many of Ghent's restaurants have gone over to fixed "gourmet" menus which is really difficult if you have a seafood allergy and a 12 year old child who is very picky. We were therefore delighted to find Du Progres which has a traditional a la carte menu with a great selection of Brasserie style steaks and fish dishes. English menus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
Du_Progres, Eigenaar at Du Progres, responded to this review

Dear Anthony K, thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and maybe we can have you as our guest again in the future. kind regards, Johan De Baets More 

Travelers who viewed Du Progres also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Du Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$22 - $29
Cuisine
French, Belgian, Dutch, European
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Korenmarkt 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
  • Location: Europe  >  Belgium  >  Flanders  >  East Flanders Province  >  Ghent
  • Phone Number: +32 9 225 17 16

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Du Progres and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Du Progres staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?