We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 8/13
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#3,069 of 6,901 Restaurants in Milan
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$9 - $36
CUISINES
Italian, Dining bars
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
23
33
6
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
23
33
6
7
12
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 29, 2019 via mobile

We went to celebrate a friend’s birthday and it was really good, we went for an Aperitivo. We were a lot and they prepared a table for us in 5min. The food was great, a lot of options and tasty.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Proprietario at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2019

Dear oriana1995, And we are so glad of our team who gave you a table in 5 min, and so happy that you and your friends felt good at our restaurant, we hope to see you again soon. Have a nice day.

Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

Pretty much the classic milanese aperitif bar. Wide and various buffet, good cocktails quality. Prices on average (12 euros for the "happy hour").

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Proprietario at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Gent. Estueban Thank you so much for your review, see you the next time!😎

Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

I have never seen such rude waiters in my life. First I risked breaking a tooth because of a stone I found while chewing my food. So I told the waiters who instead of saying sorry, said it wasn’t possible, basically calling me a liar....I said I would write this negative review and they told me: “do whatever you want”.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Proprietario at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Well, We always listen to all our customers to find a solution of every need, and i apologize if the waiter has responded you in a hurried way, sometimes it can happen. But do you use threats to get something? Obviously I'm not justifying anyone,...More

Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

I can't believe how worth it this was. A glass of wine plus all you can eat buffet for only €12! The food was delicious too! This place made my day.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Hi acarl005, thanks for your review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your "aperitivo" at Maya. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Reviewed May 1, 2019

This would be a very good place to get aperitivo (great buffet, reasonable price) if it wasn't for the terrible service! The multiple employees who interacted with us throughout the evening were very rude. One staff-person even came up to my friend while she was...eating and said, "you know you have to finish that, right?" (Maya has a rule that you will be charged if you leave food on your plate. I'm all for combating food waste, but my friend was literally in the middle of her meal and had every intention of finishing her food!) There are so many aperitivo places in Milan, go somewhere where the staff won't treat you like this!More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

After having a drink and eating some mediocre food, which we did not enjoy and thus left some on our plate (Some of the items are left on the buffet for so long, and once you get them they are cold - thus not tasty...and inedible, who can eat cold beef stew?), we were approached by a waiter who pointed out the sign which says that if you leave ANY food on your plate you owe 5 euros. He gave us an ultimatum, 2 minutes to eat all the leftovers or pay. This was not written in the menu or pointed out in any way when ordering. Arguing about it leads to his generous offer to call the police. A reminder to sketchy clubs in beach tourist destinations. Please do yourself a favor and avoid this place!More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hi Jondaa, everywhere in our bar there are signs that remind customers that the food that will remain in the dishes will be charged with an additional cost of € 5. Surely one of our waiters will have warned you of this. Every day we...More

Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

While traveling in Milan my friend and I end up here for happy hour. 12 euro per person was supposed to get us a drink and unlimited access to the buffet. Imagine our surprise when midday through our meal a waitress we hadn’t interacted with...yet demanding in broken English we pay her ten more euro for not finishing the plates we where still working on. We payed, in order to not cause a scene, but left very cross. Not only was the food mediocre at best but demanding ten more euro seemed very rude and uncalled for. For 34 euro we could have had a nice meal and instead we had one that both iterally and figuratively left a bad taste in our mouths!More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Hi Anika, if you paid more than you expected it might be due to some leftover on the plate and there are fees for this as highlighted in our restaurant. Let me say that our food is always high quality since it is prepared by...More

Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Everything was perfect, from the food to the cocktails to the service. You can eat as much as you want and there’s new food that comes all along!

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you for your review. We like to pamper our clients with delicious food and tasty cocktails! We hope to see you again :)

Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

It's the Best place to go for aperitivo if you want a looot of high quality(for aperitivo) food that is at the same time affordablr. You pay 11 euros for a cocktail or another drink and unlimited food. The service is not the Best but...a great VFM!More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Hi Marina! We like to pamper our clients and we work hard every day to offer one of the best aperitivo and evening in Milan. We hope to see you again for another aperitivo together!

Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

MAYA is my favorite place in Milan.They have a very good Aperitivo and good cocktails too.The service sometimes are little slow but is very normal since this is a popular busy place.Ignore the pushy staff and enjoy your stay there.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Hi Natasha! Thank you for your review! We work hard every day to offer one of the best aperitivo and evening in Milan. We are happy to know that Maya is you favourite place :)

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Even though it is quite a popular place, that is just because of the food. The waiters and the staff were incredibly rude. They know that you don’t speak Italian but keep talking in Italian. After a a while if you don’t order something new...they basically threw us out of the place. Never going back again. Try other places with nicer staff.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Hi Oguz B, we assure you that our staff did not want to be rude or unkind to you. Our place is very popular in Milan and it can happen that there is more chaotic moments than others, but we never lose our smile and...More

Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

A pretty good aperitivo place with a decent food selection and a nice chocolate fountain. Compared to many other places, I think this has one of the best/better selections of food, and the cocktails - particularly, the passion mojito, live up to my expectations. They...switch the dishes around a fair bit which is nice, and for the price of €11, it is definitely worth it. I return here many times more!More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Thank you for your review. We like to pamper our customers with tasty ideas as our chocolate waterfall! We hope to see you again :)

Reviewed August 7, 2018

Went here because I saw great reviews I think on Google. The service was slow but it was busy so I understand that. The waiter was ok, food was ok, good selection like everyone said which was good for us because we had kids dining...with us. We were all a bit disappointed in our drinks. My first one, the Matador, was good but everyone else said they didn't taste any alcohol. My wife ordered a pinot grigio as her second cocktail and honestly it tasted watered down. It was literally the most tasteless wine I've ever had so we sent it back and he brought something a little better. Not what we expected in Italy but tourist areas will often disappoint.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Hi, ours is a very popular place and it may happen that there are more chaotic moments than others. Every day our bartenders prepare cocktails to perfection and our chefs cook tasty dishes for the happy hour. Our selection of wines is very varied and...More

Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

When the muppet answering these reviews is so arrogant. Just go through the bad reviews and read the answers. Originally scored the place 2 stars, because the aperitivo food is decent, but the arrogance and rudeness showed by the management, makes it a 1. Instead...of attacking dissatisfied costumers, you should apologise and welcome the possibility to improve. Because you need to.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maya M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Hi 2Gary2, we are sorry that you think we are arrogant and rude, we don’t want to scare nobody or make them go away, but if someone say something not true about us we reply explaining why that thing is not true. We are a...More

Reviewed April 5, 2018

Good food selection. Food is not always warm but wide selection. Known for chocolate fountain with cake and fruits. The bad part is the staff. They are pushy, rude, and constantly walk around the restaurant to see if you finished your plate. If you leave...any food on your plate, they push you to eat it and threaten to charge you. Of course it is expected to take and consume food within reason. However, I left food on my plate and the waiter walked by every other minute to see if I ate it. I felt uncomfortable and would be wary going back,More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Navigli
The Navigli is part of historic Milan. In the ancient
days, the entire city was linked with canals, similar
to Venice. Today, most of the canals are gone, but the
Navigli remains a canal-based neighborhood. There are
two major canals: Naviglio Pavese and Naviglio Grande.
The Naviglio Grande's bridges greet visitors at dusk
with an amazing view. The Navigli district specializes
in clubs, cafes, and vintage shops. Lifestyle reigns
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Maison Borella
370 reviews
.28 miles away
Hotel la Vignetta
343 reviews
.35 miles away
Hotel Mercurio
253 reviews
.37 miles away
Hotel Milano Navigli
466 reviews
.39 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pasta Fresca da Giovanni
473 reviews
.09 miles away
Movida
768 reviews
.03 miles away
Trattoria della Gloria
493 reviews
.09 miles away
Tsuru Sushi
539 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Auditorium Fondazione Cariplo - LaVerdi
45 reviews
.14 miles away
Casa delle Arti – Spazio Alda Merini
10 reviews
.19 miles away
Centro Balneare Argelati
11 reviews
.22 miles away
Spazio Movida
52 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tashiidelek
March 18, 2016|
Answer
Response from MayaRestaurant | Property representative |
Yes but one MUST ask to the chef before. Also be sure to ask a clean spoon to serve food to avoid unwanted contaminations from other dishes. We have a serving spoon for each single dish, but is better to double check this in... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Maya

Maya is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5