We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alfredo alla Scrofa

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 10/27
8:00 PM
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Alfredo alla Scrofa
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

#1,549 of 8,509 Italian in Rome
#1,637 of 10,406 Restaurants in Rome
Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$23 - $70
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Romana, Lazio, Central-Italian, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Centro
0.2 miles from Church of St. Louis of the French
Improve this listing
Reviews (2,415)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveler rating
441
210
126
79
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
441
210
126
79
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alfredo noodles salad signature dish table side piazza navona waiters butter cheese mouth roma
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We got this place recommended and had high expectations - and were a bit disappointed. The staff was really nice and friendly but pretty busy even though the place was not full at all. We had to wait quite a while for the food. Once...the food arrived the kids were the last to get their food - a small while after the rest of us. Not what we have experienced in other Italian restaurants where they get prioritized. The food was a bit bland. Not bad at all but we have just had better. For the price you pay at this place I would have expected much better. Overpriced and overrated.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
carlopara, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Mie, we are really sorry if you do not have a good experience in Alfredo. We apologize and hope you all come to visit us in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Try anywhere but here…honest 100% review below. I wasn’t going to write this review, but if you check out the other 1 star reviews and how they were responded to, you can understand why I’m writing this lol. Pretty sure this guy stays up all...night fighting every 1 star review like he’s Caesar conquering Rome. Those responses should sum up where their focus is at this restaurant…winning an argument vs. caring about customers. I went with my girlfriend in August with a reservation from the St Regis but at some point it must have gotten mixed up, either by my fault, the hotel or them and it was lost. I’m gonna give them the benefit of the doubt here and say it was my fault. They sat us outside in a corner away from all the other diners and we requested to sit inside. We ordered the alfredo and also the clams pasta. Food - 1/10, The Alfredo was mushy and very over cooked. I’ve been eating at Michelin restaurants all over the world, as I travel 250 days of the year. Maybe I don’t know my pasta…but it is mushy. If you like that, maybe give it a try. The clam shells were empty, and the pasta was undercooked. The center was crunchy still Service 2/10, we were sat, then it took 30 minutes to get waters to the table, another 15 to order, and another 30 for the food. We took two bites and asked for the check. Did not make any comment other than “food wasn’t that good, undercooked pasta and mushy alfredo”. Now, here’s the baffling part… i sent an IG message just letting them know my experience. Didn’t want to publicly write anything and just let them know I was pretty disappointed. Whoever writes these review responses takes things 100% personally and lets all the 1 stars live rent free in his head, so I thought, why not let everyone be the judge of how a grown adult behaves. Attaching a picture of my IG DM and another of Amex agreeing with returning the funds for a rather horrible Rome experience and dinner. Looking forward to your response lil julius👌More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
carlopara, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

"They sat us outside in a corner away from all the other diners and we requested to sit inside. We ordered the alfredo and also the clams pasta. " You were seated in the veranda, non in a corner. The other tables were already booked...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A big delusion , don’t visit this place , the restaurant lost completely the quality and the service . Only tourists which don’t understand the real quality of Italian food can go there ! I ordered campofilone maccheroncini with Rock fish and I was shocked:...I couldn’t eat because of no taste , I asked to take it back . Also all friends on the same table were not happy of the cacio e pepe and fettuccine Alfredo’s famous dish was a big delusion !! I will never go back !!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
carlopara, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Ok! we are sorry if you did not enjoy your dinner, but if you could not eat your pasta because you were shocked and also the others people did not like their pasta too, why you did not say to us? We would have cooked...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Some of the menus list service charge of 10% and others not. Even with the charge the waiter asked if we wanted to tip! The food and service were great but the fee left us with a bad taste. Plus, it was not worth the...price. We live in Rome and don’t need to return as there are plenty of better options.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
carlopara, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, even though it should be removed because is offensive and not true. The service charge is written in every page of every menu. If you do not read the menu properly do not blame us and do not LIE! Shame...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

No longer relevant. What a horrible experience. I was here five years ago and it was solid and worth the reputation. Tonight was an awful experience. Fruit flies everywhere. Callous and ambivalent servers and worst of all, simply pedestrian fare. You can get better fettuccine...Alfredo in NY. What a shame. I won’t be back.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
carlopara, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Primo for your review! It was very funny! Or maybe not. You came without reservation an a very busy night. You were very rude with all of us. We cannot understand you properly, but maybe it was our problem because we do not...More

