We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chef Squillante al Ghibli

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Via Marina Piccola 49, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
+39 081 878 4063
Website
Today
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I visited this restaurant with my fiancée and had a great night. The views are spectacular, the service was top notch and the food was the best we had anywhere in Sorrento. We would recommend the cuttlefish starter and the chateaubriand to anyone unsure.

Helpful?
Thank Ciaran S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We found this on trip adviser and as we stayed in the hotel Vitoria which is above the Resturant we went there on our first day on sorrento and hit on a winner great food and service as the reviews said. Ps don't know how any one can say terrible. Go and try it you won't be dissopointed

Helpful?
1 Thank douglas s
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the nice comments. It’s a great satisfaction to read that our guests appreciate the constant efforts that we make in order to offer them a perfect stay in our restaurant. Thank you again most sincerely for taking the time to write. It’s a great incentive for our staff to keep working hard. We... More 

Gold Coast - Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a small apartment across from this restaurant. Everyday we looked at it and went somewhere else, on the last night we made a point of going.... Stunning !!! We regret not going earlier in the trip so we could of gone again. Food was so fresh and amazing. One of the best dinners we have had on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank firstclassboy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had read reviews for this restaurant on tripadvisor before we visited and I'm so glad we decided to come. The portion sizes are small and it is on the more expensive side but definitely worth it for a special meal out - I was really surprised with the great reviews that the restaurant, which is located on the beach,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph D
south london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to this restaurant on trip advisor reviews and weren't disappointed we'd emailed our booking for a 730pm but arrived 40 mins earlier as we'd been out for the day and didn't have enough time to go back to hotel. The guys at the restaurant were fine with this and although they weren't quite open seated us and served... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sockmonkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really lovely taster menu €45 at a location slightly tucked away from the bustle of Sorrento. Friendly family run business. Mario and his mum took care of us beautifully made us feel very welcome and we left the restaurant with smiles on our faces. We look forward to returning next year. Lovely view of the marina. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Morworths
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A fantastic understated restaurant hidden on the beach by the marina. The seafood was exquisite. Our only disappointment was the level of service; although they were friendly and knowledgeable about the food, it lacked that sharpness to make the experience really wow factor. That said, I would definitely recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank missbutterbean
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear missbutterbean, Thank you for your kind review. we are glad you are satisfied by our food! We are sorry to read, you left with a bad view regarding our costumer service, I will personally discuss your comment with the entire team in order to make improvement, where necessary. The quality of service and the quality of food for us... More 

Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had dinner here a few evenings ago. The recent comments by others are pretty much a reflection of our experience. The lady who runs this place is very friendly and efficient, the other staff less so on both counts. The principal problem with the service, however, is that there are simply not enough staff to cope with all of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Restaurant_Ghibli, Direttore at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Mike, I am sorry to read you left with a bad view regarding our customer service at Ghibli, our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect ; however I am so glad you appreciated the food!. I will personally discuss your comment... More 

Sorrento, Italy
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant was recommended but proved to be the worst service and value for money of our holiday. The food was good but not great and the service was terrible despite having a timed reservation and the restaurant being about 75% capacity. When we tried to attract the staffs attention they waved dismissively and their body language was inappripriate and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ecosse757
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this restaurant to celebrate our twenty fifth wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. We ordered the fish tasting menu at 45 euros which consisted of four courses as well as dessert. Every plate was superb and a treat for the palate. Rosella and the staff were friendly and warmly welcoming. For a high end dining experience that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan and Jo B
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Alan and jo, thank you for your kind review! We are glad that you have chosen our restaurant to celebrate such a special occasion and that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again to offer you another excellent dining experience! Warm regards The Squillante family More 

Travelers who viewed Chef Squillante al Ghibli also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Chef Squillante al Ghibli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$17 - $41
Cuisine
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Via Marina Piccola 49, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Campania  >  Province of Naples  >  Sorrento
  • Phone Number: +39 081 878 4063

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chef Squillante al Ghibli and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chef Squillante al Ghibli staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?