We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hosokawa

) #817 of 3,326 Restaurants in Amsterdam $$$$ , Japanese, Sushi
Max Euweplein 22, 1017 MB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 638 8086
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“sushi” (23 reviews)
“miso soup” (3 reviews)
“beef” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Grill, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Max Euweplein 22, 1017 MB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

The place is very nice, the food is delicious, the attention is also very nice. The only thing is the serving time, too slow for getting the food. Recommendation, be prepared to spend sometime having dinner and enjoying the atmosphere. Not recommended if you are...More

Thank Gely M
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Dear Gely M, thank you for your kind review. Our chefs at Hosokawa prepare the food according to a high level of standards, therefore the waiting time could be a little bit longer than expected. Hope you had a good overall experience at Hosokawa and...More

Reviewed February 21, 2017

My boyfriend and I made a reservation whilst we were at home in London. We fancied going somewhere special for Valentine's Day, Wow. We had an excellent experience at Hosokawa. We really enjoyed everything the restaurant had to offer. As we arrived, the members of...More

Thank sianellen100
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Dear sianellen100, we read your review with an ineffable pleasure. We feel truly honoured that you decided to spend such an important day in our restaurant and we are happy to hear that we fully met your expectations. We try to develop and change for...More

Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

We walked by the restaurant on a sunday around 6pm and decided to go in because it looked really nice. We were lucky to get a table. The waitress was really knowledgeable and explained the different dishes to us. We chose several different kind of...More

Thank Olivia M
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Dear Olivia, thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for all the nice words - we really appreciate your opinion and of course we are looking forward to welcoming you again...More

Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

Visited here February 2017 for Business dinner. We had Teppanyaki for our group and food was really delicious (chefs menu). For some reason the cook was really hassling a lot and seemed that he had just too much pressure. But the actual problem was serving....More

1  Thank Kari L
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2017

Hi Kari, Thank you for visiting Hosokawa Amsterdam and appreciate our food. I’m sorry to hear that our service was not up to par that night. Our teppanyaki table is usually reserved for 9 people with a maximum of 12. As an exception we accepted...More

Reviewed January 12, 2017

Pleasant place, but unfit for an early, mixed dining group. We were a party of 7, including two toddlers and our parents, both 80+. Aware of extra needs, we reserved and came early, at 6PM, bringing an extra baby chair. The spacy place was almost...More

3  Thank Riemer K
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Riemer, thank you very much for your candid and valuable feedback. We have analysed your review thoroughly and we appreciate the effort you made in describing all the aspects of your visit. We are very sorry that you experienced all the inconvenience. We sincerely...More

Reviewed January 12, 2017

I called last Friday around 6 to see if there is a table available. They said that they are fully booked. I asked if there is any place available on the sushi bar. They said that there is a possibility but they cannot guarantee. He...More

Thank Wikoo7
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

Dear Wikoo7, we are sorry you were not able to spend your evening at our restaurant. Unfortunately at this time of the year we are almost always fully booked. During your phone call our staff had a pure intention to find an available table for...More

Reviewed January 5, 2017

Bought a nudeal coupon for a lunch set. I chose a karage (fried chicken) bento with gyoza and miso soup. Before going there I interacted with them on their Facebook page, they always responded promptly to my queries. Upon arrival, the waitress who greeted and...More

Thank humanityisdoomed
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Dear humanityisdoomed, it’s nice to hear that you really enjoyed your lunch - we are very grateful for all the words of appreciation from you. We are thankful for the time you spent to give us this valuable feedback and for sharing your pictures with...More

Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Convenient location, great atmosphere, friendly and attentive service, but, most importantly, really fresh, creative, delicious food! Sushi and sashimi is wonderful, and the grilled food looked and smelled fab too. Good value for money. We really enjoyed ourselves here and hope to be back soon!

1  Thank peartree259
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2016

Dear peartree259, thank you for your amazing review - it’s a great pleasure to hear that you really enjoyed every aspect of your visit. Your feedback gives us a lot of motivation for our future work. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

A genuinely authentic Japanese Restaurant close to the centre of Amsterdam.... Miso soup starter followed by a great selection of Sashimi and Sushi before choosing from a varied range of mains including Japanese Seafood Tempura.... All washed down by a nice Viognier. The restaurant is...More

Thank Phil W
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Dear Phil W, thank you for visiting our restaurant. It was a great pleasure for us to host you. We are extremely grateful for the highest rate we received from you and the time you spent writing this review. We are looking forward to see...More

Reviewed October 12, 2016

The food is always good and has great atmosphere. It is good to reserve a table ahead since this restaurant books on the weekends. It is located right next to Leidsplein so close to the night life.

Thank LindaandDave1975
Hosokawa_Restaurant, Manager at Hosokawa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2016

Dear LindaandDave1975, we are extremely grateful for your visit and these nice words. We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and wanted to share your experience with us. We are looking forward to see you again!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sherpa Restaurant
334 reviews
.07 miles away
Barbeque Castell
646 reviews
.06 miles away
Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt
323 reviews
.04 miles away
Hard Rock Cafe Amsterdam
6,173 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Leiden Square (Leidseplein)
1,940 reviews
.10 miles away
Holland Casino Amsterdam
242 reviews
.06 miles away
Bar-B Burgers 'N' Beer Bar
78 reviews
.11 miles away
De Stadsschouwburg
40 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hosokawa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$23 - $94
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Private Dining
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Max Euweplein 22, 1017 MB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam>  > Stadsdeel Zuid
  • Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
  • Phone Number: +31 20 638 8086
  • E-mail
Description
In the very heart of Amsterdam, chef Hiromichi Hosokawa has been welcoming to his restaurant guests from all over the world, for almost 20 years.Hosokawa, which translates to “narrow river”, will bring you to ancient Japan with its traditional Robata grill, Teppan grill and Sushi style of cooking, but surrounded in a cosmopolitan Amsterdam with its modern and sophisticated ambience.Welcome. And be prepared to be delighted.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing