We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#125 of 676 Cafe in Amsterdam
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe
Meals
Late Night, Drinks
FEATURES
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
188
80
20
12
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
188
80
20
12
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza table service relaxed atmosphere love this place great drinks milkshakes weed hookah cat coffeeshop joint
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 11, 2020

My second time in Amsterdam and wanted to try this cafe, as soon as we sat down I immediately felt uncomfortable! It’s very cramped and the staff come across quite rude and pushy, very bad customer service! As I was sat on the cushioned seat...by the front facing the bar all of a sudden I feel something bite me! Look down and some green insect is scurrying off, my forearm started to go red and the bite started to bleed I got up and told a member of staff she said follow me... she bought me outside to put HAND SANITISER on it!! Honestly the place needs a good clean it’s deceiving! The prices are disgraceful!!! We was only in there 20 minutes before leaving! We ordered a coke and Budweiser and the bill came to €24!!!!!???? I would of questioned the bill but because I had been bit and felt anxious I wanted to leave ASAP! Would not recommend at all.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 15, 2020

My boyfriend highly rated this place when he’d visited with ‘his boys’... My opinion would be that the place is over priced, the waitresses are pushy for you to buy more drinks, you’re literally in earshot of many other parties so when smoking and drinking,...it can feel a bit intense rather than chilled. Oh and the cocktails hardly had any booze in them. Other than that the decor was ok 👍🏾More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 12, 2020 via mobile

Felt uncomfortable with this place. The waitress spoke to me like I was mentally slow, even counting out my change to me coin by coin. I went in planning to spend the day and the contents of my wallet and left before I finished my...first drink.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 28, 2020

Great place with standout service! Bella was incredibly attentive and made the experience worthwhile!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 28, 2020

Found this place by mistake whilst on holiday with my friend last weekend. We went inside and was greeted by a lady at the door who then led us to our table and explained the menu to us. We both had strawberry daiquiris, which were...sooo good!! But what really made us stay here for so long was the atmosphere, it’s really colourful with loads of couches to lay down on, live DJ, it’s was bustling with people, the waitresses were running around yet still always really kind and helpful and the wait for the drinks wasn’t long at all either for how busy it was. We will be returning on our next trip for sure 😊More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
lostinamsterdamer, Marketing at Lost in Amsterdam Lounge & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Dear Faith, thank you so much for your feedback! We always glad to see happy customers!

Reviewed September 27, 2020

Had a lovely time, good service from Bella, highly recommend this place if you are in Amsterdam and looking for a good place

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
lostinamsterdamer, Marketing at Lost in Amsterdam Lounge & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

Thanks Oliver, so glad to hear you had a good time! :)

Reviewed September 22, 2020 via mobile

I have been to Lost for drinks with a friend. I Loved the cocktails and the girls working there were great and interesting.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
lostinamsterdamer, Marketing at Lost in Amsterdam Lounge & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

Thank you!

Reviewed September 22, 2020

We stopped over in Lost to take a break from shopping and stayed for hours! The milkshakes and cocktails were delicious, the girls working there were great, friendly and efficient. Fantastic atmosphere and great music. We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
lostinamsterdamer, Marketing at Lost in Amsterdam Lounge & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you again! :)

