We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$18 - $43
CUISINES
Sushi, Asian, Mediterranean, Spanish, Healthy
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

El Mercat
0.1 miles from Valencia Cathedral
Improve this listing
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
8
0
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
8
0
2
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 23, 2020

Vaqueta is a very nice place to eat in. The spot is perfect and the food is just delicious. There is a wide range of choices and the staff is very kind and well organized.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
grupogastrotrinquet, Marketing at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2020

Thank you so much for your visit and review, Giuseppe!!

Reviewed October 27, 2020

I am appalled by the behaviour we received today. The staff here are very rude, in particular the blonde lady. She kept trying to rush us out of the restaurant and gave us strange looks when we told her we don’t speak Spanish. Do not...come to this restaurant!!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
grupogastrotrinquet, Marketing at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2020

Hello, Loren. We are sorry to read your words. Perhaps we have a different point of view about what a rude behaviour is. The strange looks from our staff have a reason to be and, obviously, it has nothing to see about you don't speaking...More

Reviewed September 8, 2020

Great decor, delicious food and amazing staff. Liked it all and is a place I would recommend to visit while in Valencia. Centrally located close to the Mercado Central.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
grupogastrotrinquet, Marketing at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words! Hope to see you on your next trip to Valencia!

Reviewed November 9, 2019

This restaurant is part of the same group although slightly larger. It is decorated in the same style with the walls returned to their natural brick. The menu is slightly different with a few additional rice dishes, namely segnoret, which we had, and have to...say it was fantastic. The secret, for those who don’t know, in creating a fantastic paella is in the broth the rice is cooked in and this segnoret was amazing. The starter to share of the fish salad with popadum is really tasty. I think the deserts need to be reviewed. They are not bad but they just lack that wow factor.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Pelayo G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Hello, Gordon. Thank you so much for writing this review! We are very happy to see this comment. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to València and you will be surprised with our desserts ;)

Reviewed October 16, 2019 via mobile

The Vaqueta is a great venue. A mixture of old and new. Quite spacious once you enter. We had a lunch for 5 persons. The menu was great and service very efficient. A very satisfying lunch, check their website for menu.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Pelayo G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Hello! Thank you so much for writing this review. We are very happy to read this comment. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to València.

Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

Ignore for a moment the super stylish decor and the hints of sushi and deli in the ambiance themes that suck you in - the courses we are were super simple but pallet bogglingly good! Instantly you understand that these guys have the highest level...of chef work going on and that they have perfected their recipes and craft to the T Our pallea (shared by five of us) followed to mouth watering entrees both with tuna and peppers and with both serving dishes ultimately being cleaned to the molecule by our two year old who fell literally in love with the flavors The piping hot crispy bottom paella with duck and artichoke was simple amazing with everyone of us competing for top ups until the pan was devouredMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Pelayo G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hello! Thank you so much for the review and for visit Vaqueta Gastro Mercat. We're pleased that you really enjoy our paella! We hope to see you again on your next visit to València :)

Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Ok this is a new(ish) restaurant, open for a few months now and should have worked out most of the their problems so I can’t give it a pass... Everything about this restaurant was very appealing, location, design, professionalism and friendly staff. I had passed...by a few times and tried to get a reservation but they were always full. A good sign for sure but then again it’s in the center of the city and new... I finally got my reservation for last night. We were 4 and it was an early reservation, 9:30 on a Friday night. The restaurant called earlier in the day to confirm and I told them we’d definitely be there. We arrived at 9:30 on the dot and were greeted by a pleasant receptionist who told us we’d have to wait just a few minutes for our table. One of our party was using a special scooter for people with reduced mobility. So we waited in the entrance as other people came in and were seated. Not long afterwards we were invited in and brought to one of the first tables as you walk in the dining room, right in front of the bar. Our table was small, very small... We were 4 and two of us are quite big guys. The rest of the expanse of the restaurant was empty which made me wonder why we had to wait. The service was good, friendly, informative and attentive at first. As the restaurant filled up things began to change. The noise level went up and up and up... The first course came out, spicy tuna rolls for 4. They were excellent but came out on 4 huge plates that were problematic to get on our tiny table. After some juggling around and removing whatever possible they fit. Now since we all had a small plate in front of us to begin with the 4 hand rolls could have come out one one plate placed in the middle, problem solved... When the place filled up it was difficult to talk. The noise level was almost unbearable. Then I noticed there was a DJ standing at a small DJ booth playing music in the middle of the room. I felt bad for the guy because you couldn’t hear any music over the chatter in the room. He was wearing headphones and I’m sure doing a great job but to no avail. Now it was time for our main course. First to come out was the other couples dishes. They both ordered fish and were presented with a good size plate with a moderate, bordering on small, amount of fish with some stir fried vegetables. My partner and I had ordered they chuletón ( a large cut of meat on the bone, almost a kilo and a half ) which they had brought out to show us before they put it on the grill. It was big! I was wondering how it would fit on the table. When it came out they began to clear things from our small table to fit it in the middle and gave us each a tiny plate. I really struggled with the tiny plate but eventually had to ask for a bigger one. Our waiter maintained a cheerful attitude although she could see we were clearly unimpressed with the way things had turned out. She suggested we ask for a bigger table next time and informed us they were going to install some acoustic panels to help with the sound. Unfortunately I don’t think we will be back to see the improvements. It’s a shame because the food was good.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
Pelayo G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Hello. First of all, we want to express our heartfelt thanks for the visit and for your review. We regret that the stay in Vaqueta Gastro Mercat didn’t get in the direction expected. It is true that, if you don’t like the table, you can...More

Reviewed June 17, 2019

Entrance was really appealing. This was also the reason why we entered. Next to the charming interior, the food was exquisite! I ordered the Tuna. It was perfect and melted on my tongue... Also the staff was really friendly!

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Pelayo G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you soon :)

Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Amazingly styled new restaurant which was super buzzy. Staff attentive at the start as not too busy but by 10pm the staff were running around like headless chickens but not really being attentive. Cocktails excellent but food was disappointing - again, great start - tempura...nice, croquettes delicious but then Sailor’s tuna dish was like they had poured sugar into it, chicken super salty and beef tenderloin served with totally unrendered globules of fat.....revolting! Only been open for a couple of weeks and will probably get it right in time but still some serious work to be done!More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
Pelayo G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Forgive us because your experience has been negative. If you want to tell us more, write to our email comunicacion@vaquetagastromercat.com

Reviewed May 15, 2019

The food is made in heaven, high quality service and awesome interior design and atmosphere. This is the place to go if you really want to experience the real mediterranean cuisine. I was in a business trip with some customers and they were truly amazed....We will come back for sure, 100%. Thanks guys!More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Pelayo G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vaqueta Gastro Mercat, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Thanks for the review. We hope to see you soon :)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Cosmo Valencia
372 reviews
.03 miles away
Hotel One Shot Mercat 09
323 reviews
.08 miles away
Vincci Mercat
1,203 reviews
.11 miles away
Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina
1,266 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cybergourmet
605 reviews
.04 miles away
El Leon
525 reviews
.04 miles away
Trencat Dolc I Salat
157 reviews
.02 miles away
Taberna el Balconcillo
268 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Casco Antiguo
1,274 reviews
.08 miles away
Valencia Cathedral
6,198 reviews
.07 miles away
Santa Catalina Church (Iglesia de Santa Catalina)
280 reviews
.09 miles away
Plaza Redonda
801 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Vaqueta Gastro Mercat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing