We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Nelson

Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
+44 1226 762324
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“steak pie” (17 reviews)
“nachos” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've visited the Lord Nelson several times and have experienced first hand ( on two occasions) what it's like to be turned away from this pub at a perfectly reasonable hour The first time we visited (in a party of 4) was at 8.40 pm...More

2  Thank Margaret H
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Margaret, I apologise for your inconvenience when trying to eat at the Lord Nelson. We serve food all day Tuesday to Saturday 12 - 8:30pm and then on Sunday, Monday and bank holidays 12 - 7:30. I hope you will see in you to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was really impressed. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Great food which was served piping hot and I highly recommend the homemade steak pie and triple cook chip, then waffles for desert.

Thank Sarah M
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sarah, thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed February 28, 2018

Food was excellent and good value for money. We had Sunday lunch and the beef was cooked to perfection . The staff were lovely too. We did order bottle of wine which wasn't very nice and was £15 a bottle thought quite expensive . But...More

Thank pauline b
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Pauline, thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson I was very pleased to here that overall you enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Visited today for lunch. It was 2pm on Sunday, to be told they had stopped serving the Sunday lunch. The food we ordered was nice. It was hot. Dessert was out of a packet. The service was excellent..no problem with the staff at all. The...More

Thank Nic S
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Thanks for your review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your food and our staff looked after you. We are do to have a refurb in June to update things a little so I hope you will visit us...More

Reviewed February 19, 2018

We visited the lord nelson on Monday. My wife and I had a delicious Cajun chicken and a home made steak pie, with the best homemade chips I have ever had. The service was also very pleasant. We'll be back soon.

Thank 877jmz
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson, I was very pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and will hopefully return soon.

Reviewed February 19, 2018

Quite cold inside. Not warm enough to take off your coat.Chips awful, almost as if they had been reheated.Steak pie looked very tired and dry. Dessert menu, chose apple and caramel pie. Over sweet pudding swimming in gungy custard. Coffee machine broken.More

1  Thank Jean M
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hi Jean, I was sorry to here about your disappointing visit to the Lord Nelson. I will look into the problems you have mentioned, the dishes you had are very popular with our regular customers and our homemade pie and handout chips are usually of...More

Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Visited here on Sunday, was really busy but seated straight away, table service, didn’t take long at all for the food to arrive, we all had the soup followed by the the ham and beef roast, all in all brilliant food and service too, we...More

Thank bigjohnn1000
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson, our Sunday lunch is very popular and I am pleased you enjoy our food and hospitality. We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Worst Sunday lunch we have ever had!! ordered tomato soup for starter which was so watery and tasteless, I think a cuppa soup would have been more satisfying!! Then my Sunday lunch was served to another lady to then be took off her 5 minutes...More

Thank summersday2018
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Thankyou for reviewing the Lord Nelson. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit on this occasion, it is very rare we receive any bad reviews as our food is of very high quality, I apologise for the waitress taking your meal to the wrong...More

Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

It was a quiet Sunday evening and we have visited about half a dozen times now. The staff are generally quite friendly. The menu has something for everyone. Good presentation, amazing chips and the salad accompaniment is fresh, crunchy and colourful. There is a substantial...More

Thank Shope99
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Thanks for reviewing the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your food and service. I will look into the issues you mentioned and will resolve them where possible.

Reviewed January 21, 2018

My wife and I decided to go out for a meal so we went to the lord nelson at Hoylandswaine we had read some good reviews about it we were not disappointed , the meal was very good the staff were very friendly and helpful...More

Thank michael s
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Thank you for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I am pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and we will hopefully see you again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hoylandswaine Hotels
Fell House
1 review
.24 miles away
The Fairway, Barnsley
428 reviews
2.67 miles away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
586 reviews
3.20 miles away
Bagden Hall Hotel
811 reviews
3.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Heart
178 reviews
1.57 miles away
The Waggon and Horses
420 reviews
1.77 miles away
Travellers Inn
96 reviews
1.44 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cannon Hall Museum
308 reviews
2.01 miles away
The Loft Coffee Shop
11 reviews
1.66 miles away
Cannon Hall Farm
1,605 reviews
1.94 miles away
Maize Maze at Cawthorne
79 reviews
1.99 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brian M
March 6, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from paul v | Property representative |
no it should be fine.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine
  • Phone Number: +44 1226 762324
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing