We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Koh-i-Noor

Rokin 18, 1012 KR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 627 2118
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good36%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“rice” (29 reviews)
“poppadoms” (16 reviews)
“curry” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rokin 18, 1012 KR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have frequently visited Koh-I-Noor both Westermarkt, and Rokin. I visited the Rokin restaurant last week and I was very disappointed by everything. The staff could not handle how busy the restaurant was, they were snappy with customers and seemed uninterested. The portions seem to...More

Thank Zoe d
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was horrible. The portions were too small. They think they can charge almost 19 euros for third class butter chicken. I am an Indian myself and work for a food inspection company. I went there as a mystery shopper and really it was...More

Thank Shona5678
sardool s, Owner at Koh-i-Noor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very much respected shohna ji, thanks for your wonderful review, First of all if you like to advertise your friends/ family restaurant. You may do it but you can do it without criticissing other restaurants. If you are a good cook and know Indian food...More

Reviewed July 4, 2017

restaurant was full, we had to wait for at least 25 minutes at the bar area, ones seated , the service and the food was excellent. We would strongly recommend Butter chicken and Lamb chop masala as main course. Chicken wings and seek kebab as...More

Thank Rajinder S
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

We were a bit worried that there would be a long wait but were seated immediately. We thought that the food was great. We would definately go back.

Thank Noam G
Reviewed June 5, 2017

We stopped in for lunch while shopping in Amsterdam. The restaurant was crowded but we lucked out and got a table without a long wait. (Not a place for private conversation! Rather than try to yell over him, we just listened to the rather long...More

Thank 2fromsa
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

We ordered chicken tikka n paneer masala. We had told at the time of order that we want according to the Indian palate, food should be tangy n moderately spicy. Food was bland n pretty tasteless. We managed it with the mint sauce n hot...More

Thank V3AS
Reviewed May 28, 2017

Lots of quite negative reviews. The four of us turned up without booking and were told to expect a wait of about ten minutes (there were outside seats available for us to wait). In fact, we waited less than five minutes. The restaurant serves litre...More

Thank Nick L
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We dropped in early one evening and were lucky to get the last table, for two. It looks like a small place and tables are close together so it's not ideal for a confidential conversation. But it certainly is a place for good Indian food....More

Thank pookydoodle
Reviewed May 14, 2017

We went here twice, just to make sure it wasn't a fluke, lovely moist chicken, really tasty curry, great service, If you like a hot curry, ask for spicy as very mild so good for every one in the family.

Thank Brendan R
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Mooosssst delicious food.. with some of the dishes even better than india itself.. staff is extremely good.. and rates are exceptionally genuine.. the restaurant is always overflowing not only with indians but also lots of foreigners and locals coming for the indian food.. we have...More

Thank Aman T
Nearby
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the
Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its
saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to
view some of the city’s most picturesque canals,
historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples
of traditional local architecture – not to mention
Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist
temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Van Kerkwijk
1,867 reviews
.04 miles away
The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar
774 reviews
.06 miles away
FuLu Mandarijn Amsterdam
1,691 reviews
.02 miles away
Cafe de Dam, Louis Bar
251 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dam Square
9,497 reviews
.08 miles away
Ripley's Believe It or Not! Amsterdam
392 reviews
.05 miles away
Madame Tussauds Amsterdam
5,171 reviews
.06 miles away
National Monument
300 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Koh-i-Noor staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$18 - $28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rokin 18, 1012 KR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam>  > Red Light District (De Wallen)
  • Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
  • Phone Number: +31 20 627 2118
  • E-mail
Description
Dear ladies/gentlemen, my request is to replace the extra addition of location (red light district) better to write (near dam square).It is just two minutes walk from dam square. Red light area is 15 min.Walk from our rest.So will you pls.Replace that for me.As when customers read that some family members will not like to come to rest as they think that may be it is in red light.It is not in the red light.Pls.Will you change this for me. Thank you in advance, sardool singh(owner)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing