We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Restaurant Papa Joe's

$$ - $$$
Old Town
Mexican, American, Bar, Central American, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Schifflaende 18, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 269 88 88
Website
Today
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 2:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place is very well decorated and the waiters where very friendly! The food and drinks have an reasonable price considering that it is in Zurich. We had Fajitas and Nachos. For drink we had margueritas and beers. In total we spend 65 CHF. There is a bar downstairs with DJ playing Latin and Brazilian music.

Helpful?
Thank RitaAAlmeida
Martinshöhe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, the service was great and the place was very clean. However, except for the French fries, the food was not good at all. The spare ribs had hardly any meat on them and lacked flavor. The wings and corn on the cob were drastically overcooked. It tasted like everything was pre-made and then heated up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Jason S Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. You are right; our restaurant is located in one of the most expensive cities in the world. However, we apologize if we couldn’t meet your expectations with our dishes. Maybe the next time that you are in Zurich you can visit us again so that we can convince you with... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2016

The only good thing was the waiter. The Food was not only overpriced but also disgusting. The ribs weren't eatable at all and the wings were to salty but the worst was the shrimp patato and the nachos. Seriously, it's not worth it not even for a drink...

Helpful?
Thank Silhuan
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Silhuan Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We always try our best to provide the best service and delicious food. Unfortunately, we couldn’t meet your taste. Maybe you come again another time, so that we can convince you with our usual high standards. Until then, “Have fun & take care” Meret Hug Assistant More 

Haifa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

I had a weird dinner here the other night. Within about 5 minutes of sitting down, a couple was sat at the table next to us, so close, they had to get up to let us go to the bathroom. It was like a communal dinner. We then ordered our meals and nachos to start, which were good, but little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arielle T
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Arielle T Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that we couldn’t meet your expectation of a Mexican Wrap. Maybe the next time you can try one of our classics. We would be pleased to convince you with our usual high standards. Until then, we wish you all the best. “Have fun & take care” Meret... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2016

I was there for dinner with my friend and had a wonderful time. The restaurant has a cool atmosphere, very tasty servings, an awesome collection of pictures - portraying the South American culture properly. We did not order any main course as we had 2 rounds of starters which was enough! The drink - a bottoms up corona in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tuhin2015
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Tuhin2015 Thank you for your recent positive review of Papa Joe’s Zurich and sharing your pictures! We are happy to hear of your positive experience with our “Conita” and look forward to having you back in the Restaurant soon. So we say thank you again and wish you a nice time until your next visit. “Have fun & take... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2016

we did a spontaneous stop one evening had dinner outside. the moneys where very sticky. we had some nachos with cheese. had better, not much cheese on it and not much of others, very disappointed then the pic looks different. the burger was ok, the egg was missing that we ordered and the bun was defiantly to old to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ela L
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Ela L Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback helps us to steady improve our services. We apologize that your visit fell short of our usual high standards and failed to meet your expectations. We would be glad welcoming you another time, to convince you with our best Burgers and Nachos. Until then,... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2016

large menu with typical fare you would expect at our mid range american chains. We had burger, chicken, fries , salad and some basic softdrinks and then the 100 swiss franc bill arrived-- welcome to Zurich. Seemed kid friendly.

Helpful?
Thank OriginalTaz
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear OriginalTaz Thank you for your positive review of Papa Joe’s Zürich. We are very glad that you liked our food. We are looking forward to welcome you again „Have fun & take care“ Meret Hug Assistant More 

Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

We did not have a reservation, so we had to sit downstairs. Very friendly staff with good English and clear English menus. Not cheap, but the food is lovely and the big steak was fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart1503
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Stuart1503 Thank you for your recent review of Restaurant Papa Joe’s. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a third time in Papa Joe’s Zürich in the near future! „Have fun & take care“ Meret Hug Assistant More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Nice place, friendly people. Very good food. Fast service. We ate well, and we wanted to go back, but we left town. We sat outside in the lovely weather, so I don't know how it was inside, but the place was very busy.

Helpful?
Thank Kjetil A
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Kjetil A Thanks for the honest review on Tripadvisor. It makes us very proud to hear that we were able to fully score with our food and service. We hope your next visit to Zurich the address of the restaurant Papa Joe's is back on the itinerary. „Have fun & take care“ Meret Hug Assistant More 

Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

I really felt like having a good Burger so I followed the recommendations of TripAdvisor and tried Papa Joe's. I really enjoyed the Burger along with Onion rings and FF. it was really good and I definitely recommend. the service was excellent. The price wasn't something i pay for a burger (~ 33 Euro's) but I needed one and this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ehudineze
SaschaNowak, Manager at Restaurant Papa Joe's, responded to this review

Dear Ehudineze Thank you for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your burger with onion rings and farmer fries. It motivates our staff to hear that you rate their service as excellent. We hope to be welcoming you as our guest the next time you visit Zurich. Have a wonderful time and “Have fun & take care”... More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Papa Joe's also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Papa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$14 - $62
Cuisine
Mexican, American, Bar, Central American, Grill
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Schifflaende 18, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Zurich  >  Zurich>  > Old Town
  • Neighborhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +41 44 269 88 88

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Papa Joe's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?