We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Nelson

Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
+44 1226 762324
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“steak pie” (17 reviews)
“nachos” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I've been here to eat several times and generally have a good experience. However this last time the food was very poor. We ordered the tomato soup as a starter. The was really watery and tasted very unpleasant. I politely informed the staff and this...More

Thank Carolyn H
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Carolyn, I am sorry to here that your complaint was not sorted out correctly. We take complaints seriously to ensure we rectify the problem as soon as possible. I will look into this to see why it was not addressed correctly. I hope you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came across this pub by chance yesterday so my husband and i decided to nip in and have bite to eat and a drink. The pub was not overly busy but had a really good atmosphere, the staff were friendly and polite very welcoming and...More

Thank NLC01
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and would recommend us to others. If you feel that your bill was not as it should be then we would be more than happy to...More

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Visited for evening meal after visiting family we always go here as it's been one of my fav pubs for almost all my life. It wasn't very busy, nice and quiet. Staff are brill very friendly and happy to help, one seems a little shy...More

Thank rachelizb
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson, I was pleased to here that you enjoy your visits and keep returning. I hope we will see you again very soon.

Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

I wasn’t impressed with my second visit. The staff were friendly enough but sadly the beer wasn’t exactly worth the price. It was like a pint I’d expect in London, not Yorkshire. It was completely headless and flat. I’m definitely not impressed. Hopefully my third...More

Thank Kevin M
saver186364, Manager at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Hi Kevin, I was sorry to here that you did not enjoy your pint. We would have changed it for you if you had complained to us about it. We only sell premium brands of beer and lager, which compliments our food and £4 for...More

Reviewed April 25, 2018

We use the lord nelson once a week for our dinner. We always receive a warm welcome and the food is delicious with a wide variety of dishes available. The gammon, pie and hunters chicken are yummy with the homemade chips. We also tried the...More

Thank 877jmz
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Hi, Thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson. I am pleased you always enjoy your visits and keep returning, the dishes you mentioned are very popular. Hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

Be aware that the portions on the 2 and 3 course lunches are very small. My husband ordered the steak pie and received a 2 x 4 inch portion!!- when we queried this we were told it was because a normal portion is £9.95!! I...More

Thank Annewagst
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thanks for your review of the Lord Nelson. Our lunchtime menu is very popular, but is designed to have as a two or three course, which on a lunchtime most of our customers don't want a large meal with a starter or dessert so the...More

Reviewed April 1, 2018

We've visited the Lord Nelson several times and have experienced first hand ( on two occasions) what it's like to be turned away from this pub at a perfectly reasonable hour The first time we visited (in a party of 4) was at 8.40 pm...More

2  Thank Margaret H
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi Margaret, I apologise for your inconvenience when trying to eat at the Lord Nelson. We serve food all day Tuesday to Saturday 12 - 8:30pm and then on Sunday, Monday and bank holidays 12 - 7:30. I hope you will see in you to...More

Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

I was really impressed. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Great food which was served piping hot and I highly recommend the homemade steak pie and triple cook chip, then waffles for desert.

Thank Sarah M
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Hi Sarah, thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed February 28, 2018

Food was excellent and good value for money. We had Sunday lunch and the beef was cooked to perfection . The staff were lovely too. We did order bottle of wine which wasn't very nice and was £15 a bottle thought quite expensive . But...More

Thank pauline b
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Pauline, thanks for your great review of the Lord Nelson I was very pleased to here that overall you enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Visited today for lunch. It was 2pm on Sunday, to be told they had stopped serving the Sunday lunch. The food we ordered was nice. It was hot. Dessert was out of a packet. The service was excellent..no problem with the staff at all. The...More

Thank Nic S
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Thanks for your review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your food and our staff looked after you. We are do to have a refurb in June to update things a little so I hope you will visit us...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hoylandswaine Hotels
Fell House
1 review
.24 miles away
The Fairway, Barnsley
438 reviews
2.67 miles away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
598 reviews
3.20 miles away
Bagden Hall Hotel
824 reviews
3.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Heart
181 reviews
1.57 miles away
The Waggon and Horses
432 reviews
1.77 miles away
Travellers Inn
109 reviews
1.42 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Penistone Paramount Cinema
139 reviews
1.50 miles away
Cannon Hall Museum
308 reviews
2.01 miles away
The Loft Coffee Shop
11 reviews
1.66 miles away
Cannon Hall Farm
1,638 reviews
1.94 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brian M
March 6, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from paul v | Property representative |
no it should be fine.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine
  • Phone Number: +44 1226 762324
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;