We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kronenhalle

Raemistrasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 262 99 00
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“veal” (61 reviews)
“geschnetzeltes” (27 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, Swiss, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Raemistrasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Were here for dinner before going to the opera. Fine decor, excellent traditional service, waiters wearing white jackets, waitresses wearing black dress, just as it should be. Zürich veal with rösti, two services, just perfect, good wines. A great dinner. Not cheap, but nothing is...More

Thank Karel V
Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me say that their food was good. I had their meatloaf and my wife had veal and it was cooked nicely. Go for the ambiance and check out the paintings on the walls. Other than that, I thought their dishes were overpriced for almost...More

Thank rozki
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Kronenhalle Guest Thank you for your positive comments, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Prices are always relative, Zurich is an expensive City and for an entrance to a Museum you have to pay a fee too.......More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The veal was excellent really excellent, the rosti potatoes were cooked to perfection. The whole meal ending with the chocolate mouse was perfect. I have a four star rating because the pumpkin soup was not so good. Our waiter and the entire experience was really...More

Thank DAHAUS
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Kronenhalle Guest We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our sliced veal "Kronenhalle" and the Rösti and our chocolate mousse, both are our signature dishes! Oh, and so sorry about the pumpkin soup, we hope next time you will be convinced...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extremely overpriced. Partly industrial food. Rud chief waiter.But nice waiters doing as best as they can. Tourist trap. Didn’t live up to the expectations at all.

Thank Jan D
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Jan We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services, therefore I would like to apologize personally. In the hope that you will give us a second Chance, we remain with best regards. Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a restaurant we would not have normally selected - the reservation was made by family based on a recommendation. Really glad we followed the recommendations - we had a lovely meal The prices seemed high, however, we live in Spain so everything in...More

1  Thank Sansom1978
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kronenhalle Guest We are very happy that you have enjoyd your stay with us and we hope that you will recommend the Kronenhalle also to your friends. We look forward to welcome you again soon and thank you for beiing our ambassadors. Best regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we have dined here. It has very nice atmosphere and service. A little slow to take our order but that was fine. Started with the salmon and carpaccio appetizers which were quite large portions and delicious. I recommend the sliced...More

Thank Arf42
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kronenhalle Guest Thank you for being our ambassadors, we look forward to many happy returns! Best regards Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice dinner here. We had a veal dish and good Swiss pinot noir. Service was great and restaurant was full.

Thank LA1005
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kronenhalle Guest Thank you for being our ambassadors, we look forward to welcome you again soon. Best regards Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Reviewed October 24, 2018

If you're in Zürich and want to taste the typical émincé à la zurichoise (Zürcher Geschnetzeltes) with Rösti you simply cannot go anywhere else. This is a landmark place for your Zürich culinary experience. The 150 years old restaurant is very typical and the service...More

Thank jhmorin
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kronenhalle Guest Thank you for promoting our sliced veal "Kronenhalle". We look forward to welcome you again soon. Best regards Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

I read the introduction on an onboard magazine and decided to try it out We were able to grab a table without reservation on a Sunday night The food was absolutely awesome and tasty. We had salmon as appetizer and it was fresh and less...More

Thank wakina2018
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kronenhalle Guest We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our signature dish and therefor we look forward to welcome you again soon! Best regards Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Reviewed October 21, 2018

A typical upmarket brasserie where you are surrounded by some quite expensive paintings on the walls. Professional service , a varied menu with plenty of choice and well prepared dishes where you will be surrounded by the well heeled movers and shakers - citizens of...More

Thank Michael J
chris110560, Manager at Kronenhalle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michael So great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being our Ambassador! To many happy returns and hopefully not only once in a life time.... Best regards Christian Dangel & Kronenhalle Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 138 hotels in Zurich
Hotel Villette
77 reviews
.05 miles away
Hotel Otter
118 reviews
.07 miles away
Hotel California
299 reviews
.09 miles away
Hotel Helmhaus
987 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant Blockhus
188 reviews
.05 miles away
Sternen Grill
691 reviews
.05 miles away
Cafe Bar ODEON
378 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Zurich
5,293 reviews
.15 miles away
Limmat
807 reviews
.21 miles away
Opernhaus Zurich
319 reviews
.16 miles away
Grossmunster
1,614 reviews
.22 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GeneN104
August 27, 2018|
Answer
Response from chris110560 | Property representative |
Dear Gene Yes we accept both cards. We look forward to welcome you soon! Best regards Christian
0
Votes
Google Translation
Joe E
June 21, 2016|
Answer
Response from chris110560 | Property representative |
Dear Reader The owner of the Kronenhalle is a foundation, called the "Hulda & Gustav Zumsteg Stiftung". Best regards Christian Dangel, Director
1
Vote
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Raemistrasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Zurich  >  Zurich>  > Old Town
  • Neighborhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +41 44 262 99 00
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing