We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$20 - $46
CUISINES
Belgian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: Le Zinneke

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Nice gem in Brussels
1. Nice gem in Brussels
"Great food and friendly staff, I would definitely recommend"
Boumbaye
See reviews that mention Nice gem in Brussels
2. best mussels ever
2. best mussels ever
"great food great service. Friendly people, very good service"
BanuBaysal
See reviews that mention best mussels ever
3. Authentic Brussels Brasserie
3. Authentic Brussels Brasserie
"They have a huge variety in different way of preparing mussels"
Nosferatu77
See reviews that mention Authentic Brussels Brasserie
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
108
64
23
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
108
64
23
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels fries chocolate mousse belgian food cream broth tourist mouth
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was quite good, albeit a tad overpriced. My girlfriend eagerly ordered the 'vegan' meatballs in rich tomato sauce, only to discover they came with fries fried in beef tallow! This left her stuck with the complimentary bread, as they couldn't offer an alternative....To add to the frustration, they strictly limit bill splitting to just twice, which proved challenging with our large group. Despite these hiccups, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating and the ambiance was great. P.S. you have to pay extra for sauce on your steak.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello anthony, we are not a Vegan restaurant. We are proud to offer 5 different vegan options for the people who want to eat that way. We defend first the belgium cuisine and the fries in Belgium must be fried in beef fat, it is...More

Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed September 24, 2022 via mobile

We lived and worked in Belgium over a decade ago, and both Belgium and its people have retained a special place In our hearts, hence our return for a brief city break. I found Le Zinneke appeared repeatedly on review sites when searching for a...great place to eat near Brussels. We booked an early table (1830) as had been travelling from the early hours. We were taken through to the seating area in the rear. This has a familial feel to it, with larger groups eating together etc. The service hits just the right note between not rushing you, but also acknowledging that they are a busy restaurant so need to ensure the tables are turned around in order to honour later bookings. My husband and I had the mussels (me, Vin et Cream, him Diablo) and our friend tentatively tried the Americaan which he really enjoyed. Our Mussels with hot Belgian frites, a thick, tasty home made mayonnaise and a beautiful sauce to dip the mussels in were simply the best we had ever had. The portion was so generous, the broth mouth-wateringly delicious, the mussels themselves plump and soft. We didn’t want them to end! You simply MUST try Le Zinneke. You won’t be disappointed.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2022

Thank you so much for this return. It is very important for us to know that you appreciate our cuisine and service marvelous reward for all the team What a pity you left our beautiful city and its people, Hope you enjoyed your trip back...More

Reviewed April 3, 2024 via mobile

Bad. We came here because we saw it on Travel Man - a UK TV show - and we wanted to have authentic moules frites in Brussels. Ordered two moules dishes, one with saffron cream, the other white wine, garlic and cream. Both delicate, subtle...dishes. Received two very different meals. We flagged this to the waiters who merely swapped them over between me and my wife. What we actually had was Moules Congalaise (hot African chillies) and another dish. It’s very hard when you are trying to order and speak in a second language to feel confident enough to complain or to flag that you’ve been given the wrong thing. I mentioned to a young waiter but he was dismissive that it was correct. At the end of the meal, the maitre d’ / owner acknowledged the dishes were completely wrong (it would be difficult to be more different). We had no replacement dishes offered or different moules whilst we were eating - the conversation waited until the end of the meal. They did take off the bill the aperitifs we had and the water for the table (which was less than the price of the moules) but we still paid for the food and the wine. They also said the few sweets and liqueurs / digestifs were free, but that was clearly the case for everyone else. It’s made us really sad and is very disappointing, having moules and frites in Brussels was a special thing for us. It took us hours to get here (UK trains - not the fault of the restaurant) and we had very high hopes. Finally - I’m always really hesitant and careful to write a poor review of a family run / local restaurant, but this was bad and then wasn’t handled very well or generously. Team could have changed the food as soon as they realised the error or given the food for free. I would have happily paid for wine and drinks we had.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2024

Hi, I am terribly sorry for what happened. The person that served you is a student in training, He badly took the decision to serve you 2 pot of mussel without asking permission and bring you the wrong mussels. When your Mussels came out of...More

Reviewed September 16, 2023 via mobile

Honestly, the friendly staff (and the fries) made the points. A place that must have had it’s fame a decade ago. Unfortunately it is not the past that gets you a grade. Escargots from a can? A chef unable to make a medium entrecôte? Come...get a lesson by my son (17 years of age). Better go somewhere else..More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2023

Hello, escagots are coming from "Escargotière Saint Veron in Braine le Château" and are fresh. The owner will be very glad to know your meaning about his product. You had a "Filet pur" and not a "entrecôte" and it was medium witch is not the...More

Reviewed June 5, 2023

Le Zinneke is definitely worth the hype - they boast that they have 69 different ways of doing mussels, and the two bowls we had were sensational ( we could barely finish!). Due to the warm weather we sat out in the patio which was...lovely, service was friendly and attentive and the dishes were great value for money.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2023

Thank you so much for this review, once again, great reward for the all Team witch fight every day to do their best to cook for you and to serve you Erik , Anouk and The Team

Reviewed June 1, 2023

This place is great if you want the best mussels in Brussels. Service is also ok and the staff is friendly.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2023

Thank you very much for your rerturn Hope you enjoyed your stay in Belgium Erik, Anouk and The Team

Reviewed May 20, 2023

Picked this mussels restaurant from the Travel Man TV show and was not disappointed. A bit off the beaten track, this restaurant is full of character. The food is excellent with a huge helping of mussels (with a choice of 69 different sauce) and chips....Delicious. The service was good with friendly and helpful staff. If you like mussels, Le Zinneke is a must.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2023

Thank you very much. We had a great time with the team of Travel man years ago. We are so glad to hear that you spend a great moment in Le Zinneke and enjoyed the food. Erik, Anouk and the Team

Reviewed May 20, 2023 via mobile

Unbelievable food and service. Best mussels in Brussels! Well worth the trip out of the centre as we were all so spoilt for choice with over 60 different variations of mussels and the sauce. Amazing, amazing, amazing! Could not recommend more to anyone visiting.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2023

Hi, thank you very much for your return. It is a pleasure to accomodate you in Le Zinneke. Marvelous reward for the all team that fight every day to give you the best experience possible in our restaurant. Erik, Anouk and the Team

Reviewed April 30, 2023 via mobile

A wonderful Belgian evening with excellent food, friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable prices for plenty of food. A bit off the mainstream tourist tracks. We'd love to come back and try other combinations of the extensive menu.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik Hemelsoet, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2023

Thank you so much for this return, it is a pleasure to work for customers who appreciate all our efforts to accomodate you the best we can and serve you our traditional cuisine. Erik, Anouk and the Team

Reviewed September 4, 2022 via mobile

Very very disappointing. Travelled a long way for our wedding anniversary with our 3 small boys and I asked if we could sit in the main restaurant rather than the garden, we were moved to the tacky fake foliage with butterfly’s and I asked again...and the woman was just so rude. We decided to leave before ordering anything, we didn’t try anything but left with a very bad taste. Ended up having a lovely meal in Louise and much better service and atmosphere. I would avoid this place at all costs….and when I say cost this is not a good value restaurant, the back areas and garden area do not warrant the price per dish. No ambience and just soulless. So glad we left before spending any money here.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le_Zinneke_Resto, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2022

Hello You arrived at 6 p.m. as the first customers of the restaurant, it is logic that there is not yet an atmosphere at that time. The first room is always closed when the weather permits to welcome customers on the terrace. You didn't want...More

Reviewed May 23, 2022 via mobile

Lovely food served in the outside courtyard at the rear on a sunny Sunday evening. Attentive, friendly staff, well made drinks. The beef stew was tender and delicious, and the mussels (Ostendaise) were of excellent quality and prepared with expertise. And of course the frites...were crispy and a wonderful accompaniment to both dishes. We finished with the chocolate mousse and the iced nougat, both rich and delicious. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2022

thank you so much for your return hope you had a wonderful stay in belgium greeting Erik, Anouk and the Team

Reviewed February 6, 2022 via mobile

Great food and friendly staff, I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and will go back, next time I’d like to sit in the main area at the front, cozy Brussels style bar area. Thx for the great night!

