We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

SESTO On Arno

#203 of 1,992 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Neighborhood:
Santa Maria Novella
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Piazza di Ognissanti 3 | C/O the Westin Excelsior, 50123, Florence, Italy
+39 055 27151
Website
Today
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended by two people. So booked in with a great 6th floor table for the early evening buffer and drinks - what a great choice! This is the place is soo cool. Emmauele looked after us really well, very attentive and Leonardo kept us supplied with drinks and cocktails.

Helpful?
Thank Knowmygrub
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The view is decent but i would suggest going to the boboli gardens or the Piazzale Michelangelo for a better one. Drinks were way over priced and service was on the slow side. However my drink 'happiness' was pretty good. Had to wait to be seated for a cocktail and there are certain drinks served only at certain times. Older... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janine H
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review

Dear Janine H, Thank you for your comments we are very sorry that you did not enjoy the view and the ambiance. However we are pleased that you have liked the drink you ordered called “happiness”. Best regards, The Management More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we first got at the restaurant at 7.30pm it was only a handful of tables filled. The waiter and manager were super attentive and we thought we hit the sweetspot. But ... as tables filled and when it was 2/3 full everything seemed to break down. Our table behind was missing a dish where it was forgotten by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sanghoonk527
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review

Dear sanghoonk527, Thank you so much for your feedback about your last experience at our Sesto on Arno restaurant. We certainly regret that we did not meet your expectations as much as we would have liked to. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. It is our sincere hope that your recent experience... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend went to the bar for a drink before dinner! The location and the atmosphere are amazing. Wonderful the view over the city of Florence.Unfortunately the service was not that good. Too slow. Nobody came to our table asking if we wanted another drink, and the bill came after several minutes. But despite all I highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elena N
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review

Dear Elena N, Thank you for your kind review about our Se·sto on Arno Bar. We are happy to know that you and your boyfriend enjoyed the view from our terrace. At the same time we are sorry that you felt dissatisfied about the service, this certainly is not how we wish for any of our guests to feel. We... More 

Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the restaurant for a cocktail after dinner. We payed 30euro for 2 cocktails which was maybe a little bit overrated! Offcourse you also pay for the view but it was less mind-blowing then we expected. Cocktails were oke but we had beter ones during our trip :)

Helpful?
Thank FREAQUENCY
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review

Dear FREAQUENCY, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely regret to read that the view was not up to your expectations. However, we confirm you that your feedback has received our best attention and we will take it into consideration in order to improve the overall service. Thank you for your comments and we hope... More 

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location for sun set but it's too crowded and if you don't get outdoor table it's hot and comfortable inside. You should go an hour before sunset to reserve a spot. Minimum charge is 20 euro per person including snacks. Friendly stuff and buzzy.

Helpful?
Thank 77Alchemist77
Le Cannet, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful view over the city of Florence, great service, fantastic atmosphere! To be highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank 270151
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review

Dear 270151, thank you for your nice review and thank you for having recommended our restaurant Sesto on Arno! We are glad that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us at our restaurant! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, The Management More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service doesn't live up to the stunning view. My husband and I went for drinks to check out the view and it was very difficult to get seri vice. Finally a nice waiter that was setting up the tables for dinner went inside to the bar and asked that someone take our drink order - we had been waiting for... More 

Helpful?
Thank penny m
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review

Dear penny m, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are sorry that you had to wait 15 minutes for you order. We hope you will give us the chance to demonstrate we do care and have taken corrective action on your comments, and look forward to welcoming you... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying in the Westin so it is convenient to just go to the roof top restaurant. I was a bit uncertain whether this is a good restaurant. We did not have a reservation and just walked but they placed us in a very good spot even though the place was quite full. In any case, the view was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 688t_c
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good food and ok service. Viewis excellent but 80 euros for a lunch (2 glasses of wine) is quite pricy.. Recommended for a drink

Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
StarwoodFirenze, Direttore at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review

Dear Alexander W, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed our menu and service. At the same time we are sorry that you found the price to high. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, The Management More 

Travelers who viewed SESTO On Arno also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to SESTO On Arno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20 - $101
Cuisine
International, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Italian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Valet Parking, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Monday
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Tuesday
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Wednesday
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Thursday
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Friday
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Saturday
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
7:30 pm - 10:45 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3 | C/O the Westin Excelsior, 50123, Florence, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Tuscany  >  Province of Florence  >  Florence>  > Santa Maria Novella
  • Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
  • Phone Number: +39 055 27151
Description
Restaurant SE•STO on Arno combines contemporary Mediterranean cuisine with a breathtaking view over Florence and the Tuscan hills nearby. Whether you're in Florence for a special occasion or enjoying a quiet lunch away from the city buzzing streets, the restaurant offers a unique place to savor the tempting culinary creations by Executive Chef Entiana Osmenzeza paired with a wide selection of the best Italian and international wines.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of SESTO On Arno and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from SESTO On Arno staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Santa Maria Novella

Neighborhood Profile
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella train station welcomes the majority of the people arriving in Florence, which might explain the hectic pace. Commuters and tourists come across the constant hustle and bustle of the station before exiting, taking a few steps and stopping amazed in Piazza di Santa Maria Novella. It is impossible not to admire the the square, housing one of the most charming basilicas in Florence. The area has plenty of local spots to taste Tuscan specialties, but don’t stop in the main streets alone; the narrower side streets always ensure satisfaction. The huge Parco Delle Cascine provides a solution to the need for a green area as well as a historic welcome in the form of a bronze statue of King Vittorio Emanuele II riding a horse.
Explore this neighborhood