Reviewed September 19, 2020

Please do yourself a favour and AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS! Upon arrival, me and my friend were greeted by a lady with dark brunette hair at the door. As this was our first time coming here, we were unsure about how it worked...(if they sold cannabis, whether we were allowed to smoke etc), the woman clarified everything with us before telling us we could just seat ourselves anywhere. We decided to go downstairs as she had mentioned it was a nice closed off vibe downstairs; it was really dark and gave me grandma's basement vibes - pretty sure the chairs and cushions hadn't been cleaned for years. The same woman who greeted us at the door then came downstairs and asked us what we wanted to drink - I was honestly gobsmacked when I looked through the menu because I know Amsterdam is expensive but £5 for a glass of orange juice is just daylight robbery. Anyway, we ended up ordering two drinks and received the bill straight after as the waitress told us we would have to pay upfront. We asked for the card machine as we had no cash due to it being more convenient for us and to be safer during COVID-19 - in 2020, who doesn't take card anyway? Oh wait, LOST IN AMSTERDAM DON'T TAKE CARD PAYMENTS! She proceeded to inform us that there was an ATM in the shop opposite the lounge, where we would be able to take out cash, but we didn't want to take out cash as we were leaving the next day and didn't want loose Euros, and of course it would charge us a fee to take out money. We then walked back up to the bar and told the waitress that we didn't want to take out cash as it would cause us inconvenience and if we had been told upon arrival that it was cash payments only, we wouldn't have gone inside or ordered any drinks. The bar lady turned around and told us she was already making the drinks so we'd have to pay for them as if we didn't, it was the waitress' responsibility to pay for the waste. I then explained that if we were told about the cash only beforehand, we would not have ordered the drinks but both waitresses were basically ganging up on us, making us feel like we had no choice or entitlement to change our mind about staying in the establishment but to go to the cashpoint and pay for the drinks. We then went across the road to the ATM, which told us we would be charged a ridiculous fee for taking out cash, so we decided to try an ATM further down the road. When the waitress saw us walking out of the shop and towards the other ATM, she stopped us and asked us where we were going. We explained the situation to her and that it was already an inconvenience to take out cash so we wanted to minimise any extra costs. The ridiculous woman then proceeded to ridiculously ask one of us to stay with her whilst the other goes to get cash - EXCUSE ME? First of all, we have the right to change our mind if we wanted to, especially if it was due to a mistake made by the staff and secondly, me and my friend are two young girls in a foreign country, there was no way I was going to separate from my friend. She was practically begging as she was convinced we were trying to run away from the bill and making us feel uncomfortable so we ended up giving her a bag full of goods we had purchased earlier, reassuring her that we would come back for it as we refused to split up. We went to get the cash (which we were still charged a ridiculous amount for) and came back to pay for the drinks. When we got the bill, we saw "3 EUROS COVID HYGIENE FEE" - Just another policy we were uninformed about but expected to know. The place was dusty as hell and I don't even want to imagine the bacteria that has seeped into the cushions as people take their shoes off and put their socks on them etc. Also, no hand sanitiser or any precautions taken by staff to be seen throughout the whole experience and on top of that, the menu was sticky and dirty so I'm really not sure what the 'hygiene fee' is supposed to cover? We were already livid at this point so confronted one of the other waitresses about this (British girl with short brunette hair - she was lovely, very polite and understanding of the situation, probably the only decent employee in there) and she kindly removed the fee for us. After paying for the drinks, we got the bag back and sat down for a bit. When we looked in our bag, we had seen that the waitress had gone through OUR BELONGINGS as we had a packet missing. This is beyond unprofessional especially as we didn't even have to leave our bag with her but only did so because she made us feel like we had to! I then received a message from my friend who told me that a mouse ran past his foot when he came to the lounge a few months ago - but this is the same place that's trying to charge a 'hygiene fee'? We decided to leave after this because we felt uncomfortable and angry. Overall, I'm really disappointed because my whole trip in Amsterdam was a positive one until I came to this backwards, ridiculous, joke of a 'lounge'. So please don't waste your time here, there are plenty of other nice coffee shops/bars for you to vibe in :) Also, if you're a part of management and you're reading this, please train your staff properly or employ decent people because your employees are ridiculous and clearly don't understand how customers should be treated (except the nice girl mentioned above).More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
lostinamsterdamer, Marketing at Lost in Amsterdam Lounge & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

Hi Karen, We are extremely sorry for your bad experience and for how this situation escalated. We have been serving happy customers for over 15 years now, and we have always had a cash-only, up-front payment as our house policy, but we apologize for the...More

Reviewed September 14, 2020

I wish I didn't have to write this, however I feel this is sadly one of those places taking advantage of the recent pandemic (COVID-19). I understand a lot of restaurants/bars have closed down or have lost a lot of money due to COVID-19. However...it is NOT OKAY to mislead customers to pocket extra money. Upon arrival we was greeted with a friendly service and said we could sit wherever was available, which at the time was only seats just outside the toilet at the back downstairs which was stuffy, and claustrophobic. Of course we wasn't asked if we wanted drinks as the staff couldn't see we was there, but in my opinion if you know seating is there you should check to see if customers are attended to. After 20 minutes we decided to go back upstairs to find other seating, then finally someone took our drinks order, ONLY THEN TO BE TOLD it's 1.50 EURO per person for a COVID fee. Sorry what?! Have they just made this up?! There is no COVID fee! To charge 1.50 for a COVID fee is laughable, what does this fee go to as it certainly doesn't go towards cleanliness or peoples health and safety. No hand sanitiser provided that I could see, carpets look like they haven't been hovered for weeks, and they don't even wipe down the tables when clearing dirty glasses. No where else in Amsterdam across the 4 days we was there was asking for a COVID fee, and it is very sly and extremely unprofessional to demand this fee only once people have sat down and ordered drinks. This should be mentioned upon arrival to customers, then they can decide whether they still want to use the establishment, shameful!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of
tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists
and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the
best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe.
Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops
of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones
Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods
such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Plaza Hotel
66 reviews
.01 miles away
Hotel Groenendael
75 reviews
.01 miles away
Hotel Multatuli
601 reviews
.04 miles away
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
4,151 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Toastable Nieuwendijk
589 reviews
.03 miles away
Stubbe's haring
207 reviews
.06 miles away
Jacketz
645 reviews
.02 miles away
Ava Cyril
854 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
De Poezenboot
422 reviews
.10 miles away
De vermoeide Reiziger
7 reviews
.07 miles away
Dille and Kamille
32 reviews
.02 miles away
Club Mystique
8 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
defaultn
August 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Snowy G | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately I didn’t get a shisha there. I can inform you that it’s reasonably priced and comfy with a great variety of drinks.
0
Votes
Fay L
September 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 70nikkip | Reviewed this property |
Yes I think so
1
Vote
GalwayGirl181
December 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ginerochi | Reviewed this property |
No, but around you have 3834823 shops selling.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing