We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $18
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

0.3 miles from St. Bavo's Cathedral (Sint-Baafskathedraal)
Improve this listing
Sponsored by: Julie's House

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. How beautiful!
1. How beautiful!
"Delicious treats await you here."
SteveandDD
See reviews that mention How beautiful!
2. Adorable & Delicious
2. Adorable & Delicious
"the food and service were spot on. "
WhiskiedWanderlust
See reviews that mention Adorable & Delicious
3. A must visit
3. A must visit
"I go every time I have the chance."
Muahdib
See reviews that mention A must visit
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
102
61
26
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
102
61
26
14
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 14, 2020

We had four different cakes and three different coffees - and all of those were superb! Lovely place with great desserts. Nice and kind staff, and lovely decorated space.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

All in all; it was pretty good/average. But honestly I was expecting more. Walking into the store, we immediately smelled a bad smell. Not something you want to smell walking into a cake shop.. Upstairs you sit down to get service at a table. Funky...old house with cute French furniture and decoration. The service was a bit disappointing too. First, the servants were talking with each other, hardly noticing us. And when a waitress came over and we had a question about what a certain cake was (because there weren’t any descriptions on the menu), the waitress said she couldn’t describe it and we should go downstairs to ask the staff behind the counter. But you work here, you sell & serve these products! My chocolate milk wasn’t stirred, which made it harder to mix myself with the whipped cream. Some pies were good like the chocolate mousse cake others a bit disappointing like the citron crunch (not really crunchy). Even upstairs you can still smell the bad smell from downstairs a bit. The portions are big. The pieces of pie were almost 1/4 pie!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 24, 2020 via mobile

Excellent cakes, tarts, sweets! My fave was white chocolate with biscuit! Everything is really amazing!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Julies_House_PR, Guest Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2020

Thank you for your visit and great review! 😘

Reviewed November 3, 2019

We popped in for a mid-morning stop on a cold morning. We were hoping to get a hot chocolate but they didn't serve that. Instead we went for "pimped up milk". Which to be fair is exactly what it says - milk with extras but...was not really the same as hot chocolate. However it is a lovely cafe with a great atmosphere, quirky decoration and cakes to die for.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Julies_House_PR, Public Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your review an the nice words about our cafe and cakes! The pimped milk is hot, full fat milk with drops of real belgian chocolate, so it's the realest hot chocolate you can have ;) It isn't extra sweetened or...More

Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

We took a break from our busy afternoon to relax with a pot of tea and a delicious treat. It was lovely to sit outside and enjoy lovely Ghent!

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Julies_House_PR, Public Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2019

Thank you so much for the nice review!

Reviewed October 27, 2019

We had a variety of hot chocolates between us and all were much enjoyed. The cakes looked fabulous too.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Julies_House_PR, Public Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2019

Thank you so much, Robert!

Reviewed September 16, 2019

We stayed just round the corner and having walked past a few times and seen the reviews we got takeaway cake one afternoon. Service was friendly and cake (lemon tart and choco pie) was absolutely delicious. Portions were generous. Went back for breakfast and service...was ok. No one was rude, but no one was particularly friendly or helpful either. Breakfast felt expensive for what we got (half a slice of toast with the egg really seemed a bit mean) and we were really unimpressed to be charged extra for a different tea bag, especially since the first we knew was when the charge appeared on the bill. The food was fine, nothing more or less. Went back a final time to get cake to takeaway because our first experience had been so good and both had a brownie. Same woman serving as the first time we went and she was again friendly and welcoming. The brownie was nice but perhaps a bit sweet for our tastes, it wasn't as good as the choco pie and the lemon tart and I wouldn't have it again.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Julies_House_PR, Public Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Dear Almo, how nice you came back 3 times! Thank you for that! It's a pitty we didn't wow you all of those 3 times. The additional cost of the tea must have been a mistake, that is not custom. We will solve this in...More

Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

If you’re looking for somewhere to stop and have a coffee and cake, look no further! Just round the corner from the Gravensteen, along the river is this little gem! The staff are so friendly and the cakes are delicious. There’s a big variation and...they’re all home made in Ghent. Good to try Belgium chocolate pie and tarts! Upstairs seating with cosy feel. Good prices, we got 3 big portions of cakes and two coffees for €18. Definitely worth a try!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Julies_House_PR, Public Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Thank you so much, Lily! We love that you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back any time!

Reviewed August 26, 2019

Found this delightful tea house by chance as we walked the delights of Ghent. Situated near the Gravensteen, just over the bridge across the Leie Channel, it was a great spot to people watch and have a lovely mid-morning tea / coffee and cake. It...just around the corner from the Yellow Umbrella Riverboat kiosk. There is a wide choice of homemade cakes to choose from with tasters on offer as well as breakfast and varieties of tes and coffees. Served in quaint crockery, the lemon cream cake I had was sumptious whilst my 3 friends waxed - lyrical about the cheesecake. Whether you eat inside or out, this cashless tea house is well worth a visit. Highly recommended. Enjoy.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Julies_House_PR, Public Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. This means the world to us! Hope to see you again, Graham!

Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

We stopped her for breakfast because of the cute decor and reasonable prices. They took my order for a cinnamon roll and tea but after a short wait I was brought a croissant and told there were no cinnamon rolls. I asked to swap for...a scone and jam and was brought a scone with clotted cream and my friend was given her breakfast with no cutlery. Then when we went to pay the card machine was not working despite there being a sign saying ‘no cash - only card.’ Understaffed with two young ladies who were polite but I wouldn’t go back or recommend. Also wasps all over the table (I know this isn’t their fault but not a nice atmosphere for eating!)More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Julies_House_PR, Public Relations Manager at Julie's House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Dear Kayleigh, we are very sorry to read this. Of course this is not okay. We are doing everything we can to avoid all of this in the future.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Gravensteen
710 reviews
.09 miles away
Brooderie
42 reviews
.09 miles away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
2,442 reviews
.14 miles away
1898 The Post
266 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
't Galgenhuisje
285 reviews
.06 miles away
Otomat
451 reviews
.02 miles away
Het Waterhuis aan de Bierkant
636 reviews
.04 miles away
BOON
120 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Gravensteen
5,015 reviews
.04 miles away
Kraanlei
182 reviews
.05 miles away
Patershol
600 reviews
.10 miles away
Tourist Information Center
205 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NatyGwen
August 4, 2016|
Answer
Response from Maxime L | Reviewed this property |
I think the closest car park is the one underneath the Vrijdagsmarkt, which is only a 10 minute walk from Julie's. A lot of people park at Flanders Expo and take Tram 1 to the center as well. The stop for Julie's is... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing