We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten

#136 of 1,712 Restaurants in Zurich
$$ - $$$, European,
Limmatquai 40, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 250 53 63
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good42%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“fondue” (31 reviews)
“veal” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Swiss, European, Central European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Limmatquai 40, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for our last dinner in Zurich, and it did not disappoint! The eatery is located in a concerted guild house that dates to the Middle Ages. The medieval motif has been preserved, making for a very special setting. The beautifully...More

Thank mariagloria
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear mariagloria Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Zunfhaus zur Zimmerleuten and that we could generate a nice last experience in Europe. It is lovely to hear that our food and our service...More

Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

A quaint restaurant serving Swiss food. On a recommendation to try Zurcher Geschnetzeltes, with Rossi, I stopped here. Nicely quiet, perhaps due to the time of the day and the inclement weather. The service was prompt and the food was good.

Thank AussieSteveR
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AussieSteveR Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Zunfthaus. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Florian Kunzendorf Zunftwirt

Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

We ordered the cheese fondue for the table of for 38fr per person not including extra’s and the meal unfortunately fell short. The cheese was cold the first time and it was quickly replaced but again the burner failed to keep it at an adequate...More

Thank Corey L
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Corey L. Thank you very much for your feedback. We always appreciate critical inputs as we try to continuously improve our quality and our service. We regret of course that you could not enjoy our fondue. Therefore we hope to welcome you again at...More

Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

I ordered a schnitzel with chips and I must say that the schnitzel was like processed meat, with no texture, just something like a disgusting paste fried. I complained about it but I was told that this is the style. I'm not sure what style...More

Thank YasmineAA
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear YasmineAA Thank you very much for your feedback. We always try to improve our feedback and are therefore thankful for your critical input. Of course we regret that you did not enjoy the Schnitzel you ordered. We hope to welcoming you again at our...More

Reviewed March 27, 2018

My first time in Zurich and the guy at the hotel recommended this restaurant. The place is ok, and also the service, but definitely the food was below expectation. We ordered a chateuabriand that was just ok. I found the place totally overpriced; although Zurich...More

Thank czaratem37
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear czaratem37 Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always thankful to get critical inputs to improve our quality and to work on our service. We hope to welcome you another time to correct your impression from our Zunfthaus. Kind regards Florian Kunzendorf...More

Reviewed March 14, 2018

I've never been a fan of Swiss cheese... until having fondue in Switzerland. This place was wonderful. You're able to stay warm with blankets provided by the restaurant and seated at communal tables. The bier was great too. We ate all the bread and cheese...More

Thank Radnatty
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Radnatty Thank you very much for your great feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Zunfthaus and especially that you liked our fondue. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Florian Kunzendorf Zunftwirt

Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

We went for dinner on Sat evening, and decided to get the 5 course surprise Menu - which was absolutely beautiful. Very nice ambience, good service, very nice food.More

Thank Peter E
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Peter E Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten and that you liked our surprise menu. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Florian Kunzendorf...More

Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

I tried their Fondu. Compared to other places around, it was average. The bread was stale and the potatoes mediocre. The staff, however, were very nice and friendly. The location is great, and the outdoor seating very good

Thank - -
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear guest Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten and that you could experience a real Swiss feeling. Kind regards Florian Kunzendorf Zunftwirt

Reviewed January 27, 2018

We shared a salad and veal dish with rosti potatoes. Not a crumb was leftover. The salad was full of bacon - not something I would usually eat but we could have fought over either plate. Wish a had a bigger stomach. This was a...More

Thank Lisa9563
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Dear Lisa9563 Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Zunfthaus. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Florian Kunzendorf Zunftwirt

Reviewed January 27, 2018

We hadn't checked TA this time and "found" a place on the way for lunch. The place looks nice from outside and also inside, but the food here was "tourist-trap-ish". I chose something that looked tempting on the meny, but it was rather a big...More

Thank Eric S
KramerGastronomie, Geschäftsführer at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Eric S. Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you could not enjoy your stay at the Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten. However, we clearly deny being a tourist trap, as we do have offers in different price categories. On the terrace and in the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 137 hotels in Zurich
Storchen Zurich
883 reviews
.06 miles away
Altstadt Hotel
113 reviews
.09 miles away
Marktgasse Hotel
207 reviews
.10 miles away
Hotel Rossli
349 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Haus zum Rueden
191 reviews
.02 miles away
Cafe Schober
546 reviews
.08 miles away
La Rotisserie
290 reviews
.05 miles away
Mere Catherine
272 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Limmat
751 reviews
.07 miles away
Grossmunster
1,511 reviews
.03 miles away
Buerkliplatz
210 reviews
.08 miles away
Wasserkirche
83 reviews
.05 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ashley F
November 25, 2017|
Answer
Response from Krie H | Reviewed this property |
When I was there asked the same question to a waitress, she told me it's impossible to eat a fondue inside the restaurant because the fondue creates strong smell. If you want to order a fondue then you must sit outside... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$11 - $87
Cuisine
Swiss, European, Central European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Limmatquai 40, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Zurich  >  Zurich>  > Old Town
  • Neighborhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +41 44 250 53 63
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;