Reviewed September 21, 2021

Atmospheric classic Roma restaurant with outdoor seating. Well-spaced tables, white table cloths. Mixture of locals and tourists (the table we wanted was reserved for a local dignatary but the fallback was just fine, and private enough). We shared the ham, fig and thyme ravoli--very tasty...combination if you get all three tastes at once. My wife chose the amberjack and I had the crusted salted cod--both outstanding. Nice half bottle of Barolo with cheese plate. Ample servings. Check out menu on their website.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
carlopara, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We were glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will come again. Kind regards

Reviewed August 23, 2021

If you are visiting Alfredo especially looking for good pasta, this may not be the place for it. The signature dish fettuccine alfredo was overcooked and overpriced at 20euro, possibly because it gets its finishing preparation by the waiter in front of you. The bucatini...all’amatriciana tasted burned, probably because of the burned guanciale. The fried courgettes were tasteless, the service was simply ok. It is quite unfortunate when you are looking forward to going to a place and then leave so disappointed. Simply not worth it.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Alfredo-Staff, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2021

Dear Charisnick23, we are very sorry that you left the restaurant disappointed. It is not our goal. we try to make our guest experience unique. I must tell you one thing, you do not know nothing about the Fettuccine Alfredo. They are not overcooked, they...More

Reviewed August 1, 2021

We found this restaurant rather by accident as we were walking back to our hotel from a Vatican tour. We did not know it was where alfredo was created until we sat down. We had one order of the alfredo - we never had seen...it made table side before. It was unbelievably rich as you might expect. I had spaghetti and clams which was incredible. Just the right amount. I ordered a bottle of wine because they did not have that I wanted by the glass and instead of selling me the bottle, they opened it and only charged me for a glass which I thought was very kind.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Alfredo-Staff, Direttore generale at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2021

Dear Mike, we try to do our best for all our guest. we are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Reviewed July 23, 2021 via mobile

We came to this place with high expectations. Although the first impression of well-set tables was nice, the immediate first impression was indicative of the rest of the evening. A hint of arrogance of our waiter, a sentiment of not being taken seriously didn’t make...us feel very welcome. We resisted the first urge to leave at that moment, a mistake. The dishes were ok. Nothing beyond that. Any restaurant could have served us a Carbonara, Mozzarella, Calamari dish like we got. Half of the dishes were over-salted. If the only quality of a dinner lies in the napkins, something is going wrong. The carelessness continued in drinks not being served, glasses not being filled and utensils being removed without being replaced throughout the meal. When I asked the manager for a quick word in private, he apologised for the experience but told me that “normally people don’t complain”. When we asked for the bill, we were presented with the full bill, including the bill for the bread served with the dinner and got no other reaction to our earlier discussion than: we wish you a good rest of your stay in Rome. Giving the restaurant a full chance to recover an almost lost experience and then seeing no reaction is very very telling. Conclusion: One star is one too many for this meal.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Alfredo-Staff, Proprietario at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2021

Dear Charly, i did not forget to answer your review, but i was on Holiday and i thought that my holiday were far more important than your FAKE REVIEW. But let's go through all the point of this. You arrived before the opening time and...More

Reviewed June 22, 2021 via mobile

The service was good, but the food was a big disappointment. We were a group of 6 people and we all were very disappointed . The food was extremely salty and very rich in butter. I have been to Rome 4 times , tried several...restaurants and never had a bad meal except this time. Also overpriced.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Team235648, Marketing at Alfredo alla Scrofa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2021

Dear Louiza. where have you been? Not in Alfredo alla Scrofa Restaurant. If you where there you would have known that we use butter only for the worldwide famous “Fettuccine Alfredo” that are made following the same recipe since 1914 and that millions of people...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Adriano
1,729 reviews
.03 miles away
Hotel Due Torri
479 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel Portoghesi
654 reviews
.05 miles away
Residence Garden
126 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
CiPASSO Bistrot
1,987 reviews
.05 miles away
Retrobottega
814 reviews
.04 miles away
Due Ladroni
801 reviews
.06 miles away
Ristorante Lagana
735 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sant'Antonio dei Portoghesi
96 reviews
.04 miles away
Palazzo Firenze
11 reviews
.05 miles away
La Torre Della Scimmia
17 reviews
.05 miles away
Chiesa di Sant'Ivo dei Bretoni
9 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Roxannerandel
November 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Namsik86 | Reviewed this property |
Hi There is no dress code. Comfortable clothes is okay. Sorry for late reply.
0
Votes
nolegroomrg
August 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from marciaw509 | Reviewed this property |
€30 for their house specialty of fettuccine Alfredo
0
Votes
Jrains3710
January 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from beachloversx2 | Reviewed this property |
Yes! And it's so delicious. They prepare it table side. It is a real treat to have a delicious meal and enjoy the history.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alfredo alla Scrofa

Yes, Alfredo alla Scrofa is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Alfredo alla Scrofa is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4