We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!


Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Taksteeg 7 | Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB, Amsterdam, North Holland Province, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 320 4132
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Wed - Sun 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 438: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Saw this place on trip advisor and everyone raved about the large breakfast. Had it and was not disappointed! Fried egg, French cheese, ham, crusty seeded bread with plum or orange & mango jam, large croissant and the most amazing French toast with apple & cinnamon jam! All washed down with tea and freshly squeezed orange juice for 12 euros!... More 

3 Thank Sullyship
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Tiny place romantic and delicious. Wilham and staff are nice and friendly. All the food is homemade and fresh and so tastful . ממליצה בחום. לא זול אבל טעים מאוד.

1 Thank amiram f
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

In my previous trip to AMS I went to this place twice but they were full, this time I was luckier (this is a small place, so book if you can). I had breakfast there, their carpaccio salmon was delicious! Very cosy atmosphere and friendly staff.

2 Thank Jaime M
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a lovely little place! We got to Gartine around 11am and we were lucky enough to get a table, they get really busy, tables get booked in advance. We went for the big breakfast and so glad we did, it was delicious, the best French toast I have ever had wish I asked for the recipe. Great staff, fast... More 

2 Thank Roxana C
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very small, cosy place. Very kind service. If you order the high classic tea, your little table will be entirely covered by excellent sandwiches, quiches, cakes...

1 Thank ziopao
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The menu is small but there is enough choice for all tastes! We both had the salmon on pumpkin sourdough which was delicious! Well worth a visit and do book! As for the food poisoning comment I can only believe this was from an over partied visitor as all the food is prepped in front of you and it is... More 

2 Thank jollygud
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was advertised in the easy jet magazine and it took some finding. Well worth the effort had the large breakfast which included coffee, fresh orange juice, egg, salami, sour dough toast, cinnamon French toast with homemade jam and a fresh croissant all superb & already booked for tomorrow. Service was attentive and friendly give it a try.

2 Thank smudgercreole
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

everything was perfect (place, service, atmosphere) , but we started feel stomachache after soup, first thought was just because I didnt eat before hand during the whole day. unfortunately in few hours me and my sis felt worse((( take care

3 Thank Polina V
hello12312, Eigenaar at Gartine, responded to this review

Dear guests, First of all we are very sorry to hear that you and your sister did not feel well after leaving our restaurant. As you can tell from the TripAdvisor site we never respond to posts placed by guests whether they are positive or negative. However after reading your review we were very shocked and felt we had to... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my 3rd time dining for breakfast at Gartine. On the first 2 occasions we were lucky to walk in and get a table. This time we reserved one, and whilst eating they had to turn away about 7 people in the 90 minutes we were there. Nice buzz to the place, small and cosy. Friendly staff and all... More 

2 Thank MarkBarefoot
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
229 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had tried to eat here before, but I didn't have a reservation and they were completely full. There are only a few tables, so either get a reservation or come at off-peak hours. After finally having eaten there, it was totally worth it. The breakfast is delicious and filling, served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I had a... More 

4 Thank D C

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$7 - $10
French, Dutch, International, European, Vegetarian Friendly
Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Taksteeg 7 | Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB, Amsterdam, North Holland Province, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam>  > Centrum
  • Neighborhood: Centrum
  • Phone Number: 020 320 4132

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gartine and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Gartine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood