We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Zinneke

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$19 - $45
CUISINES
Seafood, Belgian, Grill, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Le Zinneke
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
102
64
22
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
102
64
22
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels fries speculoos waffles cream menus
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today via mobile

Lovely food served in the outside courtyard at the rear on a sunny Sunday evening. Attentive, friendly staff, well made drinks. The beef stew was tender and delicious, and the mussels (Ostendaise) were of excellent quality and prepared with expertise. And of course the frites...were crispy and a wonderful accompaniment to both dishes. We finished with the chocolate mousse and the iced nougat, both rich and delicious. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed February 6, 2022 via mobile

Great food and friendly staff, I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and will go back, next time I’d like to sit in the main area at the front, cozy Brussels style bar area. Thx for the great night!

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thanks a lot for your return great reward for all the team greetings Erik

Reviewed October 21, 2021 via mobile

***** great food great service. Friendly people, very good service. They deserve five stars. Thank you Le Zinneke. 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2021

Thanks a lot for your return. It makes us so happy to receive such reviews Erik, Anouk and the team

Reviewed September 26, 2021 via mobile

hace 2 horasNUEVA We live in the area and we go for eating good mussels and bring the visits as we think is a cool place with a nice tradition "Bruxellois". However the service today has been VERY BAD and what is worse, RUDE. We had...to call them several times as they were not paying attention to our table and we couldn't have dessert as the kitchen was closed which the bold guy told us in a very bad manner. At the end we just told him that it would be nicer a reminder on when the kitchen is going to close so maybe we can order (and spend more money even!). He answered very rude saying that it was written everywhere. Ok sir, so 1 second of your time to remind the people is not worth it. Thanks, that's says a lot. Also they don't respect Covid measures, place is cramped and although the use this plastic things that already is proved that do nothing, the rude bold guy always has his mask down. It's a pity, the place it's an institution but the bard service totally makes you forget the good food.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2021

I'm not sure how to understand your comment on your meal this Sunday lunchtime. The kitchen closes at 2 p.m. and the restaurant closes at 3:30 p.m. because we are working in 2 services and this allows the staff to rest because they are back...More

Reviewed August 31, 2021 via mobile

DO NOT BOOK ON THE 25% OFF HAPPY HOUR - they will ignore you so that you overstay your booking and must therefore pay full price anyway, having rushed throughout due to slow service. The menu is great, obviously more expensive than a lot of...other places but the restaurant is very cute and there are so many options. The mussels were delicious, definitely good quality - but what let it down was the service: Waiters were so unwilling to actually serve us. We arrived at 7pm and it was a fully forty minutes before someone even attempted to take our food order. For the majority of that time, we were constantly trying to make eye contact (as we knew our booking ended after 100 minutes) and felt we were purposefully ignored. When we finally got a waiter’s attention (the one who seated us with menus and was wondering around), he said he wasn’t responsible for food orders and we would need to speak to his colleague. This was strange as we saw him taking orders - and he did not pass the message on to a relevant waiter, and this other colleague avoided us like the plague. It was 40 minutes until he stopped ducking his head at our gaze and came over. By the time we got our food, we had 15 minutes to eat, due to a requirement to leave our table (stated when booking) at 8:20pm. Although 40 mins to speak to a waiter was super slow, normally I would just leave it, but we were under time pressure (which they knew). We felt rushed and anxious about this the whole time. To our surprise, at exactly 8:20, mid-meal, we were told we needed to leave the table. I explained that we had been unable to even speak to a waiter for forty minutes, despite our best efforts. We were told we would be charged an extra 25% if we did not vacate the table. This was crazy as the restaurant was now half empty, so they could definitely have allowed us to stay a little longer in apology for the slow and reluctant service. In the end, we left having not finished our mussels and not even touched the fries yet. I felt so uncomfortable and rushed. So message to the restaurant: no problem with requiring 7pm bookings to leave at 8:20pm, but please then actually allow them to make an order. It felt like we were deliberately ignored so that we’d be forced to pay the 25% more - other tables were served sooner and as soon as the clock struck, you were ready to kick us out. Don’t allow people to book on the happy hour if it is physically impossible to receive and finish (when eating quickly) the food in that timeframe.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello What you describe here is absolutely not the way it should happen, i dont know what to say i am very sorry for this unpleasant experience. We have a lot of people coming for the Happy Hour and we always try to ask them...More

Reviewed June 11, 2021 via mobile

good service, excellent measures anticovid, beautiful location but far too expensive. dozens of different mussels, but the taste was similar. we were convinced to go to one of the best restaurants in brussels, but we ate very badly. even the speculoos-banana waffle was tasteless, cold...with a couple of broken cookies on the cream. a really bad experience.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2021

Terribly sorry for you experience in our restaurant, it is a very strange feedback for us, we are very strict for the quality of our food as for the service and most of our customers taste and feel it in Le Zinneke greetings érik

Reviewed July 27, 2020

Friendly atmosphere, the carte of 70 recettes of moules is our main reason of us always coming back as we know it'll always be good, superior quality of moules....Other tables ordered typical Belgian fares which all looked good. Coming back after the lock-down, security measures...done with plastic sheets separation in each tables, waiters wearing masks (and keep it throughout service) - there's box of masks for guests on the door in case of need and hand gels. Guests wearing masks when they get up from tables. I went to other restaurants in Brussels, which many don't even put separation between tables (only small tables marked with cross or a planter pot), but often so tight so the distance doesn't serve any purpose. Zinneke's set up is a good measure.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2020

thanks a lot for your review, it is quite difficult to respect all the security measures but we do our best and think we are a on the good way. Hope to see you soon greetings Erik and Anouk

Reviewed July 14, 2020

As delicious the food as insufficient the COVID attitude !! Tables are not distanciated but separated by plastic sheets. Waiters wear a plastic head cover protecting themselves but not the client , no mouth masks at all. One waiter didn’t even wear a cover all...the time. This is not to reassure prudent clients at all... This customer is not going back to ‘t Zinneke , and worse it doesn’t motivate me to visit more restaurants.. This sloppy attitude kills business ,,More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2020

Hello we are completely up to covid standards and respect Belgian law to the letter. Every table is separated with a screen. You realize that you tell me in your opinion that the food was delicious and that you rate the restaurant on the covid...More

Reviewed June 26, 2020

my favorite restaurant is OPEN welcome back guys as always the service and food was perfect it cannot be easy having to deal with the rules on distancing for a restaurant but they have made it a comfortable place to eat and worked their magic...with a smile thanks to Erik & Anouk and we will see you soon againMore

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?5  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2020

thanks a lot for your feedback, it is effectivly not easy but it is our job ;-} see you soon greetings érik, Anouk and the all Team

Reviewed March 10, 2020

Le Zinneke is a local restaurant prefered by locals. They are serving over 60 different recipes of mussels soup. Generally I can say that it was tasty and the price is reasonable. In rush hours it is not so easy to find a table. At...the entrance of the restaurant, I have been informed that, because of some problems with the POS machine credit card is not valid for the day, I visited the place. Deriving from opinions of other visitors, it seems to be a common issue. Before visiting this place keep in mind that you may need to have cash with you.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2020

Hi thank you for your feedback, it is a cool "cliché" of our restaurant. We had in February a lot of problems with the credit card machine connections. We accept Master, Visa, American and Cash Erik and Anouk

Reviewed March 3, 2020 via mobile

Visited here, like probably many others, after watching travel man on channel 4. The restaurant is located just over half an hour from the city centre on foot and I was really looking forward to eating here but ended up bitterly disappointed. The service was...very slow despite only four other people in the restaurant and I ended up waiting over 30 ministers for the beer that I ordered! When I told the waiter I didn’t want it as I had finished my dinner he said I would have to pay for it anyway even though I asked another waiter to cancel it as I had waited too long. Rude and miscommunication between staff leaving me thirsty and out of pocket. I spoke to the manager and he told me the staff were getting used to a new booking, order and payment system but I told maybe get them trained up before opening the restaurant??? Average mussels and chips, I’ve had better in several other restaurants in Belgium. Really disappointing visit as the menu looks great. Maybe they were just having a bad day but I’m highly unlikely to return.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?3  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2020

We have a lot of persons coming because they saw us on channel 4. As you can see in the feedback of other customers, the experience you had in Le Zinneke is not a usual situation and i am terribly sorry for that. I hope...More

Reviewed February 19, 2020 via mobile

Far from most places if you stay in the centre of Brussels but the food and aroma will make you want to find this place delicious delicacy. I had the famous champagne Mussels and chips really good and too much didn’t have room for dessert...and a shot to end a beautiful night lovely atmosphereMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

thanks a lot for your feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed your diner in Le Zinneke Hope you had a lovely stay in Belgium Erik and Anouk

Reviewed February 9, 2020

Very large mussels and the menu choice was varied. Highly recommend this restaurant although slightly off the beaten track

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2020

thanks a lot for this feedback, have a nice stay in our country Erik and Anouk

Reviewed January 26, 2020 via mobile

This restaurant is specialized in mussles. The wine is good and personel is friendly and quick. Only a windscreen near the door would help. Great place.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2020

thank you for this return glad you enjoyed it greetings érik and Anouk

Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

Everything about it screams “Authentic Brussels Experience “. 69 varieties of mussels, excellent Belgian fries and great Belgian Beer. Host was super hospitable and welcoming. Check out the Mannekin Pis downstairs.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

A great "thank you" for your feedback, it is primordial for us to make you having such an "Authentic Brussels Experience" in your plate and with our staff greetings have a nice stay in Belgium Erik and Anouk

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Plasky
85 reviews
.32 miles away
Housingbrussels
218 reviews
.40 miles away
FunKey Hotel
442 reviews
.41 miles away
Hotel Bentley
175 reviews
.80 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Master frites Brussels
109 reviews
.28 miles away
Chez Marraine
81 reviews
.17 miles away
Napoli Da Leonardo
101 reviews
.22 miles away
Beyrouth Palace
65 reviews
.24 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Parc Josaphat
200 reviews
.45 miles away
Musee Schaerbeekois de la Biere
38 reviews
.86 miles away
Piscine Neptunium
6 reviews
.83 miles away
Maison Saint Cyr
32 reviews
.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ShoGag
August 19, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Erik H | Property representative |
Hi yes with different kinds of beer in separate preparation Greetings Erik
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Zinneke

Yes, Le Zinneke offers takeout services.

Yes, Le Zinneke is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Le Zinneke is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4