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2022

thanks a lot for your return great reward for all the team greetings Erik

Reviewed October 21, 2021 via mobile

***** great food great service. Friendly people, very good service. They deserve five stars. Thank you Le Zinneke. 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2021

Thanks a lot for your return. It makes us so happy to receive such reviews Erik, Anouk and the team

Reviewed September 26, 2021 via mobile

hace 2 horasNUEVA We live in the area and we go for eating good mussels and bring the visits as we think is a cool place with a nice tradition "Bruxellois". However the service today has been VERY BAD and what is worse, RUDE. We had...to call them several times as they were not paying attention to our table and we couldn't have dessert as the kitchen was closed which the bold guy told us in a very bad manner. At the end we just told him that it would be nicer a reminder on when the kitchen is going to close so maybe we can order (and spend more money even!). He answered very rude saying that it was written everywhere. Ok sir, so 1 second of your time to remind the people is not worth it. Thanks, that's says a lot. Also they don't respect Covid measures, place is cramped and although the use this plastic things that already is proved that do nothing, the rude bold guy always has his mask down. It's a pity, the place it's an institution but the bard service totally makes you forget the good food.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2021

I'm not sure how to understand your comment on your meal this Sunday lunchtime. The kitchen closes at 2 p.m. and the restaurant closes at 3:30 p.m. because we are working in 2 services and this allows the staff to rest because they are back...More

Reviewed August 31, 2021 via mobile

DO NOT BOOK ON THE 25% OFF HAPPY HOUR - they will ignore you so that you overstay your booking and must therefore pay full price anyway, having rushed throughout due to slow service. The menu is great, obviously more expensive than a lot of...other places but the restaurant is very cute and there are so many options. The mussels were delicious, definitely good quality - but what let it down was the service: Waiters were so unwilling to actually serve us. We arrived at 7pm and it was a fully forty minutes before someone even attempted to take our food order. For the majority of that time, we were constantly trying to make eye contact (as we knew our booking ended after 100 minutes) and felt we were purposefully ignored. When we finally got a waiter’s attention (the one who seated us with menus and was wondering around), he said he wasn’t responsible for food orders and we would need to speak to his colleague. This was strange as we saw him taking orders - and he did not pass the message on to a relevant waiter, and this other colleague avoided us like the plague. It was 40 minutes until he stopped ducking his head at our gaze and came over. By the time we got our food, we had 15 minutes to eat, due to a requirement to leave our table (stated when booking) at 8:20pm. Although 40 mins to speak to a waiter was super slow, normally I would just leave it, but we were under time pressure (which they knew). We felt rushed and anxious about this the whole time. To our surprise, at exactly 8:20, mid-meal, we were told we needed to leave the table. I explained that we had been unable to even speak to a waiter for forty minutes, despite our best efforts. We were told we would be charged an extra 25% if we did not vacate the table. This was crazy as the restaurant was now half empty, so they could definitely have allowed us to stay a little longer in apology for the slow and reluctant service. In the end, we left having not finished our mussels and not even touched the fries yet. I felt so uncomfortable and rushed. So message to the restaurant: no problem with requiring 7pm bookings to leave at 8:20pm, but please then actually allow them to make an order. It felt like we were deliberately ignored so that we’d be forced to pay the 25% more - other tables were served sooner and as soon as the clock struck, you were ready to kick us out. Don’t allow people to book on the happy hour if it is physically impossible to receive and finish (when eating quickly) the food in that timeframe.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erik H, Propriétaire at Le Zinneke, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2022

Hello What you describe here is absolutely not the way it should happen, i dont know what to say i am very sorry for this unpleasant experience. We have a lot of people coming for the Happy Hour and we always try to ask them...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Plasky
85 reviews
.32 miles away
Housingbrussels
221 reviews
.40 miles away
FunKey Hotel
469 reviews
.41 miles away
Hotel Bentley
178 reviews
.80 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Napoli
107 reviews
.22 miles away
Beyrouth Palace
65 reviews
.24 miles away
1030 Cafe
7 reviews
.18 miles away
Copain
16 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Parc Josaphat
200 reviews
.45 miles away
Musee Schaerbeekois de la Biere
41 reviews
.86 miles away
Neptunium
7 reviews
.83 miles away
Maison Saint Cyr
36 reviews
.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ShoGag
August 19, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Erik H | Property representative |
Hi yes with different kinds of beer in separate preparation Greetings Erik
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LE ZINNEKE, Brussels - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Order Online Food Delivery - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Zinneke

Yes, Le Zinneke offers takeout services.

Yes, Le Zinneke is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Le Zinneke is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4